$382 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Surrey Hotel

5 stars
View map of 20 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Excellent

An Excellent hotel. The staff are excellent. Great location. The room was clean, I was very happy... See full review

  • Excellent Hotel
  • Aug 3, 2014
Perfect location for a long weekend

We come to NYC a few times a year and this time opted to stay on the upper east side for... See full review

  • gustavk
  • Apr 19, 2014
Find urban-sophisticate sanctuary and service overlooking Central Park

With an Upper East Side address, a gilded pedigree and super-sleek decor, The Surrey stands as a monument to great Manhattan hotels. Built in 1926 as a residence hotel, the original hosted celebrities such as Bette Davis and John F. Kennedy. Today, The Surrey is a statement in black-and-white sophistication inspired by fashion icons such as Coco Chanel, with service that rivals the best. Guests dine at a Michelin-star restaurant, lounge at the full-service spa and even receive personal bartending services in-room. 

Highlights

  • Michelin-star, French-infused dining at the renowned Cafe Boulud
  • Enjoy Bar Pleiades, or request personal bartending service in-room
  • Private rooftop garden overlooking Central Park

Location

Experience classic New York City chic on the Upper East Side, located at East 76th Street and Madison Avenue. Surrey guests can reach Central park, the Museum of Modern Art, the Natural History Museum and some of the best shopping on foot.

Rooms

Extra-large -- and extra-plush -- guest rooms in Coco Chanel black and white create signature chic at The Surrey. The hotel offers salon and suite accommodations, including a penthouse and presidential suite, plus extended-stay apartments. Amenities might include elements such as a hand-painted wardrobe, a fireplace, a private terrace, a soaking tub, a kitchen, a living room and magnificent views of Central Park and the Upper East Side. Pets even receive a pet robe.

Features

Earning a star in the prestigious Michelin guide and 3-star review in The New York Times, Cafe Boulud at The Surrey brings the best of French cuisine to the table at breakfast, brunch (Sundays), lunch and dinner. At Bar Pleiades, the Coco Chanel-inspired decor pleases as much as the cocktails. The Cocktail Program offers hotel guests personal bartender service for in-room cocktails.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Penn Station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Times Square (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Empire State Building (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business

  • Private dining rooms at Cafe Boulud for up to 40 guests (fees apply)
  • Additional event space for larger groups, plus hotel suites for intimate functions (fees apply)

Policies and fees
NOTE: Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program that includes complimentary wireless Internet access, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Surrey Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Surrey Hotel Rooms

