$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Great hotel

Great stay. Great staff. Great location for a stay in nyc See full review

  • Vitaly999
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great location

This is an excellent hotel with friendly service. It has a great location. The rooms are clean and... See full review

  • NYC Hotel
  • Jun 16, 2014
Our prime Midtown East location makes it easy to experience Manhattan. Just two blocks from Grand Central Terminal and the United Nations, we're only minutes from other iconic sites such as Bryant Park, Times Square, and Fifth Avenue shopping. Renew your health in our WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, or find a new favorite drink in THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen. Enjoy a meeting of the minds in our meeting space, spanning 14,000 square feet with ample natural light and state-of-the-art technology. Our 774 spacious guest rooms and suites offer refined style and exhilarating city views. Designed with eco-friendly materials, rooms encourage relaxation amid tasteful décor in rich, neutral hues. Sleep deeply in the sumptuous Westin Heavenly® Bed.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New York Grand Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin New York Grand Central Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
TDD telephone machine
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.3 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.7 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.7 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

THE LCL: Bar & Kitchen
Our creatively-designed restaurant delivers the simple earthly pleasures with seasonal fare in innovative flavor combinations, tempting cocktails and craft beers, and pleasingly healthy and tasty breakfast options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silverblix
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Feb 28, 2014

Very nice stay at the Westing NY Grand Central

The proximity to Grant Central (2 blocks away) is nice as I sometime prefer taking the subway to move around in NY than taxi cabs. The room was particularly clean and very neat, with a high-end large flat TV screen. This is obviously a high-end hotel and you pay for it. Guaranteed great experience. I got the chance to be upgraded and got a room at the corner of the building. The bathroom was impeccable. I really liked the breakfast area on the 1st floor giving you the choice between a fast BF or a complete one in the dining area. The staff was overly nice and proactive in helping when I was obviously lost or looking for something in the hotel. You have to be ready to handle the street noise which is unavoidable in the city but it was quite enough at night. The room was cold at first (28F outside) but the heater worked well and was fairly quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve. Shin
Business
Seoul, Korea
Feb 2, 2014

The Worst Hotel

We are Stayed Jan 25~31, 2013 We are experienced the worst of worst. Location is very good. But Staff is very unkindness. I Never visit there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Timesquare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose d
Business
Stamford ct
Dec 23, 2013

Perfect Location new Grand Central Terminal

The only thing that was incovenient for me is the fact they don't start checking in unitl 3 Pm which prompted me to change in the bathroom for my event. other than that, everything was wonderful, nice staff and very comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroline's Andie
Business
New York City
Dec 9, 2013

New York Christmas Holiday trip

Hotel was fine, but not anywhere enough staff, especially at the front desk when trying to check in. Upon arrival, room not ready. Fine, secured luggage and hit the City. We were called to say our room was ready at 5PM. When we arrived to check in, the line was almost out the door. Took well over 30 minutes to to check in. Only 1 agent on at the registration desk. Insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Food Broker SC
Business
Columbia SC
Oct 28, 2013

Good Location

Nice sized room for NYC and convenient location to Mid-Town. Easy to get to from LaGuardia. Bar staff was not too friendly, so I would recommend having a drink up the street at Capital Grille instead. There is also a CVS a few steps away to avoid the $8.00 bottled water and M&M's in the honor bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack has opened in Grand Central and went on a Saturday for lunch with very little wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daria22
Business
New jersey
Oct 20, 2013

very good quality

Especially considering that I got an online deal and only paid $250 for a $450 room, this hotel was amazing. Its a really big hotel and the staff is great. They get you a cab in like 2 seconds which could be very hard during rush hour. It is clean and the size of the room is pretty big. The fridge is filled with all kinds of alcohol, water, and snacks. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet Setter Jan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2013

Comfort with style

I could not have asked for a better time in NYC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

It's not too far of a cab ride from where the most popular night life spots are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
really annoyed
Business
ny ny
Jun 4, 2013

Horrible

I stayed at the westin hotel for 1 night. One of the worst nights i have ever had in a hotel. CHeck in was suppose to be at 3:00pm, arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm. Was told rooms were not ready and that the mgr would call us when the rooms were ready. We did not receive a phone call until 4:30pm saying 1 of our room was ready and the other should be ready shortly. Arrived at the hotel 20 minutes later to check in only to find out that the other room was not ready and was just being cleaned. The 1st room we received smelled moldy and just totally gross. We complained to the mgr on site who gave us a lame excuse that the hotel was totally booked and unapologetic to the whole situation. We didnot receive our 2nd room until 7:30 pm at night. This is the worst hotel stay i have ever had. Dont waste your time staying here, I definetly will not be going back to this hotel and will tell everyone i know not to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Textrip
Business
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Works well for business/leisure

Great location. Hard to beat the value in New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryLB
Business
Boston, MA
May 14, 2013

Couldn't get any better

I couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to stay at than the Westin New York Grand Central. The price was very reasonable and the customer service was beyond excellent. Whenever we needed anything, they would call us to make sure we received it. They offered us to stay at the hotel longer than the check out time free of charge on that Sunday. The location couldn't be any better because it was near every place we wanted to go to which meant that the cab fares were very cheap. All the cab drivers were familiar with the Hotel. I would definitely go again if they had another offer on cheap tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top