The Time Hotel

3 stars
224 W. 49th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
159 reviews
HIdden Treasure

If you like the hustle/bustle of the theater district, yet tucked away in a secret enclave, clean... See full review

  • Okanjo mike
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great location

We always have a great experience. Easy to come and go. Close to times square and theaters. If get... See full review

  • JujuW
  • Jul 3, 2014
Stylish, Urbane Ambiance of this Midtown New York City Boutique Hotel Experience The Time - a delightfully nuanced midtown New York City boutique hotel, offering the deluxe services and amenities sophisticated travelers require. Using a palette of vibrant primary colors, designer Adam D. Tihany has created a stunning accommodation that exudes fun and urban cool. Explore the city from this ideally located Times Square boutique hotel, close to the renowned Theatre District, and just steps from all this center of urban culture has to offer. Haven of Tranquility within a Posh New York Times Square Boutique Hotel Discover a superbly placed haven of retreat at The Time. This urbane midtown New York boutique hotel is ideal for exploring the city, romantic getaways, or extended visits. Your Room: 164 rooms, 28 suites and 1 triplex Penthouse, all with plasma televisions, Bose Wave sound system with iPod/MP3 connection, high-speed Internet access, electronic in-room safe sized for laptop, mini bar, multi-line/speaker telephones, cable television, movies on demand, complimentary New York Times (USA Today, Wall Street Journal and London Financial Times upon request), iron & board, work desk with task lighting, hair dryer, bathrobe, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.

The Time Hotel Rooms

Queen Bed
One Queen bed (210 sq. ft.)
King Bed
One king size bed (250 sq. ft.)
One-bedroom Suite
One king bed and sofa bed in parlor (385 sq. ft.)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

40.7611 -73.9855
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
J.F.Kennedy, La Guardia, Liberty International Airport (Newark, NJ)
Area description
At 224 West 49th Street, in the heart of midtown Manhattan's Times Square Theatre District. John F. Kennedy Int'l Airport: 17 mi/27 km, 40 minutes. LaGuardia Airport: 10 mi/16 km, 20 minutes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Glass Pavilion / Penthouse / Meetings for 10-15 guests.

Dining

Eat & Drink
Eat & Drink: Creative and original Italian dishes are served with flair and style in Serafina, making this the perfect place to enjoy fine dining or relax over a casual meal. Inc. Lounge offers up clever cocktails in a glam rock inspired room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for The Time Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DukeMarius
Business
SLC, UT
Jul 14, 2014

Great Location

The hotel was right in the middle of it all. We were right next door to "Book of Mormon the Musical" and across the street from "Chicago". This gave us a great time to sleep in but still catch the line for standing room only. There were plenty of restaurants near by too. The room was clean, and nicely laid out, although it was a little bit smaller than I was expecting, and the bathroom was a little on the small side as well. Overall, a nice place to stay, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are looking to stay right where all the action is this is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

"Book of Mormon" had standing room tickets for 27$ so we were able to sleep in and get in line early enough to get tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ArtySFtraveler
Business
San Francisco CA
Jul 11, 2014

Great Location!

The hotel is a cute boutique like hotel with a restaurant downstairs and a fun bar on the second floor. The staff is great! The rooms are nice, not perfect. Definitely could use remodeling in the bathroom but it does it's job. Very clean and presentable. It's not the 4 seasons but for the location and the price it's a good deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FirstReview
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jul 11, 2014

smallest room I have been in

That being said, I just needed a bed. Served it's purpose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jared Normal Traveller
Business
Miami Beach
Jul 3, 2014

Very nice hotel

I got a cheap deal on this hotel for the location and it was excellent. If you can get this hotel at a discount don't be afraid to book it, it is very nice, very clean, and the staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

C train is one block from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JujuW
Business
Upstate NY
Jul 3, 2014

Great location

We always have a great experience. Easy to come and go. Close to times square and theaters. If get the standard room....it is really small. Best to get at least a queen. We always book this hotel. No surprises. Always good to great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Transplant
Business
Schuylkill Haven, PA
Jun 30, 2014

Comfy stay at the city

Honestly, started off bumpy, but nothing that the hotel could've helped. We got to our room and immediately found the bathroom floor to be soaked, turned out the vent was leaking. Maintenance and housekeeping were very prompt to respond, but reception moved us to a new room and gave us a bottle of wine for our troubles- like I said, nothing they could've done to know that was going to happen. Room was very clean, they have a green policy of only changing sheets and towels when asked, but they do a general clean everyday, it sounds lazy, but it was not an issue at all. Bed was very comfortable and a welcome respite to all the walking you do in the city. Staff was very helpful with anything we needed and always acted quickly to our questions or concerns. Location is great, its in the theatre district, but definitely an outlier, its quieter than staying on 8th which I liked, and all theatres and Times Square attractions are in walking distance with the option to explore 8th and 9th for more unique dining and shops. The minor issues I had were, the staff uses the guest elevators which are already slow, so it ties them up even longer, also, they boast free Wi-Fi, but that wasn't the case $10 per 24hrs, and bag check was $2 for anything above 2 bags to store. Those things aside, I'd still recommend this place if your on a slight budget, but looking for good amenities- and the room service meal and breakfast we had in the restaurant were top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler1747
Business
Rochester NY
Jun 24, 2014

Location, location, location

This was my second stay here. I knew the rooms were small but I didn't care. It's a short walk to the Broadway theatres and this was also the second time I was allowed to check in early. If you want luxury this is not the hotel for you. But if you want convenience at a price that leaves you spending money, I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel for money conscious and those going to Broadway plays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeLiSsA622
Business
Virginia
Jun 24, 2014

Great Location!

Staff was friendly and helpful, and you couldn't beat the location. The only thing I would have liked is a coffee pot in the room. But that wouldn't stop me from staying here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gotham Pizza!!! Best thin crust I've found so far in NYC!! And it's close by the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbiddle1993
Business
Monticello, Indiana
Jun 23, 2014

The Time Hotel June 2014

Was at a tradeshow where the Time Hotel was convenient to the convention center during the day and the nightlife of times square. Would be good if you did not want to spend a lot of time in the room as there is not much to do at the hotel, but it's location is good for shows, restaurants and a walk in Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellen's Starlite Diner is a must for visitors to New York.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Time Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zotman
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 18, 2014

Great spot!

Very nice experience, nice staff and fine location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top