$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
175 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
Owned by Atlantic Stars Hotels & Cruises, The Strand is a fashionable New York institution, in keeping with its proximity to the famed Fashion District. Spa-like bathrooms adorn finely appointed rooms and suites, while the hotel's rooftop lounge - the Top of the Strand - was named Best Year-Round Rooftop Bar by New York Magazine. Guests are greeted with classic Conde Nast photography in the lobby, and the bistro is headed up by Chef Jason Tilmann, serving exceptional American fare in a welcoming environment.
Key facts
  • 177 guestrooms
  • 3 conference and event spaces
  • 21 floors
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Strand Bistro
  • Rooftop bar: Top of the Strand
  • Complimentary newspapers in the lobby (New York Times and Wall Street Journal)
Neighborhood
New York's trendy Midtown Fashion District is just minutes from Times Square, the Theater District and more Big Apple attractions. Numerous flagship retail stores and wholesalers stretch across one square mile here, and The Strand lies at the center of the action. Head to nearby Bryant Park for a green oasis and events like the summer film festival, jugglers, and performances of renowned Shakespeare plays. Penn Station is a short walk away and serves as a gateway to the rest of the city.
Hints and tips
Plush bathrobes are included in all guest rooms, but be sure to ask about complimentary microfiber slippers for the ultimate in comfort during your stay.

Wine lovers will adore the Complimentary Wine Hour at the Strand Bistro-which serves hotel guests only, Monday to Friday at 4:00pm.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 175
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger24
Madison, WI
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect long weekend for a couple

We booked our room only a few days before our trip, and it was perfect! Location of the hotel was central to everything, easy to get to other parts of the city via transit as needed. Staff were welcoming and attentive every time we needed something (a call to the desk asking about hot water for tea around 7pm one evening resulted in a full tea service tray and an electric kettle being delivered to our room within 5-10 minutes), the room was very clean and had everything we could have asked for (the chocolates left on our pillow after the turndown service were even vegan!). We were able to print our boarding passes in the computer room, and didn't use the workout room but it looked like it would have been sufficient had we wanted to. Only small complaint was that due to the room being one of the smaller ones in the hotel, the door to the hallway opened up very close to the bed and we could hear every word spoken by our neighbors whenever they left or returned to their rooms. That being said, it was never a problem--never woke us up in the middle of the night or anything, and the room was otherwise very quiet with no street noise. (We had requested a quiet room and were obliged.) View was great, even from a non-premium room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Have the hotel arrange for your transport to the airport! You have to schedule it a minimum of 2 hours before you need it, and it costs a bit more than a regular cab, but it's worth it. ($55 plus tip to LGA) The driver was very courteous and arrived early to pick us up.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dodger Town
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2010

The place to be!

New,contemporary,elegant,and in the right location for a trip to Manhattan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A a few blocks from Time Square, two blocks from the Empire State Building, short walk for dinning and shopping!

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie's Nana
Laguna Beach, CA
Dec 10, 2013

Nice New York Stay

The Strand was a wonderful hotel and met all of our expectations. The staff is professional, friendly and very helpful. Our room was very large considering the size of most New York hotel rooms and very clean. We will definitely check the availability of The Strand Hotel when in New York again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the roof top bar. View is spectacular, food and drinks are great.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bugatzi
New York
Jan 8, 2013

Great stay

Overall it was a great experience the room was small but Clean. Staff was good and the Location is the best. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Apr 25, 2010

Perfect

Everything about the hotel was wonderful. It was in a great spot, we were able to walk everywhere, including to a broadway show, central park, restaurants, and all of the nice shopping areas. The hotel staff was delightful, both helpful in every way possible and as friendly as could be. The room was just the right size, nice bedding, nice bathroom, good lighting. it also had a roof top bar with a beautiful view. We throughly enjoyed our stay here and will recommend it to everyone. **And a bonus, we were able to check into our room 6 hours early which was incredibly nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
W
Ireland
Jan 1, 2011

Just back and loved The Strand

We made a point of letting the staff know that this was our 5th visit to NYC and this hotel was by far the best we stayed in, all members of staff we met were so nice, all very upbeat and friendly, nothing was a problem, we asked for a coffee maker which was sent up immedietly, often asked about taxis etc and advice was always good, they accomodated a late check out without a problem, room was spotless,bed was so comfy, bathroom was spotless which is a big factor for me in a hotel room. The hotel is on a side st which works because it is quiet at night and you will sleep without hearing all the honking and fire engines constantly which has happened to us in other hotels. Great location,turn right out of hotel and Herald Square & Macy's is 2-3 blocks up. Restaurant food & drinks were very nice if a little expensive but that would be my only gripe but there are lots of diners & delis found locally if trying to stick to a budget, Breakfast buffet was great to kick start the morning, roof top bar was great, hotel also held onto baggage foc which we have had to pay a ridiculous and unnecesary charge per bag in other NY hotels. I could keep going on about how nice the staff were, i'm a fairly relaxed kind of person and don't like too much fuss but at same time when you pay NY hotel prices you expect a certain standard and that excactly what you get here, an excellent standard in a relaxed & genuine friendly manner. If and when i do go back to NY i will book here again without hesitation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Feras
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Excellent Service when you least expect it

