$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
Great location

This is an excellent hotel with friendly service. It has a great location. The rooms are clean and... See full review

  • NYC Hotel
  • Jun 16, 2014
Fantastic hotel centrally located

The staff were fantastic, the location is great as it is a short walk to Times Square, so not as... See full review

  • Michellejason
  • Apr 24, 2014
The Westin New York Grand Central's prime Midtown East location is two blocks away from both Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations. Nearby are government and corporate offices; indelible works of New York architecture, such as the Chrysler Building, the Empire State Building, and the Morgan Library; and popular attractions like Times Square and Bryant Park. Our 774 spacious guest rooms—including 11 one-bedroom suites and one three-bedroom Presidential Suite—present a refined elegance and invigorating city views. All rooms were designed with eco-friendly materials, such as energy-conserving LED lights, water-conserving low-flow plumbing, recyclable carpet pads, and GREENGUARD-certified solar shades. Enjoy a blissful nights sleep in the plush Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh daily with the Heavenly Bath®. Get back to your best self in our 3,000-square-foot WestinWORKOUT® Gym, which offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment. Savor the nutritious options on our restaurants SuperFoodsRx™ menu, and discover a new favorite drink in the wine and espresso bar. The meeting and event space at The Westin New York Grand Central spans more than 12,000 square feet, with 12-foot-high floor-to-ceiling windows that provide captivating vistas. Choose from our three executive boardrooms, seven breakout rooms, and the stunning ballroom that can accommodate up to 400 people. All are equipped with teleconferencing capabilities, fiber optics, and Internet bandwidth that ranks among the highest in Manhattan.

Hotel Map

40.7504 -73.9739
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New York Grand Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Westin
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve. Shin
Seoul, Korea
Feb 2, 2014

The Worst Hotel

We are Stayed Jan 25~31, 2013 We are experienced the worst of worst. Location is very good. But Staff is very unkindness. I Never visit there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Timesquare

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
really annoyed
ny ny
Jun 4, 2013

Horrible

I stayed at the westin hotel for 1 night. One of the worst nights i have ever had in a hotel. CHeck in was suppose to be at 3:00pm, arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm. Was told rooms were not ready and that the mgr would call us when the rooms were ready. We did not receive a phone call until 4:30pm saying 1 of our room was ready and the other should be ready shortly. Arrived at the hotel 20 minutes later to check in only to find out that the other room was not ready and was just being cleaned. The 1st room we received smelled moldy and just totally gross. We complained to the mgr on site who gave us a lame excuse that the hotel was totally booked and unapologetic to the whole situation. We didnot receive our 2nd room until 7:30 pm at night. This is the worst hotel stay i have ever had. Dont waste your time staying here, I definetly will not be going back to this hotel and will tell everyone i know not to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous44
San Diego, CA
Mar 2, 2014

Not so newly renovated

Although the reviews state the hotel is newly renovated the rooms have not been. The staff was friendly. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragon Jim
Pennsylvania
Oct 23, 2012

nickle and dime you

Staff was great, room was good. BUT... For a couple of hundred bucks +, for the room, they needed to get just a little MORE money out of me. Cost $50 if you want to use the refrigerator in the room. Free coffee, but you need to make do with one ersatz creamer for the whole weekend. I needed to get dressed first thing in the AM, and go out to get coffee. That is really cheap on their part. I didn't bring a computer because all hotels have a business center. But again, this one charges to use it. I think, I'll go back to the cheap hotels. At least they provide decent services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

learn how to use the subways. If you are new to New York, this can be difficult at first, but well worth the effort. Way more interesting than taking cabs everywhere.

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Food Broker SC
Columbia SC
Oct 28, 2013

Good Location

Nice sized room for NYC and convenient location to Mid-Town. Easy to get to from LaGuardia. Bar staff was not too friendly, so I would recommend having a drink up the street at Capital Grille instead. There is also a CVS a few steps away to avoid the $8.00 bottled water and M&M's in the honor bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack has opened in Grand Central and went on a Saturday for lunch with very little wait

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroline's Andie
New York City
Dec 9, 2013

New York Christmas Holiday trip

Hotel was fine, but not anywhere enough staff, especially at the front desk when trying to check in. Upon arrival, room not ready. Fine, secured luggage and hit the City. We were called to say our room was ready at 5PM. When we arrived to check in, the line was almost out the door. Took well over 30 minutes to to check in. Only 1 agent on at the registration desk. Insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wayneypooh
Daphne, AL
Jun 8, 2014

Mostly good.

The only problem that we experienced was the long delays required to get an elevator and the ice machine on th 9 th floor didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fine Resturant across the street

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJCJ
Ct
Mar 11, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Great place to stay to be close to the action of the city. It's convenient if you're traveling by train, great selection of restaurants within walking distance, newly renovated, affordibly priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pre-plan to be sure you take advantage of all that's available.

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADT1
New York, New York
Mar 24, 2014

Westin Hotel - New York City

My experience was pleasant at the hotel. The staff was cordial and kind and the room was clean. All in all I would say it was a good stay and that I would choose this hotel again when I return to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful breakfast diner across the street from the Grand Central Station. The best Pancakes in town.

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Frequent Visitor
New York
Apr 14, 2014

Comfortable, Great location

Hotel was great for a one-night stay. Great location, centrally located near Grand Central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search