$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

4 stars
120 East 39th Street, Between Lexington Avenue and Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
104 reviews
stay in nyc

the perfect hotel in murray hills. a short walking distance to all amenities. Lots of good... See full review

  • papa keko
  • Aug 18, 2014
Great Hotel

This is a great hotel in a nice and residential location. It is only a 5-10 minute walk to Grand... See full review

  • Kari C.
  • Jul 9, 2014
Just off Park Avenue in midtown, boutique sleek with oversized rooms

A Manhattan trademark is the tiny hotel room -- just one way The St Giles New York The Tuscany stands out from the crowd. Rooms offer plenty of space to unwind from an exciting day in the city, paired up with Art-Deco-inspired decor for that New-York cool. Located in the stylish neighborhood of Murray Hill and just off Park Avenue, guests enjoy a midtown location within walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A 24-hour fitness center and Audrey's Cafe and Lounge add an extra splash of style.

Highlights

  • Guest rooms provide extra square feet in space for a more comfortable stay
  • Savor Manhattan-style cool with sleek interior designs from the lobby to guest rooms
  • Walk to the best of the city from a midtown Murray Hill location off Park Avenue

Location

The St Giles New York The Tuscany is less than a block from tony Park Avenue in midtown Manhattan, within walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square and Rockefeller Center. Subway stations are a few blocks north.

Rooms

Stretch out in superior and deluxe rooms and suites at The St Giles, where guest rooms are much larger than the average Manhattan hotel room. Each is cosmopolitan Art-Deco cool, with sleek stripes, bold colors and a minimalist preen for Zen serenity. Guest rooms and suites include features such as luxury linens, a flat-screen TV, a minibar, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and more. The hotel also offers amenities for pets.

Features

Dine for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Audrey's Cafe and Lounge. The LEX Bar at the neighboring sister property, The Court, serves up drinks and great atmosphere. The St Giles New York The Tuscany also features a fitness center.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Penn Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15 mi/24.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/28.5 km)

Attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Central Park (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2.3 mi/3.6 km)

Business

  • In-room high-speed Internet access (fees apply), with free Wi-Fi in the lobby
  • Reception event space at the Cherry Lounge (fees apply)
  • Business center open 24/7 (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The St. Giles New York The Tuscany offers high-speed Internet access at a charge of $16.95 USD for a 24-hour period and free Wi-Fi access in the lobby. Pets are allowed: one pet at 40 pounds or two small pets at 25 pounds each. The hotel features nonsmoking rooms and offers a no-smoking policy. The Business Center is located at The Tuscany and accessible to guests of both The Tuscany and The Court 24/7. Please note the following charges, which can be paid directly to the front desk or charged to the guest room: boarding pass; free computer use for Internet, $6.95 USD per 15 minutes; printer, $0.49 USD per page (black and white).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7496 -73.9782
Area served
East Side.
Nearby airports
Laguardia and JFK Airports.
Area description
Murray Hill district on the East side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel Rooms

