$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
View map of 212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
32 reviews
Awesome

Yes exspectation was met I enjoyed the stay wish I could have stayed longer The hotel was very... See full review

  • Steven R.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great location for your 25th Wedding Anniversary

My wife and I spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the hotel. The location, amenities, comfort,... See full review

  • Kenneth G.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Our prime Midtown East location makes it easy to experience Manhattan. Just two blocks from Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations, we're only minutes from other iconic sites such as Bryant Park, Times Square, and Fifth Avenue shopping. Renew your health in our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, or find a new favorite drink in THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen. Enjoy a meeting of the minds in our meeting space, spanning 14,000 square feet with ample natural light and state-of-the-art technology. Our 774 spacious guest rooms and suites offer refined style and exhilarating city views. Designed with eco-friendly materials, rooms encourage relaxation amid tasteful décor in rich, neutral hues. Sleep deeply in the sumptuous Westin Heavenly® Bed.

Top hotels

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
TDD telephone machine
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen
Our creatively-designed restaurant delivers the simple earthly pleasures with seasonal fare in innovative flavor combinations, tempting cocktails and craft beers, and pleasingly healthy and tasty breakfast options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 32
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroline's Andie
Business
New York City
Dec 9, 2013

New York Christmas Holiday trip

Hotel was fine, but not anywhere enough staff, especially at the front desk when trying to check in. Upon arrival, room not ready. Fine, secured luggage and hit the City. We were called to say our room was ready at 5PM. When we arrived to check in, the line was almost out the door. Took well over 30 minutes to to check in. Only 1 agent on at the registration desk. Insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carlonicole
Business
ny ny
Apr 8, 2013

Nice clean room

The hotel was very nice and easy to get to. There was a deli next door and a CVS on the corner. The only down side was the room service menu was limited. The mini bar has sensors in it that if you take something out for longer than 30 seconds you get charged for it. We let the staff know on check out that we did not use anything and they took the charge off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Johnsons
Business
United Kingdom
Apr 7, 2013

A little gem in an expensive city

Compared to other hotels visited in this city the differance is massive. The staff were very helpful from bringing extra milk to the room quickly to recommending restaurents that were as good as promised. The rooms were massive compared to other hotels and the recent room updating making the stay very comfortable. The only negative comment is that the location is on 2nd Ave and if you don't like the walking required to get in to Time Square then it can be time consuming, having said that the sub way is one block away and Grand Central station only a short walk with your suit cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hockey mum
Business
Essex, England
Feb 21, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

I took my 18 year old son for his birthday and we had a great time. The purpose of the trip was to go and see ice hockey. The whole experience was fantastic. I would definately go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docmarker
Business
Yakima, WA
Nov 13, 2012

Convenient location with comfort

This was close to Grand Central Station. The rooms were nice and all of the employees were very helpful. I found the exercise facility was great, as well. The downside was that there was poor access to the business center and the restaurant was closed in the morning. However, there was a PAX food next door so breakfast was served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top