$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
175 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
The Strand is a new boutique style hotel nestled in Midtown Manhattan. Located on 37th Street between Avenue of the Americas (6th Ave.) and Fifth Avenue, the Strand is a new contemporary building designed by architect Gene Kaufman. The Strand is within steps of Times Square, Broadway/Theater/ fashion districts, Bryant Park, shopping on Madison and 5th avenues, Empire States building, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center. Guests can enjoy complimentary high speed internet access, WiFi, newspaper and on site-fitness center.The hotel combines 177 well appointed guestrooms featuring working desk, cordless two-line telephones, in-room safe, flat screen TV with HD channels, iPod docking station, alarm clock, bathrobe, sleepers, iron and ironing board. In addition, our bilingual concierge and front office agents will assist all guests with their every need. The top of the Strand bar & lounge is one of the hotels signature features, with a retractable rooftop on the 21st floor boasting stellar views of the Empire State Building. The restaurant includes indoor garden seating, a bar and a sidewalk cafe. The glamorous public space features a sleek grand lobby with limestone flooring and a captivating stone-and glass circular staircase with a two story water fall cascading down to the lower level. The ultra-luxurious guestrooms features warm-hued walls and green and black rugs to form an understated backdrop for mahogany furniture with silver detailing, asymmetrical lounge chairs and iconic black & white fashion photography from Conde Nasts Archives including images from Vogue and Vanity Fair. Guest bathrooms feature a green slate floor with custom mahogany vanity with marble top, large format wall tile and faucet fittings emerging from the wall. To further the atmosphere of sublime luxury and comfort, guest rooms feature sumptuous pillow-top beds with

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
masp
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2013

Pre cruise hotel

We enjoyed everyone at the Hotel. It was clean, had a great location to everything and the personnel were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth silva
Miami Florida
Jan 21, 2014

Couldn't have picked a better stay!

Everything was perfect from start to finish! Staff was extremely friendly to open all doors at all times! Room was clean, modern, and size was a good fit for us. Good location as it was in between everything in the city! Great stay & would def stay again if I ever decided to visit NY again! NO COMPLAINS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller010203
Pennsylvania
Mar 9, 2014

Nice hotel

It's a nice hotel, but it's a little overrated by price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Tam
Perth, Australia
Jul 5, 2013

Terrific city visit

From the moment we were met at the door till the moment we left we were treated as valued guests. The location was perfect, the hotel itself ideal and the staff fantastic. The only minor negative was how expensive the rooftop bar was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine away from the Time Square area for better value.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nearly retired
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Incredible trip

It was a cut above what we expected. The staff was on alert to our needs from the time we checked in, till they held the door open and hailed a cab for our departure. The food in the restaurant was excellent and better priced than much of the competition in the area. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see...and even Penn station was nearby for additional trips. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Bryant park. It's just 2 streets over and with all the shops, an ice rink, and eateries...it's well worth the trip

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Escaypee
DC
Nov 15, 2011

I Love This Hotel

No, wait! This is my own personal hotel and I should only really share this with friends! Staff was wonderful, our room was very nice and we had a delightful stay. There was construction ongoing outside and next door that might hamper some enjoyment and if there were noisy neighbors, one might have a difficult time. The only downside was that our TV changer and telephone did not work. We ended up unplugging the TV to turn it off and using speaker phone to call the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tye and Guy
San Antonio
Dec 2, 2013

Stellar staff

From the moment the car pulled up in front of The Strand we were treated like honored guests. The doorman was our first contact and was so very nice and likable (Russian accent so even though I understood him perfectly I did not catch his name which is my only regret). The manager and young lady at the front desk were so fun and upgraded our room to a fantastic view of the Empire State building. The staff in the bistro and rooftop lounge were also very pleasant. Loved staying here. Close to many things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

MACY'S, 5TH AVE, TIME SQUARE, BRYANT PARK

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glaz
Business
Ft. Myers, Fl
Jun 23, 2014

Quick NYC stay

Great place at reasonable price. A safe street close to all but not a lot on the street itself

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jun 20, 2011

Great location, great price

The hotel staff is very friendly. This is the second time I stay in the hotel and definitely not my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Find restaurants or cafes in the Village or SoHo.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheFlyingSquirrel
Tampa, FL
May 28, 2013

Quietest room in NYC

Went to NYC for a quick visit with friends for Memorial Day weekend. We chose The Strand for it's value and location. We found the room to be well appointed, clean, and most importantly - silent. A good night's sleep in the heart of midtown is a rarity. I highly suggest requesting a room on the air shaft side - you don't need a view, you have the rooftop bar for that. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top