$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
244 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
Owned by Atlantic Stars Hotels & Cruises, The Strand is a fashionable New York institution, in keeping with its proximity to the famed Fashion District. Spa-like bathrooms adorn finely appointed rooms and suites, while the hotel's rooftop lounge - the Top of the Strand - was named Best Year-Round Rooftop Bar by New York Magazine. Guests are greeted with classic Conde Nast photography in the lobby, and the bistro is headed up by Chef Jason Tilmann, serving exceptional American fare in a welcoming environment.
Key facts
  • 177 guestrooms
  • 3 conference and event spaces
  • 21 floors
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Strand Bistro
  • Rooftop bar: Top of the Strand
  • Complimentary newspapers in the lobby (New York Times and Wall Street Journal)
Neighborhood
New York's trendy Midtown Fashion District is just minutes from Times Square, the Theater District and more Big Apple attractions. Numerous flagship retail stores and wholesalers stretch across one square mile here, and The Strand lies at the center of the action. Head to nearby Bryant Park for a green oasis and events like the summer film festival, jugglers, and performances of renowned Shakespeare plays. Penn Station is a short walk away and serves as a gateway to the rest of the city.
Hints and tips
Plush bathrobes are included in all guest rooms, but be sure to ask about complimentary microfiber slippers for the ultimate in comfort during your stay.

Wine lovers will adore the Complimentary Wine Hour at the Strand Bistro-which serves hotel guests only, Monday to Friday at 4:00pm.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Town
May 23, 2010

Would never go back!!! A design disaster

We did not enjoy this hotel AT ALL. The Strand advertises itself as this sleek, modern space, which it tries to be. But nothing can compensate for the fact they have only 2 small elevators serving 20 floors, including the popular roof bar's guests, and - listen to this - the service staff (yes, with the trolleys, luggage, dry cleaning, supply boxes for the roof bar, etc.) ALL share these 2 small elevators. The result? You wait, sometime up to 8-10 minutes for a ride. We were in the 18th floor, so very little choice there. When you finally make it into one, you share with loads of people and stop at almost every floor, especially in the morning and late afternoon. The second bad point is the breakfast. It is nice to have it thrown in - but the room currently allocated for it (they claim it is temporary) is far too small for the amount of guests, the replenishing of foods on the one tiny buffet serving everyone is slow, so there always is something missing. The food itself is very acceptable: bagels, fruit (if you are lucky), small sandwiches, bread, cream cheese, jams, coffee/tea, cereals (although here again the selection varies, you may have to settle for sugary kiddies ones). Extremely lucky if you also get the delicious yogurt and granola (they are snatched first, I think). In short, as my husband described it: Refugees Camp Breakfast. Disgusting, we thought. After 2 hellish experiences we nearly gave up but we then discovered (no one bothered to tell us) that there was another room to use (but no buffet, you have to go back and forth, but it is at least quiet!) They do provide free copies of the New York Times (which is great - yet not on Sunday). There is free wi fi.The location is good, in the garment district, between 5th and 6th Avenue. The design (in terms of colours etc) is very pleasant. The room (they upgraded us) was acceptable size but I dread to think what is the size of a standard room. Housekeeping needs to improve:One day our room was still undone by 3pm, other times we found pieces of paper on the carpet, and generally a chaotic arrangement of our private items. If you are used to, and happy with, 3 star hotels, do not mind lots of people all the time in the far too small public areas (lobby also looks like a refugee campsite 70% of the time) - you may enjoy it. But if you like your comforts, hate waiting for elevators, and squeezing in with ten people each time - do not even think about it. We definitely will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We loved the Red Cat, vibey and good food in Chelsea (on 10th Av bet 23rd and 24th) and Telepan (W 69th street), very good organic, fresh cuisine.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PandaPal
Raleigh, NC
Jul 16, 2014

fantastic staff in a great location

Everything perfect from our first step through the door opened by a welcoming doorman. Centrally located in midtown Manhattan. Elegantly appointed rooms, rooftop lounge with spectacular view of hoe Empire State Building. Unbelievable staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Magcz
Ann Arbor Mi
Jan 7, 2014

A great mid town hotel!

