$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Shoreham Hotel

4 stars
33 West 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
60 reviews
perfect location, great restaurant across the street!

perfect location, great restaurant across the street! See full review

  • marshalx
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great for a short getaway

The staff was very accommodating. My room was clean and the location was great. See full review

  • Good Travel Aficionado
  • Nov 10, 2014
Seductively stylish and sleek - the Shoreham not only guarantees an interesting visual experience - its 177 luxuriously appointed and tech-savvy guestrooms/suites promise the highest standard of comfort - convenience - and amenities - all of which are complimented by an attentive - friendly staff. The hotel features a restaurant lounge - highlighted by colorful dramatic Living Glass walls and an epicurean menu a state-of-the-art cardio-fitness center equipped by Technogym and its own art gallery showcasing original works from digital/interactive/and traditional artists. Dramatic meeting spaces/ including an Atrium Loft Penthouse Suite with spectacular views of the NYC skyline are available for parties business gatherings or any special event.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Shoreham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Shoreham Hotel Rooms

Guest Room - 1 Bed
GUEST ROOM 300 CT LINENS BOSE WAVE RADIOS HI DEF FLAT PANEL TV
Guest Room - 2 Beds
GUEST ROOM 2 BEDS
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 BED
JUNIOR SUITE ONE BED-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SOAKING TUB MASSAGE SHOWER IN BATHROOM
ONE BEDROOM SUITE - 1 BED
ONE BEDROOM SUITE WITH ONE BED-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SITTING AREA-MASSAGE CHAIR
ONE BEDROOM SUITE - 2 BEDS
ONE BEDROOM SUITE WITH TWO BEDS-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SITTING AREA-MASSAGE CHAIR-
Penthouse - 1 Bed
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Henri Bendel: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.1 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.1 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.3 mi
  • Barney's: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for The Shoreham Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashley2002
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 24, 2013

This hotel should not be rated as 4 stars

We had very bad experience with the hotel. Compared to other 4 star New York hotels, their staffs were not helpful especially when you did not book the room directly with the hotel , both room and bed were very smaill. Queen size bed was as big as full size bed. This hotel should not be rated as 4 stars. We will not stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
canden
Business
Dedham,MA
Mar 29, 2011

Bad experience

Hearth of the Manhattan.Near the all shops.That's all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We called the hotel before than our arrival and asked a nicer room since it was our wedding anniversary. And when we went there ,we again reminded the hotel receptionist about our request and told them that it's our wedding anniversary and they said that they gave us a special one , room 201. Unfortunately, the room was the worst room that we've ever seen . the room was dark because it was looking at the hotel's air conditioning system towers with never ending noise like helicopter all the night , the cleaning was awful with lots of hair in the ground . And the worst thing is the room was the connection room that we listened all the night the noise of our neighbours since there was just a door between us. When we asked to change it,they claimed that they don't have room. Unfortunately , it was a bad newyork city experience for us and makes very unhappy us in such a special anniversary .I will never try any Shoreham hotel and will make my comments about this hotel to prevent anybody else's deep anniversary disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Books Bagshaw
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 15, 2013

Vacation getaway for theatre, dining and museums

Stayed there several years ago and it seemed fresh and new. Now it just seems like nothing has changed or been updated - not bad, just blah. Complaints - no free internet in rooms, only in lobby; problems with towel service, never seemed to have complete set; when function room was in use the traffic through lobby was very busy and noisy. Good location for midtown shopping, theatre, and events. Would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gramercy Tavern -great food and ambiance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wallace
Business
midwest
Nov 21, 2011

excellent location/clean/no amenaties

all about the location. it was perfect for our purposes. it was clean. it was not ready at the designated 3 pm check in. when i asked the doorman directions to burberry, he suggested i look on the internet. no phone books available. no guest services. also no help calling a cab to get to LGA upon checkout. it was not mentioned the window offered not a street view but directly into other guest rooms. the breakfast/brunch service was cancelled due to a private party. it worked fine for our one night stay. would not recommend it for the price. w

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Too the max
Business
Amherst, NY
Oct 15, 2012

Ok for one night

Very small room with no view. Ok for one night but not much longer. Great location between 5th and 6th avenues. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
littlebaer
Business
new paltz ny
Dec 20, 2012

last minute booking

the hotel was clean, staff courteous they gave us a upgrade as soon as we mentioned the bed was too small for two people ..very nice of them and prompt no sound of the city in the room very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great diner right around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carmando
Business
milan
Apr 29, 2013

Rooms too small for a 4 star hotel

My room was too small for a 4 star hotel, plus one little window with no sunlight, I needed to switch on the light also in the morning. Electronic key did not work in my room and I had to change it twice. The employees are very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Books Bagshaw
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 15, 2013

Nothing Special

Room rather small and somewhat dated. Fitness center was little more than a few free weights & some treadmills etc. In room internet was $15/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lunch or dinner at the Grammarcy Tavern.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Lover for LIFE
Business
CT
Sep 8, 2009

Alright, I guess....sort of.

Well, let me start by saying that the front staff was kind - offering us Champagne on check in and even upgrading us to a deluxe room free of charge. We were so excited on our way up the elevator to get to the 10th floor deluxe room. We opened the door and sure the room is nice enough, but it's pretty cramped and the bathroom is almost impossibly small - I would hate to see what the regular room looks like! But anyways you don't come to NY to stay in the hotel room the whole time - it was good enough, and from what I hear, the price we paid (220/night) could not be beat by many other nearby hotels. The only real disappointment was the fact that the air conditioner just DID NOT WORK. It was not terribly hot this weekend, but still, you need air. The room was just stale and warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Traveling Nice
Business
Mexico City
Jan 12, 2011

Good but not Great

The service is great and the location amazing, but we stay there for a week and we are sure they never clean our room, they just pick the towels and do the bed. As for the bed it is not increible, actually is very soft. I will stay there again for the location but only if I get a very good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top