$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Great hotel

Great stay. Great staff. Great location for a stay in nyc See full review

  • Vitaly999
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great location

This is an excellent hotel with friendly service. It has a great location. The rooms are clean and... See full review

  • NYC Hotel
  • Jun 16, 2014
Our prime Midtown East location makes it easy to experience Manhattan. Just two blocks from Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations, we're only minutes from other iconic sites such as Bryant Park, Times Square, and Fifth Avenue shopping. Renew your health in our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, or find a new favorite drink in THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen. Enjoy a meeting of the minds in our meeting space, spanning 14,000 square feet with ample natural light and state-of-the-art technology. Our 774 spacious guest rooms and suites offer refined style and exhilarating city views. Designed with eco-friendly materials, rooms encourage relaxation amid tasteful décor in rich, neutral hues. Sleep deeply in the sumptuous Westin Heavenly® Bed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New York Grand Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
TDD telephone machine
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen
Our creatively-designed restaurant delivers the simple earthly pleasures with seasonal fare in innovative flavor combinations, tempting cocktails and craft beers, and pleasingly healthy and tasty breakfast options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 29
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
forcingnicknamesisstupid
Business
New Haven, CT
Dec 6, 2014

Not bad

The rooms were a little out-dated, but great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
really annoyed
Business
ny ny
Jun 4, 2013

Horrible

I stayed at the westin hotel for 1 night. One of the worst nights i have ever had in a hotel. CHeck in was suppose to be at 3:00pm, arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm. Was told rooms were not ready and that the mgr would call us when the rooms were ready. We did not receive a phone call until 4:30pm saying 1 of our room was ready and the other should be ready shortly. Arrived at the hotel 20 minutes later to check in only to find out that the other room was not ready and was just being cleaned. The 1st room we received smelled moldy and just totally gross. We complained to the mgr on site who gave us a lame excuse that the hotel was totally booked and unapologetic to the whole situation. We didnot receive our 2nd room until 7:30 pm at night. This is the worst hotel stay i have ever had. Dont waste your time staying here, I definetly will not be going back to this hotel and will tell everyone i know not to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryLB
Business
Boston, MA
May 14, 2013

Couldn't get any better

I couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to stay at than the Westin New York Grand Central. The price was very reasonable and the customer service was beyond excellent. Whenever we needed anything, they would call us to make sure we received it. They offered us to stay at the hotel longer than the check out time free of charge on that Sunday. The location couldn't be any better because it was near every place we wanted to go to which meant that the cab fares were very cheap. All the cab drivers were familiar with the Hotel. I would definitely go again if they had another offer on cheap tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeatherDizzMe
Business
manhatten, NY
Apr 29, 2013

Westin's never let me down

From the Valet guy, to the bell hop to the front desk crew everyone was fabulous as we walked in. We did call down for more towels and were not given the correct ones but we made due. Room was great. However I was surprised they went skimpy on the coffee. Yes its Starbucks...but you gave us 1 powder creamer and only 2 sugars per coffee. Come on this is a westin and 400 dollar a night room. Dont skimp. They would be better off investing in Keurigs for the room instead of the coffee they have. We were shocked in morning around 9am while we were dressing that housekeepin was trying to enter our room to clean. We told the front desk we would check out at 10am. but mistakes happen, we understand that. overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar in hotel is great but drinks are VERY expensive. Maybe that is NY prices but $15 is expnsive for a Seabreeze when I can get the SAME drink in Orlando for $6

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGMill
Business
Litchfield, CT
Mar 11, 2013

Affordable luxury in midtown

It was a large comfortable and luxurious room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top