$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Time Hotel

3 stars
View map of 224 W. 49th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Time Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew P.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Great Location

It would be difficult to find a better price on a decent hotel in the Theater District. That said, you get what you pay for. Rooms are a bit smaller than comfortable (even for NYC), carpet is worn and coming up in places, and heaters and air units click and whine. On the plus side there is a readily available and very helpful staff, taxis waiting outside, a nice empty lounge on the second floor, a 20 discount for breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, and if you threw a rock from the front door you could hit two, maybe three big-name theaters with it. In short, great location with a comfort level on par with what you are paying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you plan on coming into town to see some broadway shows, want to be close by, but don't want to spend big money to stay in midtown, this might be your place. As of winter 2014/2015 the Time Hotel is one door down from Book of Mormon, directly across the street from Chicago, and about 1/2 a block from Broadway itself.

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marlon s.
Business
thornton
Jan 5, 2015

Great Hotel

Hi i stayed at the time hotel for 3 days, very comfortable, very good location. an excellent budget hotel. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to time square, close to nightclubs,

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REDD W.
Business
CHANGSHA
Jan 5, 2015

good location but average in other things

great location, only blocks away from the time square and near the subway station. But other respects are average. The water is easily accumulated in the bathroom (in and outside of bath place) and hard to dry. No free basic wifi is another issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey T.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Girls week

The hotel was great rooms clean. Quiet and close to times square. Was also a great point ti get anywhere in manhattan accessible. Walking, bus and subway. Think that the service was somewhat in need of polishing but at this time of year btwn christmas and new years i imagine the reason all the staff were new was bcse of holidays. So gad a few problems with room service ... Chk ur bill at the end majes sure the room service amounts are correct. On the whole i had a great visit to NYC largely bcse of the hotel and beds were extremely comfortable I hated leaving the bed behind!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palmer L.
Business
oakland
Dec 29, 2014

Times stay

Location location location. This small boutique hotel has it... It was priced right and had just about everything you need. Service and amentites were a solid 3 star and staff were generally friendly. Located right next to the theater where the book of Mormons was playing - its a perfect spot to spend for a quick getaway in Manhattan. Very central with timesquare and theater district close by. Only negative Id say was that the elevator was a bit small, slow and old so it sometimes took a while to get up or down from your room. On the plus side - the rooms were large by NY standards. For what I paid - Id definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erin G.
Business
Canyon Lake
Dec 29, 2014

Great for getting out of the cold

The elevator is slow, and the rooms are very worn, but the location cannot be beat. It was particularly cold when I last went to NYC, and I really appreciated being able to take a break whenever I needed to. It was also in a pretty safe area. I (a lone female) wandered around past 10 PM pretty regularly for shows, sight-seeing, and food, all of which were easily findable. Staff was accommodating. The bathroom fan in my first room was incredibly loud, so they immediately moved me to another, no questions asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Guys
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 29, 2014

Pride Visit

We used this hotel as our base during pride festivities and it was excellent! Amazing location and great value at the time, we really were satisfied. The rooms could use a little updating as I'm sure constant use wears them down quickly. I didn't feel it was the cleanest it could be, but not dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca M P
Business
Raquette Lake
Dec 20, 2014

Great weekend trip to Times Square

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Times for two nights in July 2014. The location was amazing, just a couple of blocks from Broadway and 7th (I believe?). It was ideal. A couple of subway stops close by, too. The hotel was fine, but check-in was slow, and the receptionist had an attitude. We had booked a room with a king bed, and our first room had something that was smaller than a double. I went down and asked for another room. She claimed it was a king, but fine, she'll move us. The second room had the same bed as the first. She said that it was a king. I told her to please ask a maintenance guy to bring a tape measure and I'd be happy to check it against published measurements of a king bed online, and that they can't just make up their own sizes for what a king should be. She quickly agreed to move me a third time, and finally we were put in a room with a queen bed, which was good enough. I would stay there again, but I'll be prepared to fight for the right room. Other than that, it's a great place. Good free wifi in the public areas, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Palmer L.
Business
oakland
Dec 17, 2014

Times stay

Location location location. This small boutique hotel has it... It was priced right and had just about everything you need. Service and amentites were a solid 3 star and staff were generally friendly. Located right next to the theater where the book of Mormons was playing - its a perfect spot to spend for a quick getaway in Manhattan. Very central with timesquare and theater district close by. Only negative Id say was that the elevator was a bit small, slow and old so it sometimes took a while to get up or down from your room. On the plus side - the rooms were large by NY standards. For what I paid - Id definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erin G.
Business
Canyon Lake
Dec 16, 2014

Great for getting out of the cold

The elevator is slow, and the rooms are very worn, but the location cannot be beat. It was particularly cold when I last went to NYC, and I really appreciated being able to take a break whenever I needed to. It was also in a pretty safe area. I (a lone female) wandered around past 10 PM pretty regularly for shows, sight-seeing, and food, all of which were easily findable. Staff was accommodating. The bathroom fan in my first room was incredibly loud, so they immediately moved me to another, no questions asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top