$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
244 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
Owned by Atlantic Stars Hotels & Cruises, The Strand is a fashionable New York institution, in keeping with its proximity to the famed Fashion District. Spa-like bathrooms adorn finely appointed rooms and suites, while the hotel's rooftop lounge - the Top of the Strand - was named Best Year-Round Rooftop Bar by New York Magazine. Guests are greeted with classic Conde Nast photography in the lobby, and the bistro is headed up by Chef Jason Tilmann, serving exceptional American fare in a welcoming environment.
Key facts
  • 177 guestrooms
  • 3 conference and event spaces
  • 21 floors
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Strand Bistro
  • Rooftop bar: Top of the Strand
  • Complimentary newspapers in the lobby (New York Times and Wall Street Journal)
Neighborhood
New York's trendy Midtown Fashion District is just minutes from Times Square, the Theater District and more Big Apple attractions. Numerous flagship retail stores and wholesalers stretch across one square mile here, and The Strand lies at the center of the action. Head to nearby Bryant Park for a green oasis and events like the summer film festival, jugglers, and performances of renowned Shakespeare plays. Penn Station is a short walk away and serves as a gateway to the rest of the city.
Hints and tips
Plush bathrobes are included in all guest rooms, but be sure to ask about complimentary microfiber slippers for the ultimate in comfort during your stay.

Wine lovers will adore the Complimentary Wine Hour at the Strand Bistro-which serves hotel guests only, Monday to Friday at 4:00pm.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woooopig
Wilmington, NC
Sep 11, 2012

Great staff

Staff was exceptionally friendly. Hotel and rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AwesomeHubby
Rhode Island
Oct 1, 2012

Classy getaway

Upon arrival me and my wife immediately checked in and went up to our room. Our request to have a high room was granted, and we had a great view of the empire state building. The room was amazing except for the terribly inconvenient automatic mini bar. If you have kids you may owe more money then you plan on because if they touch one of the items you are automatically charged, with no refund. Turn down service was unexpected and enjoyed and the business center and fitness center made my stay easier. The finally infrastructure that made our stay more enjoyable was the rooftop bar. Absolutely amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire state building and Times Square and a comfortable walk from this hotel.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RomeosCorner
Bronx, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Delightful Hotel

I had a great time at The Strand although it was for only one night! The service was awesome, I checked in, stayed the night, checked out but it really was great! The location is great as well, around so many things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SamDaisy
Staffordshire
Dec 9, 2012

Perfect boutique hotel

Fantastic 4 night stay great breakfast nice staff and amazing roof top bar. Perfectly situated just off 5th so easy walking to most attractions and convenient for taxis and subway. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2City Girls
Tampa Bay, Florida
Jan 7, 2013

The Best!

Booked a girls trip to NYC and stayed at The Strand with my daughter for her 18th birthday. We had an awesome stay! The Strand is an excellent place to stay for your visit to NYC. We never used public transportation - everything is so close by, we walked, but we were just far enough away to avoid the dirt and noise. The hotel's atmosphere is modern yet classic. Our room was SUPER clean, SUPER comfortable, very quiet and beautifully appointed. Free WiFi too. The staff is the friendliest I have ever encountered - everyone greets you warmly every time they see you. The rooftop deck, day or night, is spectacular! Free delicious coffee even without a breakfast purchase. And the area is safe (yes, there is an adult shop nearby but it is very tame/nothing to worry about# - we walked back to the hotel at 3am from Times Square with no hint of problems or concerns. I am so happy to have found The Strand - we will DEFINITELY be staying there again. #P.S.: We stayed there the first week in January 2013. The website doesn't have 2013 on it yet so I chose 2012 to get past the screen)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Bryant Park, just a few short blocks away - great vibe, neat little shops (definitely eat a crepe!!!) and an ice skating rink, too, while we were there.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bugatzi
New York
Jan 8, 2013

Great stay

Overall it was a great experience the room was small but Clean. Staff was good and the Location is the best. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger24
Madison, WI
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect long weekend for a couple

We booked our room only a few days before our trip, and it was perfect! Location of the hotel was central to everything, easy to get to other parts of the city via transit as needed. Staff were welcoming and attentive every time we needed something (a call to the desk asking about hot water for tea around 7pm one evening resulted in a full tea service tray and an electric kettle being delivered to our room within 5-10 minutes), the room was very clean and had everything we could have asked for (the chocolates left on our pillow after the turndown service were even vegan!). We were able to print our boarding passes in the computer room, and didn't use the workout room but it looked like it would have been sufficient had we wanted to. Only small complaint was that due to the room being one of the smaller ones in the hotel, the door to the hallway opened up very close to the bed and we could hear every word spoken by our neighbors whenever they left or returned to their rooms. That being said, it was never a problem--never woke us up in the middle of the night or anything, and the room was otherwise very quiet with no street noise. (We had requested a quiet room and were obliged.) View was great, even from a non-premium room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Have the hotel arrange for your transport to the airport! You have to schedule it a minimum of 2 hours before you need it, and it costs a bit more than a regular cab, but it's worth it. ($55 plus tip to LGA) The driver was very courteous and arrived early to pick us up.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
livewire62
UK
Feb 25, 2013

The Strand NYC Feb 2013

Excellent hotel, perfect from start to finish, the staff were superb, the location perfect and what a view of the Empire State from our window. If it had a pool it would have got a full set of 5's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast on W 44th street Red Flame diner as an alternative to the hotel.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
masp
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2013

Pre cruise hotel

We enjoyed everyone at the Hotel. It was clean, had a great location to everything and the personnel were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geri M.
Business
Riviera Beach FL
Apr 8, 2013

The Strand

Excellent service with persoanal attention a very enjoyable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frankie and Johnnie's Steak house. Excellent!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search