$418 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Surrey Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Surrey Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNizzi
Business
Granger, Iowa
Jan 3, 2012

Girls trip to New York

Wonderful staff! Professional, pleasant, helpful, and personable!!!! Love them all! Wish we had more time to enjoy the spa as it looked fabulous! Our room was nice with a wonderful bed! The carpet in our room was in need of a more thorough vacumning as along the edges of the bed and furniture were not particulary clean. Ate in the hotel restaurant one morning for breakfast and it seemed understaffed as we waited quite a while for service and food. We only saw one waitress working. I enjoy diet soda rather than coffee in the morning and my soda was flat. I would go back to the Surrey for the customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chose your top five attractions to see and then have a list of alternatives. Some of the wait times for attractions changed our plans and it helped to be flexible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Sep 27, 2011

Poor example of service. Good example of neglect

This charmles hotel will not let you down, if you are looking to be made to feel third class. Expense no option, as basic service levels repeatedly fail to deliver. By far the best over priced example of a hotel not caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josephrenn
Business
Montréal, QC, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Excellent Hotet at an excellent price

Thank you for this offer. It was a great hotet at a perfect location and a great price. If I can have this again I will totally take it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everythins was very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dianne L
Business
Atlanta
Jul 29, 2011

Elegant Hotel!

The hotel is in a great location on the Upper Eastside, one block from Central Park. The room looked recently renovated and prestine. There were no noise issues, whether it be from the street or adjoining rooms. The beds were VERY comfortable. One of the only problems we had was that when we went to check in at 3pm our room was not ready yet. We had to wait for about 30 minutes. The management not only offered us free drinks in their lounge, but later also sent us a cheese tray and bottle of wine. All was forgiven! Though the weather did not allow us to visit the roof lounge because it was closed(too hot or rain), it looked fabulous. We would definitely visit here again on our next trip to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 25, 2011

perfect

The Surrey was wonderful, the people were gracious and the bar was great. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 25, 2011

Great hotel, great deal!

The hotel is on the upper east side, easy access to the Lexington Ave line. All hotel staff went above and beyond to accommodate every need. The hotel is clean, attractive, the rooms are generously sized. The beds are comfortable, with beautiful linens, and turn down service at night is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe Boulud had great food and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Jul 20, 2011

Fantastic New York Family Vacation

Extremely friendly service. Very upscale hotel. Loved the large room and the bedding. Very nicely decorated. I have been to some 4 or 5 star hotels in NY with shoe box size rooms. This one was very different. Nice comfortable rooms. 10 minute taxi ride to Time Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropolitan Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville MD
Jul 17, 2011

Great Hotel

Great Hotel, Great Service. Well appointed room, very comfortable bed and a good location for Met & Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grazie on 84th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2011

great room!

We stayed at the Surrey over the long 4th of July weekend. It's a great location, half a block from Central Park and very close to the Met, the Frick, and the Whitney art museums. The room was excellent; comfortable king bed, marble bathroom, good lighting. The service was very attentive. Dining options in the immediate vicinity are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like European art, a visit to the Frick museum will be very rewarding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grapevine, TX
Jul 5, 2011

One of the best hotels I´ve stayed in

Excellent hotel: loved the staff, great room, clean and comfortable. The location is just perfect and we could wake up and go jogging in central park every morning . Overall is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top