Presidential Two Bedroom Suite
Presidential Two Bedroom Suite-1 King 2 Queens- Park View-Piano-Dining for 10-Kitchen-2800 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Three Bedroom Suite
Ultra Deluxe 3 Bedroom Suite-3 Bath-Kitchen- 2 Kings-2 Queens-Sep Bath Shower-WiFi-1375 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite P
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite-2 Kings-2 Bath- Partial Central Park View-Free WiFi-940 SqFt
Deluxe Salon King
Deluxe Salon-1 King-City View-Large Desk Sitting Area-Large Shower-Large Safe-330 SqFt
Deluxe Salon 2 Full Beds
Deluxe Salon-2 Full size beds-City View-Large Desk-Sitting Area
Deluxe Accessible Salon
Deluxe Accessible Salon-2 Queens-City View- ADA Compliant-WiFi-Sitting Area-Safe-385 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Suite Partial Park
Grand Deluxe Suite Partial Central Park View- 1 King-Free WiFi-Sep Bath and Shower-600 SqFt
Quad Salon - 2 Beds
Description not provided
Grand Deluxe Salon Partial Park
Grand Deluxe Salon Partial Central Park View- 1 King-WiFi-Sitting Area-Large Desk-330-400SqFt
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite-2 Kings-2 Bath- Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-LCD HDTV-940 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Terrace Suite - Kin
Ultra Deluxe Terrace Suite-1 King-City View- Private Terrace-Kitchenette-Free WiFi-660 SqFt
Presidential One Bedroom Suite
Presidential One Bedroom Suite-1 King-Kitchen- Park View-Piano-Dining for 10-Library-2100 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite H
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite High Floor-WiFi- 2 Kings-2 Bath-Kitchen-Sep Bath Shower-990 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite-2 Kings-2 Bath- Kitchen-Sep Bath Shower-Free WiFi-990 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Salon King
Grand Deluxe Salon-1 King-City View-LCD TV -Large Shower-Sitting Area-Large Desk-400 SqFt
Deluxe Salon - 2 Queens
Deluxe Salon-2 Queens-City View-Large Desk-WiFi -Sitting Area-Large Shower-Large Safe-385 SqFt
Studio Suite with Terrace
Studio Suite with Terrace-1 King Bed-City View- Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-Sitting Area-450 SqFt
Studio Suite - 2 Queens
Studio Suite-2 Queen Beds-City View-Fireplace- Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-Sitting Area-570 SqFt
Grand Deluxe Suite - King
Grand Deluxe Suite-1 King-Interior View-LCD TV- Free WiFi-Sitting Area-Sep Bath Shower-600 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Suite - King
Ultra Deluxe Suite-1 King-City View-Sofa Bed- Kitchenette-Free WiFi-Sep Bath Shower-680 SqFt
Penthouse Suite - 1 King
Penthouse Suite-1 King-City View-Dining for 6- Kitchen-Fireplace-Large Terrace-WiFi-1200 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Suite King - High F
Ultra Deluxe Suite High Floor-1 King-Sofa Bed- High City View-Kitchenette-Free WiFi-680 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite -
Description not provided
Grand Deluxe Accessible Suite
Grand Deluxe Accessible Suite-1 King-Free WiFi- ADA Compliant-Interior View-LCD HDTV-600 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Three Bedroom Suite
Ultra Deluxe 3 Bedroom Suite-3.5 Bath-Kitchen- 2 Kings-2 Queens-Sep Bath Shower-WiFi-1375 SqFt
Ultra Deluxe Suite 1.5 Bath - Ki
Ultra Deluxe Suite-1.5 Bath-1 King-City View- Sofa Bed-Kitchenette-Free WiFi-LCD TV-680 SqFt
Grand Deluxe TwoBedroom Suite Ac
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Accessible Suite- 2 Kings-2 Bath-ADA Compliant-Free WiFi-940SqFt

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Sitting area
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Trouser press
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.7 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • Barney's: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • City University of New York: 0.9 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.9 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.9 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.9 mi
  • Trump Tower: 1 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi

Dining

Cafe Boulud
Chef Daniel Bouluds twist on French cuisine prepares with American ingredients inspired by four Muses - Seasonal - Traditional - Vegetarian - World Vegetarian and World. This Michelin-starred restaurants menu changes seasonally.
Bar Pleaides
Inspired by 1930s Bar Cart and a Chanel Bag - this Art Deco club offers an ambiance reminiscent of a classic era. Classic cocktails and unique drinks are offered from chef Daniel Boulud along with a light menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Surrey Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dgale
Business
Cape Cod
Mar 12, 2012

Front Desk Check - in Extremely Rude!!!

When I arrived at hotel @ 11 PM after 4 1/2 hr drive, I was told I had no reservation. I gave the clerk both the # and the Surrey confirmation # he said it wasn't in his computer.I said the room was prepaid for 2 nights. He told me I must have wrong hotel and he turned his back to me and just left me standing at the counter. There was no cell phone service in lobby of hotel so I had to go outside and call my daughter to send the email to my phone of the whole confirmation. I returned inside and told him that it should not be up to me to have to prove this to him and he told me that it "shouldn"t be up to me to prove anything.We don't have you in our system and we are sold out." I told him that I wanted to speak to a manager and that he was the rudest person that I have ever dealt with in the hospitality industry. I explained that I had just driven non-stop from Cape Cod because my daughter had gone into labor 3 weeks early.After I mentioned manager he found a room for one night, but did not apologize. He made me feel as though I was lucky to be staying at his hotel! I left for hospital. When I returned at 6 am he was still there and informed me that he found my reservation so that I could stay the second night. This man actually acted like he was doing me a favor. I had already showed him that when I first tried to check in, but obviously, at the Surrey, the guest is not treated as a guest but made to feel totally uncomfortable! I would never stay at the Surrey again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Sep 27, 2011

Poor example of service. Good example of neglect

This charmles hotel will not let you down, if you are looking to be made to feel third class. Expense no option, as basic service levels repeatedly fail to deliver. By far the best over priced example of a hotel not caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OH
Jun 20, 2011

Nice But......