Studio
Located throughout the hotel, the comfortable 325 square-foot Studios offer a serenity not often found in Manhattan. All rooms include custom robes and slippers, state-of-the art multifunction iPhone/iPad docking stations, a 46" LED HD Flat-screen television, generous closets and modern bathroom with rainforest showerheads and luxury bath amenities by Molton Brown. High-speed WiFi access is complimentary. The Studio can accommodate up to 2 guests.
Deluxe Studio
Located throughout the hotel, the spacious 450 square-foot Deluxe Studio offers a quiet sanctuary in the middle of the city. All rooms include custom robes and slippers, state-of-the art multifunction iPhone/iPad docking stations, a 46" LED HD Flat-screen television , generous closets and modern bathroom with rainforest showerheads and luxury bath amenities by Molton Brown. High-speed WiFi access is complimentary. The Deluxe Studio can accommodate up to 2 guests.
Corner Studio
Located throughout the hotel and approximately 500 square-feet, The Corner Studios offer a spacious escape from the crush of Manhattan. Situated at the corners of the building, they feature an abundance of natural light. All rooms include custom robes and slippers, state-of-the art multifunction iPhone/iPad docking stations, a 46" LED HD Flat-screen television, generous closets and modern bathroom with rainforest showerheads and luxury bath amenities by Molton Brown. High-speed WiFi access is complimentary. The Corner Studio can accommodate up to 2 guests.
Loft Suite
The exclusive Loft Suites offer a unique experience. The living space also features stylish and comfortable furnishings and a dining table with seating for two, accented by a custom artwork selected to link modern art and classic luxury, and may also feature a restored original fireplace. The bedroom features a luxurious king bed outfitted with premium linens and cloud-like pillows. Select Loft Suites feature views of the Chrysler Building or the iconic Empire State Building. The Loft Suite can accommodate up to 2 guests. All suites offer custom robes and slippers, state-of-the art multifunction iPhone/iPad docking stations, two 46 inch LED HD Flat-screen televisions, generous closets, and a modern bathroom with rainforest showerheads and luxury bath amenities by Molton Brown. High-speed WiFi access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacks grandma
Orlando
Oct 29, 2013

Amazing

My trip was made perfect by selecting this hotel on cheap tickets. The room was gorgeous, the bed extremely comfortable. The gym is great and met all my leads. Location is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thea E
Brandon, FL
Oct 2, 2013

Awesome stay in NYC

I took my son there for his 30th birthday and not only was the staff great, but we found a bottle of chilled champaign and glasses in our room when we returned the first night. We had breakfast there the next morning and it was very good. Our room was beautiful and we were able to get an early checkin as we arrived into NY at 10am. The bed and shower both were awesome. Loved the location we could get everywhere we needed to quickly, but were still off the beaten path so we didn't have all the noise from the streets. Will definitely stay there again! 5 Stars all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TTbean
Long Island, NY
Sep 1, 2013

large rooms, comfortable beds

This is the second time I've stayed at one of the St. Giles hotels in NYC (last time I stayed at their sister hotel, The Court, next door to The Tuscany) and although the air conditioner in our room broke on this stay, I'd still recommend this hotel to friends. It's hard to find spacious rooms in NYC, but our room at The Tuscany (and last year at The Court) was quite large. In addition to that, the bed, pillows, and bedding are extremely comfortable. Another huge selling point is the location, just a few short blocks from Grand Central Station in one direction, and from the Empire State Building in the other. It makes getting around the city very easy. If location and room size aren't enough (and with the multitude of choices in NYC, they might not be), then I'll share one more thing that I find makes a big difference to me when I choose a hotel, but that others might find silly... I like a hotel that has nice bath products, and good lighting for me to put on makeup. I also hate those little blowdryers that are stuck to the wall and have barely any power. The Tuscany has REAL blowdryers that you plug into an outlet in the bathroom (I hate when hotels don't have bathroom outlets for safety reasons, this happens a lot in Europe). They also offer Molton Brown soap, bodywash, shampoo, conditioner, etc. (I hate when hotels offer only shampoo, or a 2 in 1 product). I feel that this extra attention to detail made my stay much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Skip the Empire State Building observation deck, and head to the Top of the Rock instead. The view is better, and it's generally less crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the working mom x two
Business
Belmont, Ma
Aug 8, 2013

Good experience

short business trip. My regular hotel was booked, so I decided to give the Tuscany a try. Clean modern bath and very comfortable bed for away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajskfhoeiroire
Minnesota
Jun 30, 2013

Perfect place to stay!

I loved my stay at this hotel. The room was very comfortable and super clean. Large room, modern, very clean, great bathroom, comfy beds, no complaints! Close to Grand Central Station and lots of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KayYo
Mass
Jun 24, 2013

gorgeous place!

