$495 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

The Surrey Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Surrey Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 13, 2011

Fantastic location, fantastic hotel

Very friendly staff, spacious rooms, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not too far away from all the high end retail shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 2, 2011

Nice, but could be better

My husband and i booked two nights stay for New Years celebration. Pros: - Location, Location, Location; - Helpful and friendly Staff; - Luxurious accommodation; Cons: - Door to the room rattles pretty loudly every time someone open/closes door to other rooms (every 15-20 min, starting 6 am) - cleaning service (left wet/used towels on the floor behind) - Cheap toilet paper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

one of the greatest restaurants - Caravaggio on E 74th street, before ordering the specials as for the price! we paid $110 for a truffle risotto!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Nov 22, 2010

surrey hotel

Hotel was luxurious and lovely. Staff was friendly and helpful.The renovations were very tasteful and useful. Would definitely go back.The only reservation was that the only place in the hotel to get coffee in the morning is Cafe Boulud-VERY PRICEY! For two lage cups of takeout coffee we were charged $14.00 one morning and $12.00 the next.I would suggest the hotel provide coffee for takeout in the lobby in the morning. Otherwise I would have given a 5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Metro Pass for the subway and bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woodmonter
Business
Milford, CT
Nov 22, 2010

The most relaxing trip to NYC ever

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel the experience was wonderful. The staff were spot on, friendly and very professional. Particularly the bellman a lovely Italian gentleman was a delight. We had a lovely dinner and a great time at Steve Tyrell's show at the Carlyle, walked beautiful Cental Park, saw Million Dollar Quartette and a must do Movie Location tour. We were upgraded to a corner room without even asking. The room was lovely, very comfortable and spacious for a NYC hotel. We will definitely return to The Surrey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Movie Location tour was very interesting. It brought to areas of the city we had never been to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the perfectionist
Business
needham, ma
Nov 13, 2010

Surrey Hotel

The Surrey Hotel lived up to it's description. It was modern, elegant and had very spacious rooms. The front desk was attentive and friendly and met all our needs. A bonus was that Cafe Boulud was in house and it too was fabulous. It was enjoyable to find a hotel on the upper east side of New York that wasn't stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to Cafe Boulud located in the hotel, the Lincoln Center sometimes has performances at Church of St. Ignatius a few blocks away so check in advance. Dinner, music and the hotel made one terrific package.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJQ
Business
Utah
Jul 9, 2010

Great Location, Food, Service for the $$

We were ready for a change from Times Square. Location near Central Park was great. We ran in Park every morning. The rooms were well designed and decorated - attention to detailwas noticable. Attitude and service of staff were excellent. They made exceptions to accomodate our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vail, CO
May 25, 2010

NY's Best Kept Secret

A block from Central Park, the Surrey was everything I expected (dreamed) and more. Many hotels in Manhattan have great pictures but are a different story when you arrive. We've been told repeatedly that hotel rooms in Manhattan are the size of a shoe box but this was not true here. We were very happy with the large size of the room, bed, desk, lounge area, closet space and bathroom (the shower was a dream!). The staff was always delightful and helpful...even when we poured out of a cab every night around 5am (thanks to their restaurant and bar recommendations). We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 29, 2008

Shabby

Huge room, noisy A/C, diffident staff, odor of fish and garlic from the restaurant - ok for eating, but not sleeping. Enjoyed location in Upper East Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

Good Location

The best feature was the location of the property. Only a block away from Central Park, and close to the Museum Mile. Accomodations were clean, although dated, and Staff were ok. Room Service was unavailable, and hotel restaurant was closed for service on one of the two days of our stay. Never saw the Concierge the whole time we were there, and were on our own for hunting down our meals and booking tours. For the price of the room per night, I would probably look around for a better deal. The value of our dollar on this hotel did not meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Micheal Kors shop (right across the street)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 2, 2008

Great location.

Hotel Surrey is located very near New York's great art museums. Met, Whitney, Guggenheim, Frick and others are only a short walk away. Since rooms are suites, we were able to do our own breakfasts and cocktail hours and save some money. The Boulud restaurant is tres exceptionel. Two spacious closets. Quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top