$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Strand

4 stars
33 West 37th. Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
174 reviews
Discover New York

For a first timer, especially after listening to your friends' hotel stories, when you finally... See full review

  • Sclifo
  • Jul 10, 2014
The Strand Hotel - New York

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in New York and stayed at the Strand, we could... See full review

  • Walcro
  • Jun 25, 2014
Owned by Atlantic Stars Hotels & Cruises, The Strand is a fashionable New York institution, in keeping with its proximity to the famed Fashion District. Spa-like bathrooms adorn finely appointed rooms and suites, while the hotel's rooftop lounge - the Top of the Strand - was named Best Year-Round Rooftop Bar by New York Magazine. Guests are greeted with classic Conde Nast photography in the lobby, and the bistro is headed up by Chef Jason Tilmann, serving exceptional American fare in a welcoming environment.
Key facts
  • 177 guestrooms
  • 3 conference and event spaces
  • 21 floors
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Strand Bistro
  • Rooftop bar: Top of the Strand
  • Complimentary newspapers in the lobby (New York Times and Wall Street Journal)
Neighborhood
New York's trendy Midtown Fashion District is just minutes from Times Square, the Theater District and more Big Apple attractions. Numerous flagship retail stores and wholesalers stretch across one square mile here, and The Strand lies at the center of the action. Head to nearby Bryant Park for a green oasis and events like the summer film festival, jugglers, and performances of renowned Shakespeare plays. Penn Station is a short walk away and serves as a gateway to the rest of the city.
Hints and tips
Plush bathrobes are included in all guest rooms, but be sure to ask about complimentary microfiber slippers for the ultimate in comfort during your stay.

Wine lovers will adore the Complimentary Wine Hour at the Strand Bistro-which serves hotel guests only, Monday to Friday at 4:00pm.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Strand Rooms

SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One King Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Spacious room with One King Bed - Approximately 260 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
DELUXE - HOTEL
Two Double Beds -260sft Spacious Room - Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.
SUPERIOR - HOTEL
Well Appointed Room with One Queen Bed - Approximately 220 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with One King Bed - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 2 Guests.
EXECUTIVE - HOTEL
Spacious Room with Two Double Beds - Approximately 310 Sq. Feet. Includes complimentary High Speed and Wireless Internet Access. Workdesk, Shower, Safe, Bathrobes and a Mini Bar. 24 Hour Room Service. Maximum 4 Guests.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strand also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7513 -73.9849
Area served
New York City, Midtown West, Times Square
Nearby airports
JFK,LGA and EWR.
Area description
The Strand is located on 37th Street between 5th and 6th avenues (Times Square and Fashion District areas). Within steps away from Times Square/Broadway/Theaters, Bryant Park, Madison Square Garden, Empire States Building, Penn Station, Grand Central station,Herald Square, shoppings on Madison and 5th avenues, the Jacob Javits Center and major corporate offices/business center in Midtwon Manhattan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting space combines a total of 2,500 square feet and it can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for The Strand

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie's Nana
Laguna Beach, CA
Dec 10, 2013

Nice New York Stay

The Strand was a wonderful hotel and met all of our expectations. The staff is professional, friendly and very helpful. Our room was very large considering the size of most New York hotel rooms and very clean. We will definitely check the availability of The Strand Hotel when in New York again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the roof top bar. View is spectacular, food and drinks are great.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mum and daughter21
London
Dec 5, 2013

Superb comfort and location

Stayed here for a long weekend in a quiet road within half hour fast walk from Central Park; ten mins Time square and the roof top bar gave you a birds eye view of Empire State. .Superb service;king size de luxe room was spacious; ensuite spotless. We will be back and this will be our base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ten mins from hotel is the Stop for city tour buses. A quick hour and a half will take you round the city areas to help you plan sightseeing.( possible to haggle too!)

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tye and Guy
San Antonio
Dec 2, 2013

Stellar staff

From the moment the car pulled up in front of The Strand we were treated like honored guests. The doorman was our first contact and was so very nice and likable (Russian accent so even though I understood him perfectly I did not catch his name which is my only regret). The manager and young lady at the front desk were so fun and upgraded our room to a fantastic view of the Empire State building. The staff in the bistro and rooftop lounge were also very pleasant. Loved staying here. Close to many things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

MACY'S, 5TH AVE, TIME SQUARE, BRYANT PARK

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie B
Cork, Ireland
Nov 29, 2013

Shopping break

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The location was ideal, near Macy's, within walking distance of Times Square and some lovely restaurants. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The room, while on the small side was perfect for our stay and more importantly was very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob From Houston
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 27, 2013

Great Stay

The hotel was a great place to stay. We were centrally located to the things we had planned. We attended an event at Madison Square Garden which was very close to the hotel. The staff was excellent, very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcUSA
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2013

Nice spot in midtown

First time here - needed a spot for one night and this turned out to be a great find. Easy walk from the train stations - as well as to most anything you want to do in midtown. Staff is very attentive and helpful. Both the ground floor and the rooftop bars are great spots to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.Cely
Ventura, CA
Nov 20, 2013

Amazing Couple Getaway

The perfect place for a couple to getaway in NYC. The hotel is located by everything.. time square, central park, empire state building, radio city hall, penn stations, etc. They have the most amazing Roof Top bar that over looks the empire state building. The staff working the bar are very friendly and outgoing making the experience even more memorable. The hotel is clean and modern. Very unique. The staff is very knowledgeable about the city and offer great suggestions with places to eat or visit. Very helpful especially for first timers. I will definitely return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frankie & Jonnie's Steak House AMAZINGGG!!!!!

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Connie Louise
Buffalo, NY
Oct 22, 2013

The Strand

This was one of the best hotels I stayed at in Manhattan. It is centrally located. Staff were all wonderful...polite, efficient, professional. Room was so clean and comfortable. We faced the Empire State Building which was beautiful. We had dinner at the Strand restaurant, and it was outstanding. The rooftop bar was such a charming addition. Great stay! My only complaint is that it doesn't serve breakfast. I would have liked breakfast in the room on the last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk on the High Line...it is charming. A wonderful restaurant is L'Artusi on W. 10th Street...absolutely outstanding. And don't forget the oldest bar in the USA...McSorley's in East Village.

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mamanemo
Austin, TX
Oct 22, 2013

New York fall visit

We were in NY to visit our daughter and have some fun. We have been here several times but this was our first stay at the Strand. It was wonderful with the staff being most accommodating and helpful. Lovely bar on Lobby level as well as a fun roof top garden bar. Rooms were good size for NY and very clean. Would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Comedy Cellar is a must see!!

Review of The Strand

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siri and Stine
Norway
Oct 5, 2013

With a view to the Empire State Building

My best friend and I had a one week stay at The Strand. The location is perfect with walking distance to The Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Grand Central station, Apple Store, St.Patrick's Cathedral and Central park. The hotelroom in ninth floor had panoramic view to the Empire State building, and from the roof top bar the view is amazing. The staff was very friendly, and eager to assist us in every way. We used the subway a lot, which is really recommendable. It's easy and a lot faster than taking taxi because of the very heavy New York traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try out the restaurants Nobu, STK and Buddakan.

Back to menu Return to top