$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

4 stars
View map of 120 East 39th Street, Between Lexington Avenue and Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maddysboy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2009

Good location

Great location, very close to Grand Central Station, about 3 blocks. The room was small. Great view on the 14th floor facing the Chrysler building. The worst part was the A/C, it was a window unit, and it rattled and made noise all night long. When I turned it off the room got to stuffy and warm. The bathroom was ok, small-no space to put any thing, not even a tooth brush (no counter, just a pedlestle sink) and the shower water knobs didn't work properly. The bed was comfortable though. Friendly front desk staff and very helpful when they weren't busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jwright
Business
DC
Jun 15, 2009

Hip hotel with outstanding service!

Like all W Hotels, the decor was very hip and fresh and the bed was so comfortable that we didn't see AM in NYC at all. Zzzzzzz. Unlike most NYC hotels, we actually had room in our room which was a huge plus! The staff was eager to help out with everything including recommendations on local restaurants. The hotel is in mid-town so don't expect the bar to be hopping even on a Saturday night, but it did mean that we got a drink quickly after dinner. I would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dancingdr
Business
Detroit, Michigan
May 11, 2009

Amazing place with great staff!

This hotel was amazing. The location is good - only 3 blocks from Grand Central which means it is easy to get around. The staff is amazing! Carlos - the doorman and Jason - front desk were wonderful and went out of their way to help. They went above and beyond the "Whatever, Whenever" program the hotel offers. The rooms are HUGE for New York, styled very nicely and clean, have DVD/CD and IPOD players plus a flat screen tv. The bed is also extremely comfortable. The bathroom is adequate in size. The bath products are also very nice. Overall, not a negative thing to say about the hotel. If you are choosing between hotels like we did, you should definitely stay here!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
May 9, 2009

small hotel, very nice rooms

A/C only works when curtain is open

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Wetbar next door is fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
May 8, 2009

I had hoped more from a W Hotel

First of all I want to say that the staff was always very friendly and approachable. Unfortunately, they didn't always live up tp their promises. They couldn't figure out what was wrong with our phone, and when we had to change rooms because our toilet flooded, it took a while until we were moved although we were promised twice we would be taken care of "immediately". Basically, "immediately" meant 30 minutes to 1 hour. But overall, the rooms were nice and clean. I think I would go back (everyone deserves a second chance) but it wouldn't be my first choice. Maybe it was all just a series of unfortunate events...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa
Oct 28, 2008

Staff was very helpful

We arrived at the W at 7:00 in the morning after a long overnight flight from California. The staff checked our bags, directed us to breakfast and took our cell phone number in order to call us as soon as a room was available. The hotel staff contacted us at 12:00 to let us know our room was ready. We were exhausted and sorely needed a place to rest. Thanks to the W staff we got our nap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire State Building is within walking distance, as well as Grand Central Station, St. Patrick's Cathedral and Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, *
Oct 7, 2008

We are visiting NYC ...

We are visiting NYC frequently. We enjoyed the W Hotel in Atlanta very much and we assumed to have the same standards in NYC. It takes the two days to fix the safe. Even coffee was not available thru the weekend. The carpet was full of spots and dirty. A odor from the toilet was making the bathroom very uncomfortable. The Tuscany is a mad renovated place, just some paint tries to cover this place. The coils of the AC is full of dust. The place is dark an this helps to cover the dirt of this place. Not to forget to mention some things we enjoyed. The complementary ACURA Service. The spacious rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway, Central station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale
Oct 3, 2008

ok

Room decent size for NY, but very noisy street and hotel in general loud. Bathtub was peeling and in general room looked old and worn out. Few amenities, but very helpful staff.Decent area, but not the greatest for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 29, 2008

Friendly, accomodating, fun, would recommend it.

I enjoyed my stay at the W. The staff went over and above what I might have expected. Everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of stores and restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vestal
Sep 14, 2008

Great Hotel Experience

This was an immaculate hotel. The price was rather steep, but it didn't dissappoint. Best shower I have ever taken, it was like showering under a waterfall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Park avenue shopping is around the block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top