$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Shoreham Hotel

4 stars
33 West 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
60 reviews
perfect location, great restaurant across the street!

perfect location, great restaurant across the street! See full review

  • marshalx
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great for a short getaway

The staff was very accommodating. My room was clean and the location was great. See full review

  • Good Travel Aficionado
  • Nov 10, 2014
Seductively stylish and sleek - the Shoreham not only guarantees an interesting visual experience - its 177 luxuriously appointed and tech-savvy guestrooms/suites promise the highest standard of comfort - convenience - and amenities - all of which are complimented by an attentive - friendly staff. The hotel features a restaurant lounge - highlighted by colorful dramatic Living Glass walls and an epicurean menu a state-of-the-art cardio-fitness center equipped by Technogym and its own art gallery showcasing original works from digital/interactive/and traditional artists. Dramatic meeting spaces/ including an Atrium Loft Penthouse Suite with spectacular views of the NYC skyline are available for parties business gatherings or any special event.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Shoreham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Shoreham Hotel Rooms

Guest Room - 1 Bed
GUEST ROOM 300 CT LINENS BOSE WAVE RADIOS HI DEF FLAT PANEL TV
Guest Room - 2 Beds
GUEST ROOM 2 BEDS
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 BED
JUNIOR SUITE ONE BED-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SOAKING TUB MASSAGE SHOWER IN BATHROOM
ONE BEDROOM SUITE - 1 BED
ONE BEDROOM SUITE WITH ONE BED-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SITTING AREA-MASSAGE CHAIR
ONE BEDROOM SUITE - 2 BEDS
ONE BEDROOM SUITE WITH TWO BEDS-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SITTING AREA-MASSAGE CHAIR-
Penthouse - 1 Bed
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Henri Bendel: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.1 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.1 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.3 mi
  • Barney's: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for The Shoreham Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilar
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

A Nice Convenient Location For A Hotel

This hotel was amazing. I enjoyed my stay even if it was only for two nights over the Columbus Day weekend. As soon as you walk in, you can get a vibe that the hotel is somewhat hip and chique as it is meant to attract a younger crowd. The lobby is inviting and the front desk staff were very helpful. It was nice to have a warm welcome to New York after not sleeping the night before (Last Minute Packer!!!). Every visit to New York has been wonderful and this hotel didn't disappoint me for my 10th visit (in my lifetime) to the Big Apple. I traveled with my nineteen year old son and we got an early morning flight and he suggested we take the subway to the hotel ($14.50 for 2 people instead of a $45 cab fare). In case you're wondering, the Shoreham is within walking distance of a train stop (5th Ave and 53rd Street) and also 57th street F train. After about an hours ride on the E train we made it to the hotel in what was a 5 minute walk. We were traveling light so it wasn't difficult for us to take the train and then walk. Unfortunately, we were too early to check in to our room because it had not been cleaned yet. They, however, offered to hold our bags for us if we wanted to do some exploring. Luckily we got to Manhattan around 10am so all of the stores around the area were open for business (Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Prada, Henri Bendel, etc etc) so we visited all the nice places. The only complaint I really had was the view from our window. Our room (610) faced in towards the the alley and the space between the other buildings on the block, so there was nothing interesting to see. The room we had was a bit on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and the the bathroom was spacious. The room was quiet at night so you could sleep comfortably. We don't order room service, so I can't tell you about that but the bellman was quick in bringing up our bags. We did love the location of this hotel because my son and I love Bergdorf and Goodman for all the brands they carry. Also, there are pharmacies close by (Duane Reade) along with a few good restaurants (Rue 57 was excellent!) and then of course all of the shops. If you don't want to spend money on morning coffee or that latte from starbucks, there is an espresso machine near the elevators. I also recommend the restaurant Pizzeria Napoletana Pizzarte 55th street its literally a minute or so away from the hotel (on the same block) heading towards 6th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you don't feel like forking over money for a morning cup of coffee, the Shoreham has an advanced coffee machine upon exiting the elevators. Its in a small room before reaching the hotel restaurant and the lobby. The machine will make espressos, cappuccinos, lattes, hot milk for hot chocolate, hot water, and has several decaf options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristal
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Oct 14, 2011

3 perfect days in NY

I love this hotel basically because its in the heart of Manhattan, NY. Its near most of the places that I wanted to go to. It was also not hard to commute because the subway is just a block away. The employees in the hotel were also helpful especially since it was our first time touring NY. The room where we stayed in was also a good size. I also liked that our room has a contemporary design. It didnt feel like an old hotel. I also love the cappucino room. :) The only thing I didnt like is that the restroom doesnt have an exhaust fan. My family and I will definitely go back to this hotel whenever we need to go to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shoreham hotel is just near my favorite deli (Carnegie). I think its just 2 blocks away. Its also near a famous chocolate store. :) Its also near the shopping area, central park, rockefeller and times square. Its also near Broadway were we watched Wicked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in Midtown
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Quiet Room!

