$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Time Hotel

3 stars
224 W. 49th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
197 reviews
Great location

We always have a great experience. Easy to come and go. Close to times square and theaters. If get... See full review

  • JujuW
  • Jul 3, 2014
great hotel!

The staff was extremely kind and helpful. I was having trouble getting my room and they did... See full review

  • jimqueef
  • Apr 3, 2014
Stylish, Urbane Ambiance of this Midtown New York City Boutique Hotel Experience The Time - a delightfully nuanced midtown New York City boutique hotel, offering the deluxe services and amenities sophisticated travelers require. Using a palette of vibrant primary colors, designer Adam D. Tihany has created a stunning accommodation that exudes fun and urban cool. Explore the city from this ideally located Times Square boutique hotel, close to the renowned Theatre District, and just steps from all this center of urban culture has to offer. Haven of Tranquility within a Posh New York Times Square Boutique Hotel Discover a superbly placed haven of retreat at The Time. This urbane midtown New York boutique hotel is ideal for exploring the city, romantic getaways, or extended visits. Your Room: 164 rooms, 28 suites and 1 triplex Penthouse, all with plasma televisions, Bose Wave sound system with iPod/MP3 connection, high-speed Internet access, electronic in-room safe sized for laptop, mini bar, multi-line/speaker telephones, cable television, movies on demand, complimentary New York Times (USA Today, Wall Street Journal and London Financial Times upon request), iron & board, work desk with task lighting, hair dryer, bathrobe, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

Hotel Map

40.7611 -73.9855
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
J.F.Kennedy, La Guardia, Liberty International Airport (Newark, NJ)
Area description
At 224 West 49th Street, in the heart of midtown Manhattan's Times Square Theatre District. John F. Kennedy Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 40 minutes. LaGuardia Airport: 10 mi/16 km, 20 minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Time Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Time Hotel Rooms

Queen Bed
One Queen bed (210 sq. ft.)
King Bed
One king size bed (250 sq. ft.)
One-bedroom Suite
One king bed and sofa bed in parlor (385 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi

Dining

Eat & Drink
Eat & Drink: Creative and original Italian dishes are served with flair and style in Serafina, making this the perfect place to enjoy fine dining or relax over a casual meal. Inc. Lounge offers up clever cocktails in a glam rock inspired room.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Glass Pavilion / Penthouse / Meetings for 10-15 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for The Time Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 197
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cambridge Biz Traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 21, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

Good location in the heart of the theater district. When I stayed here a couple years ago the clientele seemed more mixed between business travelers and tourists. Perhaps because it was mid-July, I felt I was the only non-tourist in the hotel. My room was clean and quiet, but the ambiance was notably spartan, with not a single picture or fixture on the walls. Could have used standard hotel blackout shades, instead of the inexpensive plastic mini-blinds on the windows. Still, it met my needs for my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ArtySFtraveler
Business
San Francisco CA
Jul 11, 2014

Great Location!

The hotel is a cute boutique like hotel with a restaurant downstairs and a fun bar on the second floor. The staff is great! The rooms are nice, not perfect. Definitely could use remodeling in the bathroom but it does it's job. Very clean and presentable. It's not the 4 seasons but for the location and the price it's a good deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbiddle1993
Business
Monticello, Indiana
Jun 23, 2014

The Time Hotel June 2014

Was at a tradeshow where the Time Hotel was convenient to the convention center during the day and the nightlife of times square. Would be good if you did not want to spend a lot of time in the room as there is not much to do at the hotel, but it's location is good for shows, restaurants and a walk in Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellen's Starlite Diner is a must for visitors to New York.

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jax925
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 4, 2014

Great location; subpar service

I was disappointed that the wireless internet would not work from my hotel room, though it was available for free in the lobby which also had a lounge area. In addition, the TV in my room was set to some strange picture size that took me about 5 minutes to fix. Then once I got that working, some of the stations were frozen or didn't have sound. In short, I wouldn't stay here for business again, but if I was looking for an affordable NYC hotel near Times Square for leisure, this hotel would be adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffaloian
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 25, 2014

Great location

Near Times Square and subway stations including JFK express. Friendly staff and affordable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FroggyBaby
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 7, 2014

Great for Broadway

The rooms are small but perfect for a couple. Location is right off of Broadway, and couldn't be better. Staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Will stay there again, good value for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mascotguy
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Mar 24, 2014

Needs some buffing up

The rooms are a good size for this part of town, but on the whole, it's a bit run down. Not terrible...just a bit shopworn for something this price. One elevator was out for most of my stay and that was very difficult to deal with. There's no ice machine in the entire building...they will bring you ice...but that just feels so strange. The staff are very nice. They seem to know that the hotel is not what it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph of Buffalo
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 20, 2014

Well Located

Good hotel, well located near Times Square. Good price in comparison with other hotels near Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square at night!

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christine in DC
Business
Washington DC
Feb 22, 2014

Good Value, great location!

First room had windows overlooking a fire escape which would not lock (shady). I was quickly moved with zero-hassle to a room that was secure, and much nicer than the first room. The hotel is right by Times Square, but just off the beaten path enough that it wasn't annoying. Very convenient for my business trip, and I would return if my travels brought me nearby again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Tourist
Business
Charlotte and Miami
Feb 9, 2014

Inexpensive Theatre District

I checked in at noon hoping my room would be ready early. This isn't a business traveler hotel, where guests would leave early in the morning. Many guests seemed to be checking out a little late as I was checking in on a Tuesday morning. The staff were polite and efficient. The doorman was friendly and adept at hailing cabs. My room wasn't ready at noon, but I was able to check my bag, which was delivered to my room a couple of hours later. The room was adequate and clean, as was the bathroom. The soaps and shampoo were fine. The bed was comfortable. The linens were good. There was a well stocked mini bar, with reasonably priced snacks and drinks...well priced for Manhattan standards. The hotel is small and narrow, as are the corridors and elevators. I had a room on the 11th floor with a view of 49th. The hotel shares the block, on 49th between 7th and 8th, with several theatres, at least one other larger boutique hotel, and a few restaurants. The hotel has its own restaurant and bar, adjacent to the second floor lobby, though I didn't eat there. It's very visible through a glass wall, and seems to be a little clubby. I did eat in another restaurant on the ground floor that connects with the hotel entrance called Serafina. It's Italian and was very good...and reasonable. Have a homemade flatbread pizza. Their bar is intimate and beer and wine prices are reasonable. I would stay at this hotel again. It's a convenient location for business travelers, as well as theatre goers, and is reasonably priced. The room was basic, but comfortable. The bed was actually very good. If natural light is important to you, you may want to consider the fact that there are only a few rooms per floor that have windows that overlook the street. The hotel is narrow, with some rooms that most certainly don't get much, if any, natural light. Think about asking for a room with north facing exposure that overlooks 49th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very good French bistro type restaurant around the corner and down one block on 8th. It's a three minute walk. The food and service are excellent. Though it's in the heart of the tourist district, it attracts many locals. The food is reasonably priced and compares with Rue 57 on the corner of 57 and 6th...which is a little fancier and much more expensive. The croque madame was very good.

Back to menu Return to top