$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
244 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
Owned by Atlantic Stars Hotels & Cruises, The Strand is a fashionable New York institution, in keeping with its proximity to the famed Fashion District. Spa-like bathrooms adorn finely appointed rooms and suites, while the hotel's rooftop lounge - the Top of the Strand - was named Best Year-Round Rooftop Bar by New York Magazine. Guests are greeted with classic Conde Nast photography in the lobby, and the bistro is headed up by Chef Jason Tilmann, serving exceptional American fare in a welcoming environment.
Key facts
  • 177 guestrooms
  • 3 conference and event spaces
  • 21 floors
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Strand Bistro
  • Rooftop bar: Top of the Strand
  • Complimentary newspapers in the lobby (New York Times and Wall Street Journal)
Neighborhood
New York's trendy Midtown Fashion District is just minutes from Times Square, the Theater District and more Big Apple attractions. Numerous flagship retail stores and wholesalers stretch across one square mile here, and The Strand lies at the center of the action. Head to nearby Bryant Park for a green oasis and events like the summer film festival, jugglers, and performances of renowned Shakespeare plays. Penn Station is a short walk away and serves as a gateway to the rest of the city.
Hints and tips
Plush bathrobes are included in all guest rooms, but be sure to ask about complimentary microfiber slippers for the ultimate in comfort during your stay.

Wine lovers will adore the Complimentary Wine Hour at the Strand Bistro-which serves hotel guests only, Monday to Friday at 4:00pm.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boulder Matt
Business
Colorado
Apr 5, 2010

Wow

The staff was exceptionally wonderful. . . I haven't lived in NYC for a few years, but this hotel epitomizes the unique standard of service that one expects to find in in the city that is missing in most of the rest of the country. Truly "service professionals": they were discreet, friendly, competent, happy, unpretentious. . . I had an spectacular room with an amazing view of mid-town, and although I wouldn't expect to be as lucky with the view on every visit, the room decor and cleanliness was superb. Breakfast was a bit of a ho-hom let-down- banal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Apr 25, 2010

Perfect

Everything about the hotel was wonderful. It was in a great spot, we were able to walk everywhere, including to a broadway show, central park, restaurants, and all of the nice shopping areas. The hotel staff was delightful, both helpful in every way possible and as friendly as could be. The room was just the right size, nice bedding, nice bathroom, good lighting. it also had a roof top bar with a beautiful view. We throughly enjoyed our stay here and will recommend it to everyone. **And a bonus, we were able to check into our room 6 hours early which was incredibly nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island NY
Jan 9, 2011

The Strand Hotel

I had stayed at the Strand Hotel while I was visiting my son in NYC this weekend. I was very pleasantly surprised what a nice hotel it was. It is very modern hotel. The bed was a king size bed and very comfortable. The room was very clean, turn down service in the evening. I enjoyed the aminites in the bathroom, the shampoom,conditioner, body wash, and lotion. The only thing that was missing was a hair dryer. The breakfast in the morning was very good also. I would have loved it if it had oatmeal. The cold ceral was good but a hot bowl of oatmeal on a winter day is yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is between 5 and 6th avenue so their is plenty of dining, shopping and the theater distract is just a short distance away.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
May 6, 2011

Fantastic Hotel, Clean, New, Great Servi

Very Clean, new, modern, nice and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pegnek
Auburndale, Florida
May 9, 2011

The Strand is quite a find!

Great location...love the boutique feel. Nice compact room. Great bed & pillows. Nice bathroom. We stayed in the superior room, which is the smallest and it was perfectly comfortable! Continental breakfast free every morning was just right. Love the cozy feel of the bar & restaurant on 1st floor. But you will be blown away by the rooftop bar...Top of the Strand! Looks as though you can reach out & touch the Empire State Bldg! Highly recommend this hotel to all. Great, friendly staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Jul 14, 2011

Fabulous City Getaway!

