$361 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The Surrey

5 stars
20 East 76th Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Perfect location for a long weekend

We come to NYC a few times a year and this time opted to stay on the upper east side for... See full review

  • gustavk
  • Apr 19, 2014
SURREY HOTEL

We arrived at the hotel around 6PM. They gave us a room which we did not like. They were sld out... See full review

  • miss s
  • Mar 13, 2014
Find urban-sophisticate sanctuary and service overlooking Central Park

With an Upper East Side address, a gilded pedigree and super-sleek decor, The Surrey stands as a monument to great Manhattan hotels. Built in 1926 as a residence hotel, the original hosted celebrities such as Bette Davis and John F. Kennedy. Today, The Surrey is a statement in black-and-white sophistication inspired by fashion icons such as Coco Chanel, with service that rivals the best. Guests dine at a Michelin-star restaurant, lounge at the full-service spa and even receive personal bartending services in-room. 

Highlights

  • Michelin-star, French-infused dining at the renowned Cafe Boulud
  • Enjoy Bar Pleiades, or request personal bartending service in-room
  • Private rooftop garden overlooking Central Park

Location

Experience classic New York City chic on the Upper East Side, located at East 76th Street and Madison Avenue. Surrey guests can reach Central park, the Museum of Modern Art, the Natural History Museum and some of the best shopping on foot.

Rooms

Extra-large -- and extra-plush -- guest rooms in Coco Chanel black and white create signature chic at The Surrey. The hotel offers salon and suite accommodations, including a penthouse and presidential suite, plus extended-stay apartments. Amenities might include elements such as a hand-painted wardrobe, a fireplace, a private terrace, a soaking tub, a kitchen, a living room and magnificent views of Central Park and the Upper East Side. Pets even receive a pet robe.

Features

Earning a star in the prestigious Michelin guide and 3-star review in The New York Times, Cafe Boulud at The Surrey brings the best of French cuisine to the table at breakfast, brunch (Sundays), lunch and dinner. At Bar Pleiades, the Coco Chanel-inspired decor pleases as much as the cocktails. The Cocktail Program offers hotel guests personal bartender service for in-room cocktails.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Penn Station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Times Square (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Empire State Building (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business

  • Private dining rooms at Cafe Boulud for up to 40 guests (fees apply)
  • Additional event space for larger groups, plus hotel suites for intimate functions (fees apply)

Policies and fees
NOTE: Upon booking a suite at The Surrey, guests will receive the Complimentary Suite Program that includes complimentary wireless Internet access, daily international newspaper, shoe shine, and a Surrey welcome amenity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7744 -73.9639
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 19.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, W; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 33.30, MI, SW; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 16.18, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Surrey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Surrey Rooms

Ultra Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Luxurious 2 bedroom suite-2 bathrooms-Kitchen
Deluxe Salon 2 Queens - Accessib
Accessible-Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures
Grand Deluxe Salon King
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures-Samsung TV-Denon Ipod Dock
Deluxe Salon 2 Queens
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures-Samsung TV-Denon Ipod Dock
Ultra Deluxe Salon King
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures
Ultra Deluxe Salon 2 Queens
Fireplace-Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures
Grand Deluxe Suite - 1 Bdrm King
GRAND DELUXE KING SUITE MEASURES 600SF-56M2 SEPARATE LIVING ROOM AND DINING AREA SEATS 4
Ultra Deluxe Suite - 1 Bedroom K
ULTRA DLX SUITE-1 BDRM KING-LIVING RM-MARBLE BATH-QUEEN SOFABED-DEEP TUB-RAIN SHWR-DBL SINKS
Ultra Deluxe Three Bedroom Suite
1375 sq feet-3bedrms-3baths-kitchen-2 king beds-2 Queen beds
Grand Deluxe Two Bedroom Suite
Luxurious 2 bedroom suite, livingroom, 2 bathrooms - 940 sq feet
Presidential Suite (2Bedroom)
2 BEDROOM PRESIDENTIAL SUITE W/160 SQ FOOT TERRACE OVERLOOKING 76TH/CP
Presidential Suite - 1 King
Presidential Suite 2,200 sq ft w/160 sq ft terrace.
Penthouse Suite - 1 King
Penthouse Suite
Grand Deluxe Suite King - Park V
Complimentary wireless Internet-welcome amenity Daily international newspaper-shoe shine
Grand Deluxe Salon King - Partia
Description not provided
Deluxe Salon King
Duxiana Bed-Pratesi Terry-Upscale Amenities-Waterworks Fixtures-Samsung TV-Denon Ipod Dock

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
TV
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.4 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.4 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.4 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.4 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Beresford: 0.7 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.7 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.8 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.8 mi
  • Barney's: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • City University of New York: 0.9 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.9 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.9 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.9 mi
  • Trump Tower: 1 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 1 mi
  • Verdi Square: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi

Dining

Cafe Boulud
Cafe Boulud boasts a menu inspired by Daniel Bouluds four culinary muses la tradtion - classic French cuisine - la saison - seasonal delicacies le potager - the vegetable garden and le voyage - the flavors of world cuisines. Behind the stove is the tal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for The Surrey

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Sep 27, 2011

Poor example of service. Good example of neglect

This charmles hotel will not let you down, if you are looking to be made to feel third class. Expense no option, as basic service levels repeatedly fail to deliver. By far the best over priced example of a hotel not caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dgale
Cape Cod
Mar 12, 2012

Front Desk Check - in Extremely Rude!!!