This is a hip, sophisticated little European style hotel. Nicely decorated, great restaurant. Rooms are a little tight, but that's typical euro style as well. The staff was amazing. Our flight was cancelled due to bad weather and we we're able to stay an extra 2 days with no problem. Lots of staff to take care of every need. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't take hop on/hop off bus in the winter. There is no heat on the bus. We almost froze!,,,

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve's
Indianapolis
Jan 2, 2014

Nothing special

I won't say if you want a great location and nothing special, this is for you, because it's not just "nothing special," it's sub par. Showers are hot, but not steamy; rooms and big enough, but not spacious; staff gets the job done, but is complacent. At the end of the day, the location is the best part about the hotel and the bed was quite comfortable. The hotel epitomizes the "new age" sleek-is-better-than-classy idea in hotels and restaurants, but at the end of the day, nothing beats quality. I'd take an older, well-put together hotel over this anyday. The top of the strand has an amazing view. I recommend you do visit it and enjoy a $15 light on the liquor cocktail and have a seat on one of their couches that you can never quite get comfortable on nor stop shifting your weight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Bowery Hotel

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robert16
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Quick Trip to NYC

We had friends visiting from The Netherlands so we traveled from Boston to NYC to spend some time with them before they traveled back home. I chose The Strand because of the reviews and the pricing. I am never one to complain but I did have a few issues. The first issue being that the room we had was small even by NYC standards. I was amazed at how small the room was because of all the positive reviews regarding how spacious they were. Secondly our room was 401 and overlooked an alley which amplified every street and club noises to the 10th degree. There is a club that is open cranking the bass till wee hours of the mooring. I can still here that bass today LOL. Thirdly, we called down to room service and ordered a pot of coffee for 2 which we do every morning at any hotel we stayed at. We were informed that brunch had ended at 10am and that being a Sunday they could not accommodate our request even though it was just coffee. Finally upon check out we asked that the doorman please get us a cab. We were told that they do not hail cabs because it is difficult to do so at their location which is not frequented by empty cabs. ???? HUH???? Oh yes I almost forgot. When we checked into the hotel our room wasn't ready - no problem - we asked them to check our bags and we left for a day in NYC. Upon our return 6+ hours later we discovered our luggage directly next to the door unattended. We were told they were being "watched" I would not stay here again as there are so many other hotels in NYC that one should not have to settle for mediocrity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Broke Columbia Mom
Hutchinson, Kansas
Sep 19, 2013

Disappointment

The pictures on the website are very misleading. The rooms were very small and crowded. The cooling system worked poorly. There wasn't even a bucket or place to get ice. Staff was wonderful with the exception of concierge. If they had concierge I wouldn't have known it. As visitors to the fab city of New York I would expect them to have some information available and be more present to their customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hop Stop App. gives great assist for the subway system.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 17, 2010

I felt stranded at "The Strand"

On a recent business trip to NY City, I stayed at the Strand in midtown. While the facility is new and was clean, the amenities left a lot to be desired. They do not have a restaurant, and offer a very limited continental breakfast in the AM. In addition, they have not quite figured out how to service their clientele with a wake up call, or housekeeping. The wake up call never did come, and I had to call to request my room be serviced. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ANH24
Boston, MA
Dec 30, 2013

Good but not superb value

Clean and modern with nice rooftop bar, but a few shortcomings where I expected more service for the price: room wasn't ready for on time check in, our toilet ran all night and we didn't have enough hot water for two showers in the morning. We told the front desk on checkout and I expected at least a token accommodation (free breakfasts, even coffee?) but was offered little more than basic acknowledgement. Again, not the end of the world, but I would expect more for $500 a night. Location was definitely convenient, but there's a Marriottt adjacent (literally attached) for much cheaper price where I imagine service would be comparable. I would stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank SIOR
New Haven, CT
Mar 9, 2014

Weekend in NY

All of the staff at the Strand was friendly and efficient. The location is very good, 10 minute walk from Grand Central. The only downside was room size. The room had a king bed, one chair and a very small closet which couldn't hold our luggage. Having suitcases on the floor made for tight quarters. I would stay there again but would look for a room with two queens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Research restaurants before going to NY and make a reservation.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sic em
San Antonio texas
Jan 6, 2013

NYC 2013

Everyone was very helpful and nice. Greeted everytime. I did not like that there was no coffee maker in the room (had to ask for one) , no microwave, or refrigerator we could use. THey had very expensive drinks and snacks available in the room, however, not worth the price. THe location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many NYC main attractions are close by.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search