$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Westin New York Grand Central

4 stars
View map of 212 East 42nd Street, 212 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle Frequent Visitor
Business
New York
Apr 14, 2014

Comfortable, Great location

Hotel was great for a one-night stay. Great location, centrally located near Grand Central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADT1
Business
New York, New York
Mar 24, 2014

Westin Hotel - New York City

My experience was pleasant at the hotel. The staff was cordial and kind and the room was clean. All in all I would say it was a good stay and that I would choose this hotel again when I return to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful breakfast diner across the street from the Grand Central Station. The best Pancakes in town.

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJCJ
Business
Ct
Mar 11, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Great place to stay to be close to the action of the city. It's convenient if you're traveling by train, great selection of restaurants within walking distance, newly renovated, affordibly priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pre-plan to be sure you take advantage of all that's available.

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous44
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 2, 2014

Not so newly renovated

Although the reviews state the hotel is newly renovated the rooms have not been. The staff was friendly. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silverblix
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Feb 28, 2014

Very nice stay at the Westing NY Grand Central

The proximity to Grant Central (2 blocks away) is nice as I sometime prefer taking the subway to move around in NY than taxi cabs. The room was particularly clean and very neat, with a high-end large flat TV screen. This is obviously a high-end hotel and you pay for it. Guaranteed great experience. I got the chance to be upgraded and got a room at the corner of the building. The bathroom was impeccable. I really liked the breakfast area on the 1st floor giving you the choice between a fast BF or a complete one in the dining area. The staff was overly nice and proactive in helping when I was obviously lost or looking for something in the hotel. You have to be ready to handle the street noise which is unavoidable in the city but it was quite enough at night. The room was cold at first (28F outside) but the heater worked well and was fairly quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve. Shin
Business
Seoul, Korea
Feb 2, 2014

The Worst Hotel

We are Stayed Jan 25~31, 2013 We are experienced the worst of worst. Location is very good. But Staff is very unkindness. I Never visit there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Timesquare

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose d
Business
Stamford ct
Dec 23, 2013

Perfect Location new Grand Central Terminal

The only thing that was incovenient for me is the fact they don't start checking in unitl 3 Pm which prompted me to change in the bathroom for my event. other than that, everything was wonderful, nice staff and very comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroline's Andie
Business
New York City
Dec 9, 2013

New York Christmas Holiday trip

Hotel was fine, but not anywhere enough staff, especially at the front desk when trying to check in. Upon arrival, room not ready. Fine, secured luggage and hit the City. We were called to say our room was ready at 5PM. When we arrived to check in, the line was almost out the door. Took well over 30 minutes to to check in. Only 1 agent on at the registration desk. Insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Food Broker SC
Business
Columbia SC
Oct 28, 2013

Good Location

Nice sized room for NYC and convenient location to Mid-Town. Easy to get to from LaGuardia. Bar staff was not too friendly, so I would recommend having a drink up the street at Capital Grille instead. There is also a CVS a few steps away to avoid the $8.00 bottled water and M&M's in the honor bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack has opened in Grand Central and went on a Saturday for lunch with very little wait

Review of The Westin New York Grand Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daria22
Business
New jersey
Oct 20, 2013

very good quality

Especially considering that I got an online deal and only paid $250 for a $450 room, this hotel was amazing. Its a really big hotel and the staff is great. They get you a cab in like 2 seconds which could be very hard during rush hour. It is clean and the size of the room is pretty big. The fridge is filled with all kinds of alcohol, water, and snacks. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top