$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2015 Check-out: Feb 22, 2015

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
30 reviews
Great location for your 25th Wedding Anniversary

My wife and I spend our 25th wedding anniversary at the hotel. The location, amenities, comfort,... See full review

  • Kenneth G.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Great hotel

Great stay. Great staff. Great location for a stay in nyc See full review

  • Vitaly999
  • Dec 8, 2014
Our prime Midtown East location makes it easy to experience Manhattan. Just two blocks from Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations, we're only minutes from other iconic sites such as Bryant Park, Times Square, and Fifth Avenue shopping. Renew your health in our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, or find a new favorite drink in THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen. Enjoy a meeting of the minds in our meeting space, spanning 14,000 square feet with ample natural light and state-of-the-art technology. Our 774 spacious guest rooms and suites offer refined style and exhilarating city views. Designed with eco-friendly materials, rooms encourage relaxation amid tasteful décor in rich, neutral hues. Sleep deeply in the sumptuous Westin Heavenly® Bed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New York Grand Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
TDD telephone machine
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen
Our creatively-designed restaurant delivers the simple earthly pleasures with seasonal fare in innovative flavor combinations, tempting cocktails and craft beers, and pleasingly healthy and tasty breakfast options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryLB
Business
Boston, MA
May 14, 2013

Couldn't get any better

I couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to stay at than the Westin New York Grand Central. The price was very reasonable and the customer service was beyond excellent. Whenever we needed anything, they would call us to make sure we received it. They offered us to stay at the hotel longer than the check out time free of charge on that Sunday. The location couldn't be any better because it was near every place we wanted to go to which meant that the cab fares were very cheap. All the cab drivers were familiar with the Hotel. I would definitely go again if they had another offer on cheap tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HeatherDizzMe
Business
manhatten, NY
Apr 29, 2013

Westin's never let me down

From the Valet guy, to the bell hop to the front desk crew everyone was fabulous as we walked in. We did call down for more towels and were not given the correct ones but we made due. Room was great. However I was surprised they went skimpy on the coffee. Yes its Starbucks...but you gave us 1 powder creamer and only 2 sugars per coffee. Come on this is a westin and 400 dollar a night room. Dont skimp. They would be better off investing in Keurigs for the room instead of the coffee they have. We were shocked in morning around 9am while we were dressing that housekeepin was trying to enter our room to clean. We told the front desk we would check out at 10am. but mistakes happen, we understand that. overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar in hotel is great but drinks are VERY expensive. Maybe that is NY prices but $15 is expnsive for a Seabreeze when I can get the SAME drink in Orlando for $6

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carlonicole
Business
ny ny
Apr 8, 2013

Nice clean room

The hotel was very nice and easy to get to. There was a deli next door and a CVS on the corner. The only down side was the room service menu was limited. The mini bar has sensors in it that if you take something out for longer than 30 seconds you get charged for it. We let the staff know on check out that we did not use anything and they took the charge off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Johnsons
Business
United Kingdom
Apr 7, 2013

A little gem in an expensive city

Compared to other hotels visited in this city the differance is massive. The staff were very helpful from bringing extra milk to the room quickly to recommending restaurents that were as good as promised. The rooms were massive compared to other hotels and the recent room updating making the stay very comfortable. The only negative comment is that the location is on 2nd Ave and if you don't like the walking required to get in to Time Square then it can be time consuming, having said that the sub way is one block away and Grand Central station only a short walk with your suit cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
158forest
Business
CT
Mar 27, 2013

Weekend getaway

Close to Grand Central, very convenient! Allowed us to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGMill
Business
Litchfield, CT
Mar 11, 2013

Affordable luxury in midtown

It was a large comfortable and luxurious room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hockey mum
Business
Essex, England
Feb 21, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

I took my 18 year old son for his birthday and we had a great time. The purpose of the trip was to go and see ice hockey. The whole experience was fantastic. I would definately go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denis206
Business
Seattle, Washington
Feb 18, 2013

The Westin Grand Central

The hotel went thought a change in name from the Helmsley and a 72 million dollar renovation! Very clean and comfortable as well as quiet rooms conveniently located within walking distance of the subway and major attractions as well as shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway at Grand Central best and cheapest mode of travel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docmarker
Business
Yakima, WA
Nov 13, 2012

Convenient location with comfort

This was close to Grand Central Station. The rooms were nice and all of the employees were very helpful. I found the exercise facility was great, as well. The downside was that there was poor access to the business center and the restaurant was closed in the morning. However, there was a PAX food next door so breakfast was served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragon Jim
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 23, 2012

nickle and dime you

Staff was great, room was good. BUT... For a couple of hundred bucks +, for the room, they needed to get just a little MORE money out of me. Cost $50 if you want to use the refrigerator in the room. Free coffee, but you need to make do with one ersatz creamer for the whole weekend. I needed to get dressed first thing in the AM, and go out to get coffee. That is really cheap on their part. I didn't bring a computer because all hotels have a business center. But again, this one charges to use it. I think, I'll go back to the cheap hotels. At least they provide decent services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

learn how to use the subways. If you are new to New York, this can be difficult at first, but well worth the effort. Way more interesting than taking cabs everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top