The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Great location

This is an excellent hotel with friendly service. It has a great location. The rooms are clean and... See full review

  • NYC Hotel
  • Jun 16, 2014
Very nice stay at the Westing NY Grand Central

The proximity to Grant Central (2 blocks away) is nice as I sometime prefer taking the subway to... See full review

  • Silverblix
  • Feb 28, 2014
The Westin New York Grand Central's prime Midtown East location is two blocks away from both Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations. Nearby are government and corporate offices; indelible works of New York architecture, such as the Chrysler Building, the Empire State Building, and the Morgan Library; and popular attractions like Times Square and Bryant Park. Our 774 spacious guest rooms—including 11 one-bedroom suites and one three-bedroom Presidential Suite—present a refined elegance and invigorating city views. All rooms were designed with eco-friendly materials, such as energy-conserving LED lights, water-conserving low-flow plumbing, recyclable carpet pads, and GREENGUARD-certified solar shades. Enjoy a blissful nights sleep in the plush Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh daily with the Heavenly Bath®. Get back to your best self in our 3,000-square-foot WestinWORKOUT® Gym, which offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment. Savor the nutritious options on our restaurants SuperFoodsRx™ menu, and discover a new favorite drink in the wine and espresso bar. The meeting and event space at The Westin New York Grand Central spans more than 12,000 square feet, with 12-foot-high floor-to-ceiling windows that provide captivating vistas. Choose from our three executive boardrooms, seven breakout rooms, and the stunning ballroom that can accommodate up to 400 people. All are equipped with teleconferencing capabilities, fiber optics, and Internet bandwidth that ranks among the highest in Manhattan.

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Westin
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe

Hotel Map

40.7504 -73.9739
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet Setter Jan
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2013

Comfort with style

I could not have asked for a better time in NYC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

It's not too far of a cab ride from where the most popular night life spots are.

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGMill
Litchfield, CT
Mar 11, 2013

Affordable luxury in midtown

It was a large comfortable and luxurious room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hockey mum
Essex, England
Feb 21, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

I took my 18 year old son for his birthday and we had a great time. The purpose of the trip was to go and see ice hockey. The whole experience was fantastic. I would definately go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Johnsons
United Kingdom
Apr 7, 2013

A little gem in an expensive city

Compared to other hotels visited in this city the differance is massive. The staff were very helpful from bringing extra milk to the room quickly to recommending restaurents that were as good as promised. The rooms were massive compared to other hotels and the recent room updating making the stay very comfortable. The only negative comment is that the location is on 2nd Ave and if you don't like the walking required to get in to Time Square then it can be time consuming, having said that the sub way is one block away and Grand Central station only a short walk with your suit cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Hotel
NYC
Jun 16, 2014

Great location

This is an excellent hotel with friendly service. It has a great location. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daria22
New jersey
Oct 20, 2013

very good quality

Especially considering that I got an online deal and only paid $250 for a $450 room, this hotel was amazing. Its a really big hotel and the staff is great. They get you a cab in like 2 seconds which could be very hard during rush hour. It is clean and the size of the room is pretty big. The fridge is filled with all kinds of alcohol, water, and snacks. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silverblix
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Feb 28, 2014

Very nice stay at the Westing NY Grand Central

The proximity to Grant Central (2 blocks away) is nice as I sometime prefer taking the subway to move around in NY than taxi cabs. The room was particularly clean and very neat, with a high-end large flat TV screen. This is obviously a high-end hotel and you pay for it. Guaranteed great experience. I got the chance to be upgraded and got a room at the corner of the building. The bathroom was impeccable. I really liked the breakfast area on the 1st floor giving you the choice between a fast BF or a complete one in the dining area. The staff was overly nice and proactive in helping when I was obviously lost or looking for something in the hotel. You have to be ready to handle the street noise which is unavoidable in the city but it was quite enough at night. The room was cold at first (28F outside) but the heater worked well and was fairly quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryLB
Boston, MA
May 14, 2013

Couldn't get any better

I couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to stay at than the Westin New York Grand Central. The price was very reasonable and the customer service was beyond excellent. Whenever we needed anything, they would call us to make sure we received it. They offered us to stay at the hotel longer than the check out time free of charge on that Sunday. The location couldn't be any better because it was near every place we wanted to go to which meant that the cab fares were very cheap. All the cab drivers were familiar with the Hotel. I would definitely go again if they had another offer on cheap tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose d
Stamford ct
Dec 23, 2013

Perfect Location new Grand Central Terminal

The only thing that was incovenient for me is the fact they don't start checking in unitl 3 Pm which prompted me to change in the bathroom for my event. other than that, everything was wonderful, nice staff and very comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denis206
Seattle, Washington
Feb 18, 2013

The Westin Grand Central

The hotel went thought a change in name from the Helmsley and a 72 million dollar renovation! Very clean and comfortable as well as quiet rooms conveniently located within walking distance of the subway and major attractions as well as shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway at Grand Central best and cheapest mode of travel!

Back to menu Return to top