When I arrived at hotel @ 11 PM after 4 1/2 hr drive, I was told I had no reservation. I gave the clerk both the # and the Surrey confirmation # he said it wasn't in his computer.I said the room was prepaid for 2 nights. He told me I must have wrong hotel and he turned his back to me and just left me standing at the counter. There was no cell phone service in lobby of hotel so I had to go outside and call my daughter to send the email to my phone of the whole confirmation. I returned inside and told him that it should not be up to me to have to prove this to him and he told me that it "shouldn"t be up to me to prove anything.We don't have you in our system and we are sold out." I told him that I wanted to speak to a manager and that he was the rudest person that I have ever dealt with in the hospitality industry. I explained that I had just driven non-stop from Cape Cod because my daughter had gone into labor 3 weeks early.After I mentioned manager he found a room for one night, but did not apologize. He made me feel as though I was lucky to be staying at his hotel! I left for hospital. When I returned at 6 am he was still there and informed me that he found my reservation so that I could stay the second night. This man actually acted like he was doing me a favor. I had already showed him that when I first tried to check in, but obviously, at the Surrey, the guest is not treated as a guest but made to feel totally uncomfortable! I would never stay at the Surrey again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Sep 27, 2011

Poor example of service. Good example of neglect

This charmles hotel will not let you down, if you are looking to be made to feel third class. Expense no option, as basic service levels repeatedly fail to deliver. By far the best over priced example of a hotel not caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 29, 2008

Shabby

Huge room, noisy A/C, diffident staff, odor of fish and garlic from the restaurant - ok for eating, but not sleeping. Enjoyed location in Upper East Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OH
Jun 20, 2011

Nice But......

The hotel decor is very nice and the rooms are fabulous however, there is so much nose in the walls of this hotel it woke me up every hour on the hour. The pillows were very hard and gave me a sore neck for days after my trip. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. Just for the money $370 per night, I expected to sleep like a baby no loose sleep. Not many restaurants around the hotel. Very nice area in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 29, 2008

Shabby

Huge room, noisy A/C, diffident staff, odor of fish and garlic from the restaurant - ok for eating, but not sleeping. Enjoyed location in Upper East Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2008

Good Location

The best feature was the location of the property. Only a block away from Central Park, and close to the Museum Mile. Accomodations were clean, although dated, and Staff were ok. Room Service was unavailable, and hotel restaurant was closed for service on one of the two days of our stay. Never saw the Concierge the whole time we were there, and were on our own for hunting down our meals and booking tours. For the price of the room per night, I would probably look around for a better deal. The value of our dollar on this hotel did not meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Micheal Kors shop (right across the street)

Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2008

Good Location

The best feature was the location of the property. Only a block away from Central Park, and close to the Museum Mile. Accomodations were clean, although dated, and Staff were ok. Room Service was unavailable, and hotel restaurant was closed for service on one of the two days of our stay. Never saw the Concierge the whole time we were there, and were on our own for hunting down our meals and booking tours. For the price of the room per night, I would probably look around for a better deal. The value of our dollar on this hotel did not meet my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Micheal Kors shop (right across the street)

Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OH
Jun 20, 2011

Nice But......

The hotel decor is very nice and the rooms are fabulous however, there is so much nose in the walls of this hotel it woke me up every hour on the hour. The pillows were very hard and gave me a sore neck for days after my trip. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. Just for the money $370 per night, I expected to sleep like a baby no loose sleep. Not many restaurants around the hotel. Very nice area in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Surrey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
global travel
North Carolina
Feb 11, 2013

Weekend getaway

When choosing a small upscale hotel not associated with the larger chains I expect wonderful things. The rooms were indeed comfortable, with delightful products in the bathroom, a very comfortable bed and room to move around. But when personal service is required this is where they should shine. A cup of tea was needed quickly at the end of the evening and although my husband was willing to get one himself downstairs, the bartender refused to provide him with one to take upstairs. They did finally have someone deliver one to us but it is the tone used by the waitstaff and the idea that coffee and tea was not easily available that was so frustrating without having to wait. Plenty of liquor for purchase in the room but no tea or coffee! That and having to wait in the lobby to have a room ready to be checked in when it was after 3 pm was a bit frustrating. However it is a lovely hotel and the location is wonderful if you are looking for something on the Upper East Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of fabulous shops just around the corner.

Back to menu Return to top