The Tuscany is one of the most beautiful hotels we've ever stayed at in NYC! Very uniquely and tastefully decorated, very different from all other luxury hotels. To start out, we were greeted at the front desk by the wonderfully pleasant Shane whose love for his job could not have been more evident. His cheer and efficiency set the standard for what we would experience with all staff over the rest of the weekend, including the housekeeper who so sweetly and patiently waited for us to leave 15 mins later than we said we would be, to clean the room (I wish I knew her name - she was absolutely lovely!!!). The rooms are beyond spacious. Almost too much so! (would you ever expect to hear those words about a NY hotel???). Our room could easily have fit at least 2 cots, maybe 3 for a large family- that's how roomy it was! The bathroom is enormous, my only complaint is that, with all the roominess in the bathroom, there is really nowhere to put your clothes while you shower or just change yet there is one BIG unused corner that could comfortably fit a small bench or shelf that would make life much more convenient. I actually took the luggage rack in and set it behind the door. Silly as it may seem, their towels are thje softest hotel towels I have ever used! (I made note of the label brand, but I've forgotten what they were - i would definitely order some!!) There is sadly no coffee maker in the rooms which is a bummer for anyone who likes to enjoy their first cup in their pj's. The room had a small fridge but it was locked - and empty, so it supplied no refreshments but we also could not keep our own water cold. I suppose if we had called the front desk, we would have had our confusioin addressed but we did not. We were given a couple of coupons for a complimentary glass of wine from their Audrey Bar. Now, although white zin may not be considered a suitable wine for this establishment, we are not real wine drinkers but do enjoy a glass occasionally. When white zin was not available, we both decided on Reisling (which I have to say was one of the nicest Reilsings I have ever had!!). HOWEVER! The only wine that was offered complimentary was, I believe, a cabernet - something neither of us drinks. Consequently, the 2 glasses of Reisling cost us $23 (plus tip). Very disappointed that the complimentary wine selection didn't have more to offer - a nice Moscato wine would be a welcome option for a late night beverage. I have chronic neck/shoulder pain and altho i should, I do not travel with my own pillow. Consequently, I will inevitably wake in the morning with a headache from the too-flat/too-hard/too-soft hotel pillows. My 2 nights at the Tuscany were the *best* nights' sleep i've gotten on hotel pillows...ever! I don't think the location can be beat. We walked everywhere we went this weekend (except for the 9/11 memorial) - as far up as 72nd St. and as far down as 20th - because the hotel is so centrally located. We will "definitely" stay again! L.O.V.E.D. I.T.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

my *favorite* NYC-wake-me-up: coffee and pastry in Bryant Park. Just 1 block over and a few blocks down from the hotel, Bryant Park is a most beautiful and serene way to start your day. Also - no matter your faith, you simply MUST pay a visit to the extraordinarily beautiful St. Patrick's Cathedral, just a few blocks further than Bryant Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnanalyst
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 3, 2013

Not a bad deal

everything is new so that's great. I had to call the front desk to have a technician come to adjust a loose TV cable connection and replace a table lamp that would not shut off. More renovation is obviously going on in th enext building and it bothered me during the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jatale
Business
Northeast
May 20, 2013

Needs Improvement

The room was modern, but the shades did not operate so there was little if any natural light inside. The toilet did not flush, was fixed promptly. The bathroom faucet had excessive pressure, so water always splattered on my clothes and it took a minute for the air in the water to dissipate out of a glass. The heater/air system worked fine. The hotel staff was excellent. Overall, my room at least, left a lot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Empty Nester Dad
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2013

Great for couples

I liked everything about this hotel except the loud music in the lobby coming from the bar. Apparantly, this is part of the hotel branding but it made me go to another bar for a drink. The room was large, (huge by NYC hotel standards) and clean and all amenities excellent. This hotel is in an excellent location, near Grand Central Station and our room tthe had a view of the Chrysler Building, my favorite building in NY. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful I hope to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bodega on Lexington Avenue is well stocked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CRDC
Washington, dc
Apr 23, 2013

Definitely not four stars

No room service, no coffee pot in room, elevator slow ( other one not functioning), electronic room keys malfunctioned multiple times, lobby noisy, breakfast buffet expensive ($4 for a paper cup of coffee), etc. The room was spacious but unattractive. Just not anywhere near 4 stars. I felt misled by that rating. Will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top