$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
View map of 212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous44
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 2, 2014

Not so newly renovated

Although the reviews state the hotel is newly renovated the rooms have not been. The staff was friendly. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silverblix
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Feb 28, 2014

Very nice stay at the Westing NY Grand Central

The proximity to Grant Central (2 blocks away) is nice as I sometime prefer taking the subway to move around in NY than taxi cabs. The room was particularly clean and very neat, with a high-end large flat TV screen. This is obviously a high-end hotel and you pay for it. Guaranteed great experience. I got the chance to be upgraded and got a room at the corner of the building. The bathroom was impeccable. I really liked the breakfast area on the 1st floor giving you the choice between a fast BF or a complete one in the dining area. The staff was overly nice and proactive in helping when I was obviously lost or looking for something in the hotel. You have to be ready to handle the street noise which is unavoidable in the city but it was quite enough at night. The room was cold at first (28F outside) but the heater worked well and was fairly quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve. Shin
Business
Seoul, Korea
Feb 2, 2014

The Worst Hotel

We are Stayed Jan 25~31, 2013 We are experienced the worst of worst. Location is very good. But Staff is very unkindness. I Never visit there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Timesquare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose d
Business
Stamford ct
Dec 23, 2013

Perfect Location new Grand Central Terminal

The only thing that was incovenient for me is the fact they don't start checking in unitl 3 Pm which prompted me to change in the bathroom for my event. other than that, everything was wonderful, nice staff and very comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroline's Andie
Business
New York City
Dec 9, 2013

New York Christmas Holiday trip

Hotel was fine, but not anywhere enough staff, especially at the front desk when trying to check in. Upon arrival, room not ready. Fine, secured luggage and hit the City. We were called to say our room was ready at 5PM. When we arrived to check in, the line was almost out the door. Took well over 30 minutes to to check in. Only 1 agent on at the registration desk. Insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Food Broker SC
Business
Columbia SC
Oct 28, 2013

Good Location

Nice sized room for NYC and convenient location to Mid-Town. Easy to get to from LaGuardia. Bar staff was not too friendly, so I would recommend having a drink up the street at Capital Grille instead. There is also a CVS a few steps away to avoid the $8.00 bottled water and M&M's in the honor bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack has opened in Grand Central and went on a Saturday for lunch with very little wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daria22
Business
New jersey
Oct 20, 2013

very good quality

Especially considering that I got an online deal and only paid $250 for a $450 room, this hotel was amazing. Its a really big hotel and the staff is great. They get you a cab in like 2 seconds which could be very hard during rush hour. It is clean and the size of the room is pretty big. The fridge is filled with all kinds of alcohol, water, and snacks. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jet Setter Jan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 7, 2013

Comfort with style

I could not have asked for a better time in NYC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

It's not too far of a cab ride from where the most popular night life spots are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
really annoyed
Business
ny ny
Jun 4, 2013

Horrible

I stayed at the westin hotel for 1 night. One of the worst nights i have ever had in a hotel. CHeck in was suppose to be at 3:00pm, arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm. Was told rooms were not ready and that the mgr would call us when the rooms were ready. We did not receive a phone call until 4:30pm saying 1 of our room was ready and the other should be ready shortly. Arrived at the hotel 20 minutes later to check in only to find out that the other room was not ready and was just being cleaned. The 1st room we received smelled moldy and just totally gross. We complained to the mgr on site who gave us a lame excuse that the hotel was totally booked and unapologetic to the whole situation. We didnot receive our 2nd room until 7:30 pm at night. This is the worst hotel stay i have ever had. Dont waste your time staying here, I definetly will not be going back to this hotel and will tell everyone i know not to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Textrip
Business
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Works well for business/leisure

Great location. Hard to beat the value in New York City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top