$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
173 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
Owned by Atlantic Stars Hotels & Cruises, The Strand is a fashionable New York institution, in keeping with its proximity to the famed Fashion District. Spa-like bathrooms adorn finely appointed rooms and suites, while the hotel's rooftop lounge - the Top of the Strand - was named Best Year-Round Rooftop Bar by New York Magazine. Guests are greeted with classic Conde Nast photography in the lobby, and the bistro is headed up by Chef Jason Tilmann, serving exceptional American fare in a welcoming environment.
Key facts
  • 177 guestrooms
  • 3 conference and event spaces
  • 21 floors
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Strand Bistro
  • Rooftop bar: Top of the Strand
  • Complimentary newspapers in the lobby (New York Times and Wall Street Journal)
Neighborhood
New York's trendy Midtown Fashion District is just minutes from Times Square, the Theater District and more Big Apple attractions. Numerous flagship retail stores and wholesalers stretch across one square mile here, and The Strand lies at the center of the action. Head to nearby Bryant Park for a green oasis and events like the summer film festival, jugglers, and performances of renowned Shakespeare plays. Penn Station is a short walk away and serves as a gateway to the rest of the city.
Hints and tips
Plush bathrobes are included in all guest rooms, but be sure to ask about complimentary microfiber slippers for the ultimate in comfort during your stay.

Wine lovers will adore the Complimentary Wine Hour at the Strand Bistro-which serves hotel guests only, Monday to Friday at 4:00pm.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend from NJ
NJ
Mar 10, 2013

Weekend from NJ

Great value for midtown location. Hotel has what I would consider upscale appearance without price. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luxury Bargain Hunter
Upstate New York
Mar 3, 2013

Decent hotel on odd block

I selected this hotel based on location (wanted to be walking distance to Madison Square Garden) and the price offered. Unfortunately the hotel is located on an odd block in the middle of the wholesale garment district. Was not comfortable walking down 37th at night. Hotel itself is nice--great restaurant and bar, complimentary wine at happy hour, complimentary business center, but the king-size bed took up the entire room and there was next to no counter space in the bathroom. I would probably not stay here again unless there was a really good price offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
livewire62
UK
Feb 25, 2013

The Strand NYC Feb 2013

Excellent hotel, perfect from start to finish, the staff were superb, the location perfect and what a view of the Empire State from our window. If it had a pool it would have got a full set of 5's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast on W 44th street Red Flame diner as an alternative to the hotel.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BS Porsche
Canada
Jan 31, 2013

average experiance

The room was clean but small, noisy and dull . There was no bathtub . Clean towels , amenities were ok. Stuff was friendly but inefficient and the concierge recommendation for dinner was unsatisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger24
Madison, WI
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect long weekend for a couple

We booked our room only a few days before our trip, and it was perfect! Location of the hotel was central to everything, easy to get to other parts of the city via transit as needed. Staff were welcoming and attentive every time we needed something (a call to the desk asking about hot water for tea around 7pm one evening resulted in a full tea service tray and an electric kettle being delivered to our room within 5-10 minutes), the room was very clean and had everything we could have asked for (the chocolates left on our pillow after the turndown service were even vegan!). We were able to print our boarding passes in the computer room, and didn't use the workout room but it looked like it would have been sufficient had we wanted to. Only small complaint was that due to the room being one of the smaller ones in the hotel, the door to the hallway opened up very close to the bed and we could hear every word spoken by our neighbors whenever they left or returned to their rooms. That being said, it was never a problem--never woke us up in the middle of the night or anything, and the room was otherwise very quiet with no street noise. (We had requested a quiet room and were obliged.) View was great, even from a non-premium room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Have the hotel arrange for your transport to the airport! You have to schedule it a minimum of 2 hours before you need it, and it costs a bit more than a regular cab, but it's worth it. ($55 plus tip to LGA) The driver was very courteous and arrived early to pick us up.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lijoe26
Long Island, NY
Jan 10, 2013

Overall Good Stay

Overall I found this hotel to be very good. The staff was very friendly and courteous and check-in and out was very quick. The room was a good size for 2 people and very clean. My only criticisms would be that 1) the in-room mini-fridge/mini-bar did now have any space to keep personal items cool and, 2) as someone with a bad back I woke up the next morning with a lot of pain. The pillows were pretty pathetic. I would definitely stay here again, but would bring my own pillows next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bugatzi
New York
Jan 8, 2013

Great stay

Overall it was a great experience the room was small but Clean. Staff was good and the Location is the best. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woman in her 20's
Edison, NJ
Jan 8, 2013

Romantic night in NY

The staff is super friendly. The rooms are cozy and clean. The bathrooms are odd in that there is no side door and just a drain on the tile floor in the shower but surprisingly water stays in the shower for the most part. The bathrooms give a kind of vintage feel to the room, however, that make it very uniquely differently. Great location. The elevators are very slow but we were on the third floor so it didn't take us long but people on the upper floors had quite some waiting time (but a view of the city).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2City Girls
Tampa Bay, Florida
Jan 7, 2013

The Best!

Booked a girls trip to NYC and stayed at The Strand with my daughter for her 18th birthday. We had an awesome stay! The Strand is an excellent place to stay for your visit to NYC. We never used public transportation - everything is so close by, we walked, but we were just far enough away to avoid the dirt and noise. The hotel's atmosphere is modern yet classic. Our room was SUPER clean, SUPER comfortable, very quiet and beautifully appointed. Free WiFi too. The staff is the friendliest I have ever encountered - everyone greets you warmly every time they see you. The rooftop deck, day or night, is spectacular! Free delicious coffee even without a breakfast purchase. And the area is safe (yes, there is an adult shop nearby but it is very tame/nothing to worry about# - we walked back to the hotel at 3am from Times Square with no hint of problems or concerns. I am so happy to have found The Strand - we will DEFINITELY be staying there again. #P.S.: We stayed there the first week in January 2013. The website doesn't have 2013 on it yet so I chose 2012 to get past the screen)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Bryant Park, just a few short blocks away - great vibe, neat little shops (definitely eat a crepe!!!) and an ice skating rink, too, while we were there.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent traveler100
Vermont
Jan 7, 2013

Weekend at The Strand Jan 2013

Great location. Arrived early and was able to get an early check-in. Hotel was very tastefully decorated in all areas. (I am a designer) Room was small for two people, but was comfortable and attractive. The lounge on the roof has a FANTASTIC unobstructed close view of the Empire State building which was still lit in Christmas red and green. Only complaint was that they posted a happy hour between 5 and 7 which we specifically made a point to come back for, but then, after we were seated said it was only good Mon-Friday. The sign out front did not specify any day restrictions. They were not very pleasant or apologetic about this mistake. Over-all I would definitely return to this hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Roof-top lounge

Back to menu Return to top