We were on 55th street and it was amazingly quiet. The bed was comfortable, we had hot water on the 9th floor, no one kept asking if we wanted the room done. There was free wonderful coffee of various types and teas available 24/7. We will definitely stay again. We had a great deal: 2 nights with one night free. We were between 5th and 6th avenue and in a fantastic midtown area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, museums, art galleries, a wide variety of food was available to us within a half block of the hotel. Perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
casey38
Business
Loughton, Essex, UK
Apr 17, 2012

Excellent hotel!

The Shoreham is a great hotel, very clean, spacious room and great value for money. Perfect central location without being noisy. We were able to walk to many attractions and the subway was just around the corner. Staff were very polite and helpful (apart from the waitress who served the tables in the bar who was extremely rude!!) Our bath became blocked when we first used it and the maintenance man arrived within minutes to fix it!! I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 11, 2011

Massaging Chair=AWESOME

Good location. Many things within walking distance or subway stop is VERY close, yet street noise was not bad at all. It never woke us up at night & I am a very light sleeper. Best part of the room was the massaging leather recliner. Our backs hurt after the first few days of doing all of our tourist activities & it was VERY nice to be able to come back, sit down, relax & get a massage. Also, free cappuccino, hot chocolate, latte machine in the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL.
Mar 28, 2010

Location, Location, Location

The day after I booked my vacation package, my cousin changed her mind and decided to come along. I called the hotel ASAP and asked them to upgrade the room to accomodate her, they did and let me know there would be an additional charge which I agreed to. When we got to the hotel, they had no record of the upgrade and the hotel was full for the weekend. The woman I was dealing with seemed completely uninterested and said, "We don't do complimentary upgrades." I explained that I didn't ask for one and her tune changed. She was able to get us the exact room type we wanted except it was on a smoking floor. Fortunately, only the hallway smelled like smoke. The room was fantastic, the bathroom was small which was not a big deal to us but it might be to some. Check-in is at 3pm and we didn't get our room until almost 4pm. She offered us vouchers either for the bar or breakfast - we took breakfast which was great especially for our last morning in New York. In spite of the 1st day snafu, my family and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. It's within walking distance of the 5th Ave. shopping, Central Park, Times Square, the Museum of Modern Art, Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center. There may be more but we didn't get to squeeze it in. You couldn't ask for a better location and the service was great. I'm already talking about going back and I'm definitely going back to the Shoreham. Just make sure if you change anything after you book, you get the name of the person you spoke to and double-check with them the day before : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Connolly's Pub and Restaurant: One block away from the Shoreham on W 54th St. and 6th Ave. It's across the street from the Museum of Modern Art. Great food and great staff - we went there our last night town, for a late night snack and drinks, and we should've been going there from the first night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antoniox Tx
Sep 14, 2009

Heavenly Experience

I stayed here based on the excellent reviews on Orbitz. Everything met and exceeded my expectations. I was there to go to three Yankee games but spent some time in the room. This room was very small BUT it really didn't seem that way because it was very efficiently planned. I enjoyed the room and it's setup and furnishings quite a bit. The bed was excellent. The elevators were good, the front desk staff especially on check in were amazingly friendly for a rainy, busy Friday afternoon in New York City. I was astounded and pleasantly pleased. It was close to whatever I needed and within walking distance. I will definitely stay there again and cannot compliment it enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No coffee maker in the room but there is a complimentary expresso machine where you can get coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robkabob
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 27, 2009

Excellent - Great Location

The Shoreham is an excellent boutique hotel without the attitude. While the public spaces and rooms skew to the smaller side, the spaces are well-designed, bold and contemporary. Check-in was very smooth and because of the heavy weekend, my room was not ready when I arrived at 10:30am. When it was ready a little while later, they called me on my cell-phone. Staff was extremely professional, friendly and helpful. For a smaller space, there is plenty of seating in the lobby and one can take advantage of a complimentary cappuchino or coffee. Wi-fi was also complimentary. Location is excellent - close to 5th Ave shops and all midtown attactions. There are plenty of convenient restaurants nearby. The hotel is approximately half way between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Photographer
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 3, 2009

Great place, friendly staff, good tapas.

Only a few blocks from Times Square, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, 30 Rock, and the rest, this place is top notch. The rooms are small, but very nice, and very modern. The staff is very helpful, even to a first timer like me, and friendly. The restaurant has excellent Tapas, drink, and other options as well. This place was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To everything in and around Times Square. Do the Top of the Rock (NBC/GE building). It was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Apr 19, 2011

Great Value in Midtown

The rooms are small, but they have all the amenities. The hotel itself is very conveniently located near subways and the Theatre District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top