$566 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

The Surrey

5 stars
20 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Excellent

An Excellent hotel. The staff are excellent. Great location. The room was clean, I was very happy... See full review

  • Excellent Hotel
  • Aug 3, 2014
Perfect location for a long weekend

We come to NYC a few times a year and this time opted to stay on the upper east side for... See full review

  • gustavk
  • Apr 19, 2014
Find urban-sophisticate sanctuary and service overlooking Central Park

With an Upper East Side address, a gilded pedigree and super-sleek decor, The Surrey stands as a monument to great Manhattan hotels. Built in 1926 as a residence hotel, the original hosted celebrities such as Bette Davis and John F. Kennedy. Today, The Surrey is a statement in black-and-white sophistication inspired by fashion icons such as Coco Chanel, with service that rivals the best. Guests dine at a Michelin-star restaurant, lounge at the full-service spa and even receive personal bartending services in-room. 

Highlights

  • Michelin-star, French-infused dining at the renowned Cafe Boulud
  • Enjoy Bar Pleiades, or request personal bartending service in-room
  • Private rooftop garden overlooking Central Park

Location

Experience classic New York City chic on the Upper East Side, located at East 76th Street and Madison Avenue. Surrey guests can reach Central park, the Museum of Modern Art, the Natural History Museum and some of the best shopping on foot.

Rooms

Extra-large -- and extra-plush -- guest rooms in Coco Chanel black and white create signature chic at The Surrey. The hotel offers salon and suite accommodations, including a penthouse and presidential suite, plus extended-stay apartments. Amenities might include elements such as a hand-painted wardrobe, a fireplace, a private terrace, a soaking tub, a kitchen, a living room and magnificent views of Central Park and the Upper East Side. Pets even receive a pet robe.

Features

Earning a star in the prestigious Michelin guide and 3-star review in The New York Times, Cafe Boulud at The Surrey brings the best of French cuisine to the table at breakfast, brunch (Sundays), lunch and dinner. At Bar Pleiades, the Coco Chanel-inspired decor pleases as much as the cocktails. The Cocktail Program offers hotel guests personal bartender service for in-room cocktails.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Penn Station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Times Square (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Empire State Building (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business

  • Private dining rooms at Cafe Boulud for up to 40 guests (fees apply)
  • Additional event space for larger groups, plus hotel suites for intimate functions (fees apply)

Policies and fees
NOTE: Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program that includes complimentary wireless Internet access, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7744 -73.9639
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 19.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, W; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 33.30, MI, SW; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 16.18, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Surrey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Surrey Rooms

Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Luxurious 2 bedroom suite-2 bathrooms-Kitchen
Deluxe Salon 2 Queens - Accessib
Accessible-Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures
Grand Deluxe Salon King
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures-Samsung TV-Denon Ipod Dock
Deluxe Salon 2 Queens
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures-Samsung TV-Denon Ipod Dock
Ultra Deluxe Salon King
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures
Ultra Deluxe Salon 2 Queens
Fireplace-Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures
Grand Deluxe Suite - 1 Bdrm King
GRAND DELUXE KING SUITE MEASURES 600SF-56M2 SEPARATE LIVING ROOM AND DINING AREA SEATS 4
Ultra Deluxe Suite - 1 Bedroom K
ULTRA DLX SUITE-1 BDRM KING-LIVING RM-MARBLE BATH-QUEEN SOFABED-DEEP TUB-RAIN SHWR-DBL SINKS
Ultra Deluxe Three Bedroom Suite
1375 sq feet-3bedrms-3baths-kitchen-2 king beds-2 Queen beds
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Luxurious 2 bedroom suite, livingroom, 2 bathrooms - 940 sq feet
Presidential Suite (2Bedroom)
2 BEDROOM PRESIDENTIAL SUITE W/160 SQ FOOT TERRACE OVERLOOKING 76TH/CP
Presidential Suite - 1 King
Presidential Suite 2,200 sq ft w/160 sq ft terrace.
Penthouse Suite - 1 King
Penthouse Suite
Grand Deluxe Suite King - Park V
Complimentary wireless Internet-welcome amenity Daily international newspaper-shoe shine
Grand Deluxe Salon King - Partia
Description not provided
Deluxe Salon King
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures-Samsung TV-Denon Ipod Dock

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
TV
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.7 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • Barney's: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • City University of New York: 0.9 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.9 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.9 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.9 mi
  • Trump Tower: 1 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi

Dining

Cafe Boulud
Cafe Boulud boasts a menu inspired by Daniel Bouluds four culinary muses la tradtion - classic French cuisine - la saison - seasonal delicacies le potager - the vegetable garden and le voyage - the flavors of world cuisines. Behind the stove is the tal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for The Surrey

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Lou from Big Easy
New Orleans, LA
Feb 9, 2013

My New Fave NYC Hotel

This was my first stay at Surrey and I could not have been more impressed. My room was on the small side but it was exceedingly comfy. Many amenities. Bathroom only had a shower but it was unquestionably the best shower I've ever enjoyed anywhere. Bed, pillows and linens were premium. Hotel bar was active and inviting. I did not dine at the Daniel Boloud restaurant but it was awarded Michelin star - must be excellent. All in all, I will certainly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have concierge make resv for dinner at Elio's on 2nd Ave near 84th. Great Italian dining experience. Slightly upscale but a classic NYC scene. Tables must be hard to come by but we sat right down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNizzi
Granger, Iowa
Jan 3, 2012

Girls trip to New York

Wonderful staff! Professional, pleasant, helpful, and personable!!!! Love them all! Wish we had more time to enjoy the spa as it looked fabulous! Our room was nice with a wonderful bed! The carpet in our room was in need of a more thorough vacumning as along the edges of the bed and furniture were not particulary clean. Ate in the hotel restaurant one morning for breakfast and it seemed understaffed as we waited quite a while for service and food. We only saw one waitress working. I enjoy diet soda rather than coffee in the morning and my soda was flat. I would go back to the Surrey for the customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chose your top five attractions to see and then have a list of alternatives. Some of the wait times for attractions changed our plans and it helped to be flexible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dianne L
Atlanta
Jul 29, 2011

Elegant Hotel!

The hotel is in a great location on the Upper Eastside, one block from Central Park. The room looked recently renovated and prestine. There were no noise issues, whether it be from the street or adjoining rooms. The beds were VERY comfortable. One of the only problems we had was that when we went to check in at 3pm our room was not ready yet. We had to wait for about 30 minutes. The management not only offered us free drinks in their lounge, but later also sent us a cheese tray and bottle of wine. All was forgiven! Though the weather did not allow us to visit the roof lounge because it was closed(too hot or rain), it looked fabulous. We would definitely visit here again on our next trip to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Jul 20, 2011

Fantastic New York Family Vacation

Extremely friendly service. Very upscale hotel. Loved the large room and the bedding. Very nicely decorated. I have been to some 4 or 5 star hotels in NY with shoe box size rooms. This one was very different. Nice comfortable rooms. 10 minute taxi ride to Time Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropolitan Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2008

Good Location

The best feature was the location of the property. Only a block away from Central Park, and close to the Museum Mile. Accomodations were clean, although dated, and Staff were ok. Room Service was unavailable, and hotel restaurant was closed for service on one of the two days of our stay. Never saw the Concierge the whole time we were there, and were on our own for hunting down our meals and booking tours. For the price of the room per night, I would probably look around for a better deal. The value of our dollar on this hotel did not meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Micheal Kors shop (right across the street)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search