$525 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Surrey Hotel

5 stars
20 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Excellent

An Excellent hotel. The staff are excellent. Great location. The room was clean, I was very happy... See full review

  • Excellent Hotel
  • Aug 3, 2014
Perfect location for a long weekend

We come to NYC a few times a year and this time opted to stay on the upper east side for... See full review

  • gustavk
  • Apr 19, 2014
Find urban-sophisticate sanctuary and service overlooking Central Park

With an Upper East Side address, a gilded pedigree and super-sleek decor, The Surrey stands as a monument to great Manhattan hotels. Built in 1926 as a residence hotel, the original hosted celebrities such as Bette Davis and John F. Kennedy. Today, The Surrey is a statement in black-and-white sophistication inspired by fashion icons such as Coco Chanel, with service that rivals the best. Guests dine at a Michelin-star restaurant, lounge at the full-service spa and even receive personal bartending services in-room. 

Highlights

  • Michelin-star, French-infused dining at the renowned Cafe Boulud
  • Enjoy Bar Pleiades, or request personal bartending service in-room
  • Private rooftop garden overlooking Central Park

Location

Experience classic New York City chic on the Upper East Side, located at East 76th Street and Madison Avenue. Surrey guests can reach Central park, the Museum of Modern Art, the Natural History Museum and some of the best shopping on foot.

Rooms

Extra-large -- and extra-plush -- guest rooms in Coco Chanel black and white create signature chic at The Surrey. The hotel offers salon and suite accommodations, including a penthouse and presidential suite, plus extended-stay apartments. Amenities might include elements such as a hand-painted wardrobe, a fireplace, a private terrace, a soaking tub, a kitchen, a living room and magnificent views of Central Park and the Upper East Side. Pets even receive a pet robe.

Features

Earning a star in the prestigious Michelin guide and 3-star review in The New York Times, Cafe Boulud at The Surrey brings the best of French cuisine to the table at breakfast, brunch (Sundays), lunch and dinner. At Bar Pleiades, the Coco Chanel-inspired decor pleases as much as the cocktails. The Cocktail Program offers hotel guests personal bartender service for in-room cocktails.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Penn Station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Times Square (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Empire State Building (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business

  • Private dining rooms at Cafe Boulud for up to 40 guests (fees apply)
  • Additional event space for larger groups, plus hotel suites for intimate functions (fees apply)

Policies and fees
NOTE: Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program that includes complimentary wireless Internet access, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7744 -73.9639
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 19.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, W; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 33.30, MI, SW; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 16.18, MI, NE
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Surrey Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Surrey Hotel Rooms

Ultra Deluxe Suite King - High F
Ultra Deluxe Suite High Floor-1 King-Sofa Bed- High City View-Kitchenette-Free WiFi-680 SqFt
Deluxe Salon 2 Full Beds
Deluxe Salon-2 Full size beds-City View-Large Desk-Sitting Area
Deluxe Accessible Salon
Deluxe Accessible Salon-2 Queens-City View- ADA Compliant-WiFi-Sitting Area-Safe-385 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Suite Partial Park
Grand Deluxe Suite Partial Central Park View- 1 King-Free WiFi-Sep Bath and Shower-600 SqFt
Quad Salon - 2 Beds
Description not provided
Grand Deluxe Salon Partial Park
Grand Deluxe Salon Partial Central Park View- 1 King-WiFi-Sitting Area-Large Desk-330-400SqFt
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite-2 Kings-2 Bath- Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-LCD HDTV-940 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Terrace Suite - Kin
Ultra Deluxe Terrace Suite-1 King-City View- Private Terrace-Kitchenette-Free WiFi-660 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite H
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite High Floor-WiFi- 2 Kings-2 Bath-Kitchen-Sep Bath Shower-990 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite-2 Kings-2 Bath- Kitchen-Sep Bath Shower-Free WiFi-990 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Salon King
Grand Deluxe Salon-1 King-City View-LCD TV -Large Shower-Sitting Area-Large Desk-400 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite -
Description not provided
Deluxe Salon - 2 Queens
Deluxe Salon-2 Queens-City View-Large Desk-WiFi -Sitting Area-Large Shower-Large Safe-385 SqFt
Studio Suite with Terrace
Studio Suite with Terrace-1 King Bed-City View- Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-Sitting Area-450 SqFt
Studio Suite - 2 Queens
Studio Suite-2 Queen Beds-City View-Fireplace- Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-Sitting Area-570 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Suite - King
Grand Deluxe Suite-1 King-Interior View-LCD TV- Free WiFi-Sitting Area-Sep Bath Shower-600 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Suite - King
Ultra Deluxe Suite-1 King-City View-Sofa Bed- Kitchenette-Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-680 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Accessible Suite
Grand Deluxe Accessible Suite-1 King-Free WiFi- ADA Compliant-Interior View-LCD HDTV-600 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Three Bedroom Suite
Ultra Deluxe 3 Bedroom Suite-3.5 Bath-Kitchen- 2 Kings-2 Queens-Sep Bath Shower-WiFi-1375 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Suite 1.5 Bath - Ki
Ultra Deluxe Suite-1.5 Bath-1 King-City View- Sofa Bed-Kitchenette-Free WiFi-LCD TV-680 SqFt
Grand Deluxe TwoBedroom Suite Ac
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Accessible Suite- 2 Kings-2 Bath-ADA Compliant-Free WiFi-940SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Three Bedroom Suite
Ultra Deluxe 3 Bedroom Suite-3 Bath-Kitchen- 2 Kings-2 Queens-Sep Bath Shower-WiFi-1375 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite P
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite-2 Kings-2 Bath- Partial Central Park View-Free WiFi-940 SqFt
Deluxe Salon King
Deluxe Salon-1 King-City View-Large Desk Sitting Area-Large Shower-Large Safe-330 SqFt

