$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Time Hotel

3 stars
224 W. 49th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
165 reviews
HIdden Treasure

If you like the hustle/bustle of the theater district, yet tucked away in a secret enclave, clean... See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great location

We always have a great experience. Easy to come and go. Close to times square and theaters. If get... See full review

  • JujuW
  • Jul 3, 2014
Stylish, Urbane Ambiance of this Midtown New York City Boutique Hotel Experience The Time - a delightfully nuanced midtown New York City boutique hotel, offering the deluxe services and amenities sophisticated travelers require. Using a palette of vibrant primary colors, designer Adam D. Tihany has created a stunning accommodation that exudes fun and urban cool. Explore the city from this ideally located Times Square boutique hotel, close to the renowned Theatre District, and just steps from all this center of urban culture has to offer. Haven of Tranquility within a Posh New York Times Square Boutique Hotel Discover a superbly placed haven of retreat at The Time. This urbane midtown New York boutique hotel is ideal for exploring the city, romantic getaways, or extended visits. Your Room: 164 rooms, 28 suites and 1 triplex Penthouse, all with plasma televisions, Bose Wave sound system with iPod/MP3 connection, high-speed Internet access, electronic in-room safe sized for laptop, mini bar, multi-line/speaker telephones, cable television, movies on demand, complimentary New York Times (USA Today, Wall Street Journal and London Financial Times upon request), iron & board, work desk with task lighting, hair dryer, bathrobe, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Time Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Time Hotel Rooms

Queen Bed
One Queen bed (210 sq. ft.)
King Bed
One king size bed (250 sq. ft.)
One-bedroom Suite
One king bed and sofa bed in parlor (385 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi

Dining

Eat & Drink
Eat & Drink: Creative and original Italian dishes are served with flair and style in Serafina, making this the perfect place to enjoy fine dining or relax over a casual meal. Inc. Lounge offers up clever cocktails in a glam rock inspired room.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Glass Pavilion / Penthouse / Meetings for 10-15 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for The Time Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 165
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emzy
Business
Darlington uk
Sep 26, 2014

brilliant for a break

The hotel was clean and tidy. Overall a great hotel just off broadway for what you need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Transplant
Business
Schuylkill Haven, PA
Jun 30, 2014

Comfy stay at the city

Honestly, started off bumpy, but nothing that the hotel could've helped. We got to our room and immediately found the bathroom floor to be soaked, turned out the vent was leaking. Maintenance and housekeeping were very prompt to respond, but reception moved us to a new room and gave us a bottle of wine for our troubles- like I said, nothing they could've done to know that was going to happen. Room was very clean, they have a green policy of only changing sheets and towels when asked, but they do a general clean everyday, it sounds lazy, but it was not an issue at all. Bed was very comfortable and a welcome respite to all the walking you do in the city. Staff was very helpful with anything we needed and always acted quickly to our questions or concerns. Location is great, its in the theatre district, but definitely an outlier, its quieter than staying on 8th which I liked, and all theatres and Times Square attractions are in walking distance with the option to explore 8th and 9th for more unique dining and shops. The minor issues I had were, the staff uses the guest elevators which are already slow, so it ties them up even longer, also, they boast free Wi-Fi, but that wasn't the case $10 per 24hrs, and bag check was $2 for anything above 2 bags to store. Those things aside, I'd still recommend this place if your on a slight budget, but looking for good amenities- and the room service meal and breakfast we had in the restaurant were top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaesq1
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
May 17, 2014

Great Location

Hotel is very well located in the theater district within a short walk from most theaters. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Our only complaint was the bar was changing management and was seldom open. Would stay here again and recommend as its location is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Food Emporium is about a block away. We found it the last evening of our trip. It is a grocery/deli, not expensive and the food is wonderful. We wished we had found it earlier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimqueef
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 3, 2014

great hotel!

The staff was extremely kind and helpful. I was having trouble getting my room and they did everything they could to help. The hotel was very clean and I loved the setup. It was a great hotel for a great price in a great location. If I ever trip back to New York, I will surely be staying here again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Things are a little more pricey in New York compared to Pittsburgh. But if you go on 7th ave. you'll find restaurants and things for cheaper and of you're in your early twenties, it's the hot spot haha. And definitely check out New Yorks night live! It ready is the city that never sleeps!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ckenwyn
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 10, 2014

Great location, comfortable beds, good shower

This hotel was in a great location for those doing things near Time Square. Very walkable to everything. Definitely a great value - basic amenities and necessities, clean enough. It is a little worn and could use some TLC, so the old saying 'You get what you pay for' definitely applies to this. I'd stay again for the price and location. I stayed here when they first opened and it was really nice! So I was a bit surprised that it wasn't as nice this time around, but that was so many years ago and it was more expensive then. Everyone was really nice and friendly, easy to deal with. I'd recommend it for those who just need a home base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy K Weekend Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Time. The room was more spacious than I had expected, and you can't beat the location and the excellent room rate. If there is any way I can suggest improvements, it would be nice if there had been a coffeemaker in the room. Other than that, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Londoner
Business
London, UK
Dec 13, 2013

Great location, with everything you would need

This hotel is by no means luxurious however if you're looking for a good location, good price, clean room and helpful staff its perfect. The rooms are small and basic, but in NY you'll find you don't spend much time in the room anyway. Although be warned its a great location in terms of its closeness to major tourist attractions, however surprisingly I found Times Square becomes shockingly quiet after 11pm when all the Broadway shows are finished and its very difficult to get a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Ellens stardust diner near Time Sq. Its where Broadway stars get 'discovered' and the wait staff sing to you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickyshin
Business
Boston
Nov 18, 2013

Location is so good

this hotel located in 49st and bet 6&7th ave. The hotel is surrounded with chicago musical theater and broadway. Time square is so close that we can walk in the middle of night. And the room is a little small but its ok. The staff was good, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new york city tourist
Business
texas
Oct 22, 2013

A good hotel

I've stayed here many times over the past ten years -- the hotel could probably use a wee bit of updating at this point, but the location is perfect for a weekend getaway, and the staff has always been unfailingly chipper and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crescentmm
Business
Toronto
Aug 14, 2013

Good location and good staff but noisy A/C.

All staff were very friendly and very responsive. Room was decent size for NY hotels and location was excellent with 3 subway lines stations near by. However A/C noise was so loud that I had hard time sleeping in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top