This hotel was sooo beautiful!! The hotel staff were so accomodating and welcoming each time we came and went. They made us feel safe and at home. This is an upscale hotel with a perfect location in the middle of Manhattan. The Empire State building is within walking distance and the subway is about 4 blocks away. The complimentary breakfast was a major plus, as not many hotels offer one in NYC. And the food was delicious. They served fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, plain yogurt with dried fruit and granola, fresh pastries, cold meats, juice, coffee, etc. We also used the complimentary business center to print off flight information before leaving, which was very helpful. Complimentary internet was also a major reason we stayed at this hotel. It was very helpful with making reservations and looking up directions. The room was small, and not much room at all for luggage, but it was comfortable and well-furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we slept well, as it was quiet. The staff was so nice every day to leave us fresh towels, clean the bathroom, make our bed, and even turn it down at night. The elevators were fast and smooth. We never had trouble with them being "crowded" as other reviews said. One thing we would have liked better would have been the ability to retrieve ice for ourselves. We were thirsty coming back from our excursions, and the hotel required the staff to bring us ice. We felt bad because we needed cold water to drink, and requested it often. And I can't forget to mention that the rooftop area was Amazing!!! Even better than we expected! You can't even put into words how breathtaking the view is of the Empire State Building. The hotel designer really did a fantastic job of combining city life with a fabulous view! I would defintely recommend this hotel to anyone, and we hope to go back someday soon. Thank you Strand Hotel for making our vacation a memory to last a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

These are all tips I wanted to pass around to first-time NYC visitors: First off, plan to walk a lot and be in shape when you go to NYC. There are not many benches to stop and rest. Check out Chinatown for great deals on just about anything, purses, watches, jewelry, etc. Also, the 7-day Unlimited ride Metrocard for the subway is a great deal, just $29.00 for unimited rides all over Manhattan. Easy to purchase at any vending machine in the subway. Compared to the cabs, which cost about $10 to go 4 blocks, the Metrocard is great. I recommend Grotta Azzurra in Little Italy for dinner (best lasagna I have ever had!), and Delmonico's in the financial district has amazing steaks and famous Lobster Newburg. For a couple without kids, the American Museum of Natural History didn't take as long as expected. We liked the dinosaur exhibits, but the rest was just a quick walk-thru. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, however, was one we could have spent DAYS at. It is huge, and very interesting. The mummy exhibit was very cool. Also, if you go on the 4th of July, spend the extra $$ and book a dinner cruise for the fireworks. It was Amazing! Statue Cruises was $150 per person and worth every penny! Also, take a Clipper Cruise in the South Street Seaport at night. It has marvelous views! Make sure to book Statue of Liberty tickets to climb to the crown at least 5 months ahead! We did and it was totally worth it! It allowed us to skip the massive lines into the security tent and we got right on the first boat. And it was totally worth the climb to the crown! They only allow 240 out of 3500 people per day to climb to the crown so make sure to book ahead online. If you want to be on the NBC Today show in the morning, get in line at 4AM or earlier. For Broadway, we didn't enjoy Wicked as much as the Cirque du Soleil. One last thing, [...] was our Heroes of the World Trade Center guide with Uncle Sam's Tours. She was a phenomenal guide. Her stories of 9/11 were very touching. We loved NYC!!

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Thousand Oaks, CA
Jul 20, 2011

Fantastic Stay with the family

We had the best experience at The Strand. This contemporary hotel is the only place I will stay when I am in NYC. The staff was always polite and helpful. The room is small, but typical of New York. So glad we chose The Strand over The Plaza!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dodger Town
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2010

The place to be!

New,contemporary,elegant,and in the right location for a trip to Manhattan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A a few blocks from Time Square, two blocks from the Empire State Building, short walk for dinning and shopping!

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nonie Sue
Duluth, MN
Jun 16, 2014

Had a fabulous stay!

The Strand Hotel was the perfect place for 2 ladies on vacation! The location was nice and close to Bryant Park, the NY Public Library, Macy's, and many subway stations. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room comfortable. I would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You must visit the rooftop bar in the evening ~ what a breathtaking view!

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Walcro
Coventry - Great Britain
Jun 25, 2014

The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could not fault this hotel, the location is perfect and the staff were excellent, the roof top bar is brilliant just the place to sit and have as relaxing drink after a busy day in New York with a great view of the Empire State Building, we would not hesitate in coming back to the Strand and would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search