$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
175 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
The Strand is a new boutique style hotel nestled in Midtown Manhattan. Located on 37th Street between Avenue of the Americas (6th Ave.) and Fifth Avenue, the Strand is a new contemporary building designed by architect Gene Kaufman. The Strand is within steps of Times Square, Broadway/Theater/ fashion districts, Bryant Park, shopping on Madison and 5th avenues, Empire States building, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center. Guests can enjoy complimentary high speed internet access, WiFi, newspaper and on site-fitness center.The hotel combines 177 well appointed guestrooms featuring working desk, cordless two-line telephones, in-room safe, flat screen TV with HD channels, iPod docking station, alarm clock, bathrobe, sleepers, iron and ironing board. In addition, our bilingual concierge and front office agents will assist all guests with their every need. The top of the Strand bar & lounge is one of the hotels signature features, with a retractable rooftop on the 21st floor boasting stellar views of the Empire State Building. The restaurant includes indoor garden seating, a bar and a sidewalk cafe. The glamorous public space features a sleek grand lobby with limestone flooring and a captivating stone-and glass circular staircase with a two story water fall cascading down to the lower level. The ultra-luxurious guestrooms features warm-hued walls and green and black rugs to form an understated backdrop for mahogany furniture with silver detailing, asymmetrical lounge chairs and iconic black & white fashion photography from Conde Nasts Archives including images from Vogue and Vanity Fair. Guest bathrooms feature a green slate floor with custom mahogany vanity with marble top, large format wall tile and faucet fittings emerging from the wall. To further the atmosphere of sublime luxury and comfort, guest rooms feature sumptuous pillow-top beds with

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 175
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sic em
San Antonio texas
Jan 6, 2013

NYC 2013

Everyone was very helpful and nice. Greeted everytime. I did not like that there was no coffee maker in the room (had to ask for one) , no microwave, or refrigerator we could use. THey had very expensive drinks and snacks available in the room, however, not worth the price. THe location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many NYC main attractions are close by.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 20, 2010

The Strand New York

The hotel staff was kind and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little small which is normal in New York. My only real complaint is that it did not have a restaurant so you could not get room service. They served a continental breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:00 am. I am an early riser and this was a problem for me because I had to wait to get a cup of coffee. I could have waited to eat but I want coffee when I wake up and would rather be able to stay in the comfort of my room without having to get dressed to go downstairs. I told the check out staff about my concern when leaving the hotel on the final day. That is when they told me that they would have delivered a coffee maker to my room on request. HOWEVR, the hotel did not have a book stating this option and it was not posted anywhere. I only had two printed pieces of paper on the dresser. I had no idea this was an option and that would have made a big difference to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the double decker bus tours. You have three loops and each one has a tour guide who gives you history on the areas you tour. It was amazing and you got to see so much. I never would have been able to see that much of New York without the bus tour. You can get on and off the bus throughout the tour whenever you want to explore.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 20, 2010

The Strand New York

The hotel staff was kind and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little small which is normal in New York. My only real complaint is that it did not have a restaurant so you could not get room service. They served a continental breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:00 am. I am an early riser and this was a problem for me because I had to wait to get a cup of coffee. I could have waited to eat but I want coffee when I wake up and would rather be able to stay in the comfort of my room without having to get dressed to go downstairs. I told the check out staff about my concern when leaving the hotel on the final day. That is when they told me that they would have delivered a coffee maker to my room on request. HOWEVR, the hotel did not have a book stating this option and it was not posted anywhere. I only had two printed pieces of paper on the dresser. I had no idea this was an option and that would have made a big difference to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the double decker bus tours. You have three loops and each one has a tour guide who gives you history on the areas you tour. It was amazing and you got to see so much. I never would have been able to see that much of New York without the bus tour. You can get on and off the bus throughout the tour whenever you want to explore.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jocan73
Sarasota, FL
Sep 16, 2013

Guys Weekend

The view was amazing! The rooftop bar was amazing. They had an amazing DJ playing along with the view of the Empire State Building. Staff was all very helpful & friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie B
Cork, Ireland
Nov 29, 2013

Shopping break

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The location was ideal, near Macy's, within walking distance of Times Square and some lovely restaurants. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The room, while on the small side was perfect for our stay and more importantly was very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jun 28, 2010

Boutique chic hotel in heart of midtown

This hotel's location is a great jumping off point to Time Square and 5th/6th Avenue Shopping. It's on a side street, so it was quiet as far as the big city goes. The decor was art deco and very comfortable. I know its an older building and only has 2 elevators, but, I did it find it annoying that it would bypass the Lobby floor as it went from the LL or SC to the rooms above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 5 short blocks from the Empire State Building and about 7 blocks from Time Square, less than a block from 5th Avenue shopping.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kezza
The Strand, NYC
Apr 2, 2013

girls week away

We were really pleased with the view of the empire state building from our room. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The location was excellent as we were only 3 streets away from the empire, which was very useful when out and about for getting your bearings. We did lots of sightseeing and shopping, plus we went on a couple of organised trips. We would definitely return and stay at the Strand again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siri and Stine
Norway
Oct 5, 2013

With a view to the Empire State Building

My best friend and I had a one week stay at The Strand. The location is perfect with walking distance to The Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Grand Central station, Apple Store, St.Patrick's Cathedral and Central park. The hotelroom in ninth floor had panoramic view to the Empire State building, and from the roof top bar the view is amazing. The staff was very friendly, and eager to assist us in every way. We used the subway a lot, which is really recommendable. It's easy and a lot faster than taking taxi because of the very heavy New York traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try out the restaurants Nobu, STK and Buddakan.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jun 28, 2010

Boutique chic hotel in heart of midtown

This hotel's location is a great jumping off point to Time Square and 5th/6th Avenue Shopping. It's on a side street, so it was quiet as far as the big city goes. The decor was art deco and very comfortable. I know its an older building and only has 2 elevators, but, I did it find it annoying that it would bypass the Lobby floor as it went from the LL or SC to the rooms above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Only 5 short blocks from the Empire State Building and about 7 blocks from Time Square, less than a block from 5th Avenue shopping.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xixi0316
Columbia, Missouri
Apr 30, 2013

It's okay.

The room is clean. Good location. Water temperature in the bathroom works funny; it' started extremely hot, but dropped to normal when you let the water run for like 10 minutes. The roof top bar didn't match my expectation. I will recommend going to a bar near Time Square rather than hanging out among so many business people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top