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.7 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • Barney's: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • City University of New York: 0.9 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.9 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.9 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.9 mi
  • Trump Tower: 1 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi

Dining

Cafe Boulud
Chef Daniel Bouluds twist on French cuisine prepares with American ingredients inspired by four Muses - Seasonal - Traditional - Vegetarian - World Vegetarian and World. This Michelin-starred restaurants menu changes seasonally.
Bar Pleaides
Inspired by 1930s Bar Cart and a Chanel Bag - this Art Deco club offers an ambiance reminiscent of a classic era. Classic cocktails and unique drinks are offered from chef Daniel Boulud along with a light menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for The Surrey Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Lou from Big Easy
Business
New Orleans, LA
Feb 9, 2013

My New Fave NYC Hotel

This was my first stay at Surrey and I could not have been more impressed. My room was on the small side but it was exceedingly comfy. Many amenities. Bathroom only had a shower but it was unquestionably the best shower I've ever enjoyed anywhere. Bed, pillows and linens were premium. Hotel bar was active and inviting. I did not dine at the Daniel Boloud restaurant but it was awarded Michelin star - must be excellent. All in all, I will certainly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have concierge make resv for dinner at Elio's on 2nd Ave near 84th. Great Italian dining experience. Slightly upscale but a classic NYC scene. Tables must be hard to come by but we sat right down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNizzi
Business
Granger, Iowa
Jan 3, 2012

Girls trip to New York

Wonderful staff! Professional, pleasant, helpful, and personable!!!! Love them all! Wish we had more time to enjoy the spa as it looked fabulous! Our room was nice with a wonderful bed! The carpet in our room was in need of a more thorough vacumning as along the edges of the bed and furniture were not particulary clean. Ate in the hotel restaurant one morning for breakfast and it seemed understaffed as we waited quite a while for service and food. We only saw one waitress working. I enjoy diet soda rather than coffee in the morning and my soda was flat. I would go back to the Surrey for the customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chose your top five attractions to see and then have a list of alternatives. Some of the wait times for attractions changed our plans and it helped to be flexible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dianne L
Business
Atlanta
Jul 29, 2011

Elegant Hotel!

The hotel is in a great location on the Upper Eastside, one block from Central Park. The room looked recently renovated and prestine. There were no noise issues, whether it be from the street or adjoining rooms. The beds were VERY comfortable. One of the only problems we had was that when we went to check in at 3pm our room was not ready yet. We had to wait for about 30 minutes. The management not only offered us free drinks in their lounge, but later also sent us a cheese tray and bottle of wine. All was forgiven! Though the weather did not allow us to visit the roof lounge because it was closed(too hot or rain), it looked fabulous. We would definitely visit here again on our next trip to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Jul 20, 2011

Fantastic New York Family Vacation

Extremely friendly service. Very upscale hotel. Loved the large room and the bedding. Very nicely decorated. I have been to some 4 or 5 star hotels in NY with shoe box size rooms. This one was very different. Nice comfortable rooms. 10 minute taxi ride to Time Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropolitan Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

Good Location

The best feature was the location of the property. Only a block away from Central Park, and close to the Museum Mile. Accomodations were clean, although dated, and Staff were ok. Room Service was unavailable, and hotel restaurant was closed for service on one of the two days of our stay. Never saw the Concierge the whole time we were there, and were on our own for hunting down our meals and booking tours. For the price of the room per night, I would probably look around for a better deal. The value of our dollar on this hotel did not meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Micheal Kors shop (right across the street)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top