$435 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

The Surrey Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Surrey Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakville, CA
May 28, 2011

Like a hip Four Seasons

I've now stayed twice at The Surrey. It's a wonderful place with great rooms and Bistro DB for room service. The Upper East Side location is a bit out of the way for business, but otherwise fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2011

I liked it a lot.

The hotel was very nice. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, especially [...] who recommended an excellent hairdresser and made reservations for me at Cafe Boulud next door. (The restaurant was very expensive, which wouldn't have been a problem if the food were exceptional -- but it was only fair.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe Boulud is grossly over rated by Zagat. Prices are very high (not a surprise), but the main course wasn't better than the hospital cafeteria's cheap food I ate the next night when visiting a sick friend.

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Apr 18, 2011

Exceptional

Our new favorite hotel in New York. Gorgeous accomodations and a friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyc native comes back to visit
Business
Evanston IL
Apr 14, 2011

Great upper east side getaway

For NYC the hotel room was very generous in size for a manhattan hotel. the kings size bed was fantastic at the end of the day and sank right into the bed!!!.. All marble rain shower again great at the end of walking all around the city. Staff ok. Would visit and stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cava great new place in times square and tao area great places for a nyc experience

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prairie Village, Kansas
Mar 21, 2011

great, quiet hotel

Only a few blocks from the subway. Easy walking distance to upscale shopping. Quiet, safe neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 13, 2011

Fantastic location, fantastic hotel

Very friendly staff, spacious rooms, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not too far away from all the high end retail shops.

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 2, 2011

Nice, but could be better

My husband and i booked two nights stay for New Years celebration. Pros: - Location, Location, Location; - Helpful and friendly Staff; - Luxurious accommodation; Cons: - Door to the room rattles pretty loudly every time someone open/closes door to other rooms (every 15-20 min, starting 6 am) - cleaning service (left wet/used towels on the floor behind) - Cheap toilet paper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

one of the greatest restaurants - Caravaggio on E 74th street, before ordering the specials as for the price! we paid $110 for a truffle risotto!

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Nov 22, 2010

surrey hotel

Hotel was luxurious and lovely. Staff was friendly and helpful.The renovations were very tasteful and useful. Would definitely go back.The only reservation was that the only place in the hotel to get coffee in the morning is Cafe Boulud-VERY PRICEY! For two lage cups of takeout coffee we were charged $14.00 one morning and $12.00 the next.I would suggest the hotel provide coffee for takeout in the lobby in the morning. Otherwise I would have given a 5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Metro Pass for the subway and bus.

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woodmonter
Business
Milford, CT
Nov 22, 2010

The most relaxing trip to NYC ever

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel the experience was wonderful. The staff were spot on, friendly and very professional. Particularly the bellman a lovely Italian gentleman was a delight. We had a lovely dinner and a great time at Steve Tyrell's show at the Carlyle, walked beautiful Cental Park, saw Million Dollar Quartette and a must do Movie Location tour. We were upgraded to a corner room without even asking. The room was lovely, very comfortable and spacious for a NYC hotel. We will definitely return to The Surrey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Movie Location tour was very interesting. It brought to areas of the city we had never been to.

Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the perfectionist
Business
needham, ma
Nov 13, 2010

Surrey Hotel

The Surrey Hotel lived up to it's description. It was modern, elegant and had very spacious rooms. The front desk was attentive and friendly and met all our needs. A bonus was that Cafe Boulud was in house and it too was fabulous. It was enjoyable to find a hotel on the upper east side of New York that wasn't stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to Cafe Boulud located in the hotel, the Lincoln Center sometimes has performances at Church of St. Ignatius a few blocks away so check in advance. Dinner, music and the hotel made one terrific package.

Back to menu Return to top