My wife and I were out for the evening and when we returned we found they fixed the bed. I would not expect this in the evening times especially that we checked in that day and the room was already clean. However, while the gesture was nice, but I don't like the fact they would go into the room when I don't expect it in case I left things out. Fixing the bed is nice, but the trash was not picked up when they got into the room anyway to fix the bed. I found it odd. They are very quick in attending to us, excellent service at the door as we checked in and out, food at the restaurant was excellent for the breakfast. The bar on the roof on Saturday was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

it's a short walk to the Fashion District as well as Time Square and other main areas ti see in Manhattan

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Apr 25, 2010

Perfect

Everything about the hotel was wonderful. It was in a great spot, we were able to walk everywhere, including to a broadway show, central park, restaurants, and all of the nice shopping areas. The hotel staff was delightful, both helpful in every way possible and as friendly as could be. The room was just the right size, nice bedding, nice bathroom, good lighting. it also had a roof top bar with a beautiful view. We throughly enjoyed our stay here and will recommend it to everyone. **And a bonus, we were able to check into our room 6 hours early which was incredibly nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Jul 14, 2011

Fabulous City Getaway!

This hotel was sooo beautiful!! The hotel staff were so accomodating and welcoming each time we came and went. They made us feel safe and at home. This is an upscale hotel with a perfect location in the middle of Manhattan. The Empire State building is within walking distance and the subway is about 4 blocks away. The complimentary breakfast was a major plus, as not many hotels offer one in NYC. And the food was delicious. They served fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, plain yogurt with dried fruit and granola, fresh pastries, cold meats, juice, coffee, etc. We also used the complimentary business center to print off flight information before leaving, which was very helpful. Complimentary internet was also a major reason we stayed at this hotel. It was very helpful with making reservations and looking up directions. The room was small, and not much room at all for luggage, but it was comfortable and well-furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we slept well, as it was quiet. The staff was so nice every day to leave us fresh towels, clean the bathroom, make our bed, and even turn it down at night. The elevators were fast and smooth. We never had trouble with them being "crowded" as other reviews said. One thing we would have liked better would have been the ability to retrieve ice for ourselves. We were thirsty coming back from our excursions, and the hotel required the staff to bring us ice. We felt bad because we needed cold water to drink, and requested it often. And I can't forget to mention that the rooftop area was Amazing!!! Even better than we expected! You can't even put into words how breathtaking the view is of the Empire State Building. The hotel designer really did a fantastic job of combining city life with a fabulous view! I would defintely recommend this hotel to anyone, and we hope to go back someday soon. Thank you Strand Hotel for making our vacation a memory to last a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

These are all tips I wanted to pass around to first-time NYC visitors: First off, plan to walk a lot and be in shape when you go to NYC. There are not many benches to stop and rest. Check out Chinatown for great deals on just about anything, purses, watches, jewelry, etc. Also, the 7-day Unlimited ride Metrocard for the subway is a great deal, just $29.00 for unimited rides all over Manhattan. Easy to purchase at any vending machine in the subway. Compared to the cabs, which cost about $10 to go 4 blocks, the Metrocard is great. I recommend Grotta Azzurra in Little Italy for dinner (best lasagna I have ever had!), and Delmonico's in the financial district has amazing steaks and famous Lobster Newburg. For a couple without kids, the American Museum of Natural History didn't take as long as expected. We liked the dinosaur exhibits, but the rest was just a quick walk-thru. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, however, was one we could have spent DAYS at. It is huge, and very interesting. The mummy exhibit was very cool. Also, if you go on the 4th of July, spend the extra $$ and book a dinner cruise for the fireworks. It was Amazing! Statue Cruises was $150 per person and worth every penny! Also, take a Clipper Cruise in the South Street Seaport at night. It has marvelous views! Make sure to book Statue of Liberty tickets to climb to the crown at least 5 months ahead! We did and it was totally worth it! It allowed us to skip the massive lines into the security tent and we got right on the first boat. And it was totally worth the climb to the crown! They only allow 240 out of 3500 people per day to climb to the crown so make sure to book ahead online. If you want to be on the NBC Today show in the morning, get in line at 4AM or earlier. For Broadway, we didn't enjoy Wicked as much as the Cirque du Soleil. One last thing, [...] was our Heroes of the World Trade Center guide with Uncle Sam's Tours. She was a phenomenal guide. Her stories of 9/11 were very touching. We loved NYC!!

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Walcro
Coventry - Great Britain
Jun 25, 2014

The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could not fault this hotel, the location is perfect and the staff were excellent, the roof top bar is brilliant just the place to sit and have as relaxing drink after a busy day in New York with a great view of the Empire State Building, we would not hesitate in coming back to the Strand and would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top