The Shoreham Hotel

4 stars
33 West 55th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
58 reviews
Summer at Shoreham

Hotel room met the bare necessities and cannot beat the midtown location. Overall a great value. See full review

  • kwolfy00
  • Aug 26, 2014
Shoreham

this hotel is in a wonderful location, and although the rooms are small they are clean and... See full review

  • Carf
  • Jan 26, 2014
Seductively stylish and sleek - the Shoreham not only guarantees an interesting visual experience - its 177 luxuriously appointed and tech-savvy guestrooms/suites promise the highest standard of comfort - convenience - and amenities - all of which are complimented by an attentive - friendly staff. The hotel features a restaurant lounge - highlighted by colorful dramatic Living Glass walls and an epicurean menu a state-of-the-art cardio-fitness center equipped by Technogym and its own art gallery showcasing original works from digital/interactive/and traditional artists. Dramatic meeting spaces/ including an Atrium Loft Penthouse Suite with spectacular views of the NYC skyline are available for parties business gatherings or any special event.

The Shoreham Hotel Rooms

Guest Room - 1 Bed
GUEST ROOM 300 CT LINENS BOSE WAVE RADIOS HI DEF FLAT PANEL TV
Guest Room - 2 Beds
GUEST ROOM 2 BEDS
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 BED
JUNIOR SUITE ONE BED-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SOAKING TUB MASSAGE SHOWER IN BATHROOM
ONE BEDROOM SUITE - 1 BED
ONE BEDROOM SUITE WITH ONE BED-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SITTING AREA-MASSAGE CHAIR
ONE BEDROOM SUITE - 2 BEDS
ONE BEDROOM SUITE WITH TWO BEDS-FOLD DOWN SOFA BED-SITTING AREA-MASSAGE CHAIR-
Penthouse - 1 Bed
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Electronic door locks

Hotel Map

40.7625 -73.9763
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 6.88, MI, W; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 18.39, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.15, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Henri Bendel: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.1 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.1 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.2 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.3 mi
  • Barney's: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.3 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for The Shoreham Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 11, 2011

Great Location and Style!

The hotel is in a great location off 5th avenue. We walked to Times Square! There was a massage chair in the room and the bathroom was large for Manhattan. We didn't use any of the amenities, but I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Apr 7, 2011

Perfect hotel for one

Great location, simple, clean, and good service. Perfect place for one person on business or holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
canden
Business
Dedham,MA
Mar 29, 2011

Bad experience

Hearth of the Manhattan.Near the all shops.That's all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We called the hotel before than our arrival and asked a nicer room since it was our wedding anniversary. And when we went there ,we again reminded the hotel receptionist about our request and told them that it's our wedding anniversary and they said that they gave us a special one , room 201. Unfortunately, the room was the worst room that we've ever seen . the room was dark because it was looking at the hotel's air conditioning system towers with never ending noise like helicopter all the night , the cleaning was awful with lots of hair in the ground . And the worst thing is the room was the connection room that we listened all the night the noise of our neighbours since there was just a door between us. When we asked to change it,they claimed that they don't have room. Unfortunately , it was a bad newyork city experience for us and makes very unhappy us in such a special anniversary .I will never try any Shoreham hotel and will make my comments about this hotel to prevent anybody else's deep anniversary disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Traveling Nice
Business
Mexico City
Jan 12, 2011

Good but not Great

The service is great and the location amazing, but we stay there for a week and we are sure they never clean our room, they just pick the towels and do the bed. As for the bed it is not increible, actually is very soft. I will stay there again for the location but only if I get a very good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jan 2, 2011

Fantastic hotel! very good location

I really like the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montréal, Canada
May 31, 2010

"Good location"

Good location for the price. The rooms are small and the restrooms are very tiny but, the beds are really confortable and the staff friendly. It's a great place if you are at NYC for visit and shop and if you use the hotel just for rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL.
Mar 28, 2010

Location, Location, Location

The day after I booked my vacation package, my cousin changed her mind and decided to come along. I called the hotel ASAP and asked them to upgrade the room to accomodate her, they did and let me know there would be an additional charge which I agreed to. When we got to the hotel, they had no record of the upgrade and the hotel was full for the weekend. The woman I was dealing with seemed completely uninterested and said, "We don't do complimentary upgrades." I explained that I didn't ask for one and her tune changed. She was able to get us the exact room type we wanted except it was on a smoking floor. Fortunately, only the hallway smelled like smoke. The room was fantastic, the bathroom was small which was not a big deal to us but it might be to some. Check-in is at 3pm and we didn't get our room until almost 4pm. She offered us vouchers either for the bar or breakfast - we took breakfast which was great especially for our last morning in New York. In spite of the 1st day snafu, my family and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. It's within walking distance of the 5th Ave. shopping, Central Park, Times Square, the Museum of Modern Art, Radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center. There may be more but we didn't get to squeeze it in. You couldn't ask for a better location and the service was great. I'm already talking about going back and I'm definitely going back to the Shoreham. Just make sure if you change anything after you book, you get the name of the person you spoke to and double-check with them the day before : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Connolly's Pub and Restaurant: One block away from the Shoreham on W 54th St. and 6th Ave. It's across the street from the Museum of Modern Art. Great food and great staff - we went there our last night town, for a late night snack and drinks, and we should've been going there from the first night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robkabob
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 27, 2009

Excellent - Great Location

The Shoreham is an excellent boutique hotel without the attitude. While the public spaces and rooms skew to the smaller side, the spaces are well-designed, bold and contemporary. Check-in was very smooth and because of the heavy weekend, my room was not ready when I arrived at 10:30am. When it was ready a little while later, they called me on my cell-phone. Staff was extremely professional, friendly and helpful. For a smaller space, there is plenty of seating in the lobby and one can take advantage of a complimentary cappuchino or coffee. Wi-fi was also complimentary. Location is excellent - close to 5th Ave shops and all midtown attactions. There are plenty of convenient restaurants nearby. The hotel is approximately half way between 5th and 6th Avenues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New England Globetrotter
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Nov 12, 2009

A pearl hidden in the Big Apple

This place is amazing. Super friendly staff (they gave my girlfriend and me each a glass of champagne at check-in and comped us an upgrade without even telling us!), fantastic location close to 5th Ave, Central Park, museums, great restaurants, etc. We were able to walk everywhere on a perfect Sunday in New York. Another place found through [...] at a great price. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to 46th St. for an amazing selection of Brazilian restaurants and the incomparable St. Andrews. If you have never had Scottish cuisine, try it here first. Get the haggis, you will love it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antoniox Tx
Sep 14, 2009

Heavenly Experience

I stayed here based on the excellent reviews on Orbitz. Everything met and exceeded my expectations. I was there to go to three Yankee games but spent some time in the room. This room was very small BUT it really didn't seem that way because it was very efficiently planned. I enjoyed the room and it's setup and furnishings quite a bit. The bed was excellent. The elevators were good, the front desk staff especially on check in were amazingly friendly for a rainy, busy Friday afternoon in New York City. I was astounded and pleasantly pleased. It was close to whatever I needed and within walking distance. I will definitely stay there again and cannot compliment it enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No coffee maker in the room but there is a complimentary expresso machine where you can get coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top