The hotel decor is very nice and the rooms are fabulous however, there is so much nose in the walls of this hotel it woke me up every hour on the hour. The pillows were very hard and gave me a sore neck for days after my trip. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. Just for the money $370 per night, I expected to sleep like a baby no loose sleep. Not many restaurants around the hotel. Very nice area in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 29, 2008

Shabby

Huge room, noisy A/C, diffident staff, odor of fish and garlic from the restaurant - ok for eating, but not sleeping. Enjoyed location in Upper East Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

Good Location

The best feature was the location of the property. Only a block away from Central Park, and close to the Museum Mile. Accomodations were clean, although dated, and Staff were ok. Room Service was unavailable, and hotel restaurant was closed for service on one of the two days of our stay. Never saw the Concierge the whole time we were there, and were on our own for hunting down our meals and booking tours. For the price of the room per night, I would probably look around for a better deal. The value of our dollar on this hotel did not meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Micheal Kors shop (right across the street)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
global travel
Business
North Carolina
Feb 11, 2013

Weekend getaway

When choosing a small upscale hotel not associated with the larger chains I expect wonderful things. The rooms were indeed comfortable, with delightful products in the bathroom, a very comfortable bed and room to move around. But when personal service is required this is where they should shine. A cup of tea was needed quickly at the end of the evening and although my husband was willing to get one himself downstairs, the bartender refused to provide him with one to take upstairs. They did finally have someone deliver one to us but it is the tone used by the waitstaff and the idea that coffee and tea was not easily available that was so frustrating without having to wait. Plenty of liquor for purchase in the room but no tea or coffee! That and having to wait in the lobby to have a room ready to be checked in when it was after 3 pm was a bit frustrating. However it is a lovely hotel and the location is wonderful if you are looking for something on the Upper East Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of fabulous shops just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNizzi
Business
Granger, Iowa
Jan 3, 2012

Girls trip to New York

Wonderful staff! Professional, pleasant, helpful, and personable!!!! Love them all! Wish we had more time to enjoy the spa as it looked fabulous! Our room was nice with a wonderful bed! The carpet in our room was in need of a more thorough vacumning as along the edges of the bed and furniture were not particulary clean. Ate in the hotel restaurant one morning for breakfast and it seemed understaffed as we waited quite a while for service and food. We only saw one waitress working. I enjoy diet soda rather than coffee in the morning and my soda was flat. I would go back to the Surrey for the customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chose your top five attractions to see and then have a list of alternatives. Some of the wait times for attractions changed our plans and it helped to be flexible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris N
Business
Charleston, S.C.
May 22, 2012

First visit at the Surrey

The Surrey is a first rate hotel. My suite, (which I did not request but was delighted with) could not have been nicer. Staff was very responsive. Concierge really helpful. The rooftop penthouse bar was a pleasant surprise and a nice view. The only less than excellent experience was the overpriced and under whelming french restaurant "Boulud" connected to the hotel. I would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

3 Brothers diner right around the corner on Madison ave from Surrey is a good choice for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 18, 2011

I liked it a lot.

The hotel was very nice. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, especially [...] who recommended an excellent hairdresser and made reservations for me at Cafe Boulud next door. (The restaurant was very expensive, which wouldn't have been a problem if the food were exceptional -- but it was only fair.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe Boulud is grossly over rated by Zagat. Prices are very high (not a surprise), but the main course wasn't better than the hospital cafeteria's cheap food I ate the next night when visiting a sick friend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyc native comes back to visit
Business
Evanston IL
Apr 14, 2011

Great upper east side getaway

For NYC the hotel room was very generous in size for a manhattan hotel. the kings size bed was fantastic at the end of the day and sank right into the bed!!!.. All marble rain shower again great at the end of walking all around the city. Staff ok. Would visit and stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cava great new place in times square and tao area great places for a nyc experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top