$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Time Hotel

3 stars
View map of 224 W. 49th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Time Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erin G.
Business
Canyon Lake
Dec 16, 2014

Great for getting out of the cold

The elevator is slow, and the rooms are very worn, but the location cannot be beat. It was particularly cold when I last went to NYC, and I really appreciated being able to take a break whenever I needed to. It was also in a pretty safe area. I (a lone female) wandered around past 10 PM pretty regularly for shows, sight-seeing, and food, all of which were easily findable. Staff was accommodating. The bathroom fan in my first room was incredibly loud, so they immediately moved me to another, no questions asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cupcake Princess
Business
Birmingham, England
Nov 30, 2014

Fine for a place to lay your head

When checking in, we got given our room, and when we saw it, it was too small and didn't seem very clean. We asked to change rooms, as I originally ordered a twin room and that was a double. We got given a queen bed room which was a lot better for size and cleanliness. The downside was the sound the radiator makes in the night, made me jump me every night, was so annoying. The staff were always polite and helpful and I couldn't fault them. There was a restaurant attached for breakfast and meals but we didn't visit there so cannot comment. The other downside of the hotel was that if you wanted free WI-FI you had to access it only in the lobby, otherwise it cost per night. I've never had to pay for WI-FI in other holiday destinations, so wasn't really happy about that. Other than that it was just a place to rest after our long days of seeing all the sights, like Empire State, Statue of Liberty, and Ellis Island, all great places to visit. The hotel was basically fine for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you haven't been to America before, be prepared to tip in restaurants and taxi's. They give you an option of 15%, 18%, or 20%. Also the price on tags shopping isn't the full price, they add tax at the till. It's so annoying, it's like can't you just put that on the price tag. Would be much simpler!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Road Warrior.
Business
ABE
Nov 24, 2014

Excellent choice

Pros: The room was clean and modern. Perfect location to the theater, sites and transportation. Staff was well organized and polite. It's a toss-up on the value. Cons: The bar on the first floor closes at midnight as does the piano bar next door. However; the club on the second floor is open late, but we didn't like the looks or the attitude of the clientele so we passed on a few late night drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fantastic Italian food ($$) and breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Dani
Business
Allentown, PA
Nov 22, 2014

Great for business or a night on the town

Perfect but always room for improvements! Loved the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler0125
Business
new york
Nov 16, 2014

It was good but

I stayed for a few nights overall it is a nice hotel, but I had the bad luck that some stuff wasn't working properly (Tv and A/C) and I have to change twice of room, however the staff was very nice to change my room without a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling couple 22
Business
Ithaca, NY
Nov 3, 2014

Great location, great value for money!

We stayed here for one night for a short weekend in NYC. The location was amazing. You're right near Times Square but away from the crowds. Nice little pocket. Right next to Book of Mormon and across the street from Chicago. Nice to feel super safe with all those crowds. But yet, super quiet. The hotel was very comfortable. Rooms were perfect size to just come and sleep and shower. Not a place to hang out, but you're in NY, why do you need lots of fancy hotel stuff? Only down side for amenities- no coffee pot in room. This was a major downside. Costs $2.75 plus $5 room charge for a cup of coffee. Don't know the last time I didn't have a coffee pot in the room. And there are lines a mile long to get coffee at the Starbucks around the street. But aside from this. Location is amazing. Price was fantastic. And super quiet. Nearly Perfect for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walkin mom
Business
Lk. Stevens, WA
Nov 2, 2014

Mom Daughter trip

The staff was fabulous. They honored our request for a late check in, quiet room (although we could hear traffic and voices on the street), and an upper floor (14th of 16 floors). They printed our boarding passes for our return trip and stored our luggage for the day. The location was off the main street so traffic was lighter, and it was a short walk to Times Square, Top of the Rock and everything a tourist would want. The room was a king bed and larger than we thought a NYC room would be. It did need some updating and there was no coffee pot. Those are the only drawbacks that can be thought of at this time. I would NOT hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Time was directly across from the musical "Chicago" and around the block from "The Jersey Boys". How convenient!! A nap and then a musical - it can't get any better than that!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Naia
Business
Boston
Oct 29, 2014

I was expecting a little more

I received an email to choose the type room I prefer and I chose one with "good view" between the alternatives they gave me. The room where I stayed was not possible to see anything and it was quite disappointed. The blankets in the bed were so dirty I put it in the floor. The size of the bedroom is ok. The bathroom is pretty big but need some renovation overall. (it has huge windows and It could be very cold in the winter time)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emzy
Business
Darlington uk
Sep 26, 2014

brilliant for a break

The hotel was clean and tidy. Overall a great hotel just off broadway for what you need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Okanjo mike
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2014

HIdden Treasure

If you like the hustle/bustle of the theater district, yet tucked away in a secret enclave, clean and bright, The Time is perfect. Having "Serafina" downstairs w 20% off to hotel guests just a bonus as food quality excellent, and prices reasonable anyway, w 20%, it's a hard to come by "steal". Good value in the $200 range when I stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

"Serafina's" NYC Mainstay in lobby & 20% OFF to hotel guests...A STEAL!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top