$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

The Shoreham Hotel

4 stars
View map of 33 West 55th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Shoreham Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in Midtown
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Quiet Room!

We were on 55th street and it was amazingly quiet. The bed was comfortable, we had hot water on the 9th floor, no one kept asking if we wanted the room done. There was free wonderful coffee of various types and teas available 24/7. We will definitely stay again. We had a great deal: 2 nights with one night free. We were between 5th and 6th avenue and in a fantastic midtown area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, museums, art galleries, a wide variety of food was available to us within a half block of the hotel. Perfect!

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vitosmom
Business
Utica, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Excellent hotel

This was a great hotel. The location was perfect--close, but not in Time Square, close to Rockefeller Center, Carnegie Hall and Central Park. The staff was exceptional. We called for extra towels and they were delivered in minutes. When we were leaving, a staff person greeted us in the hallway, took our bags and hailed a cab for us. I don't think it took more than 5 minutes to check out and get into a cab. We joked that the only negative we experienced was the ironing board; it was terrible. Other than that, the hotel was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wallace
Business
midwest
Nov 21, 2011

excellent location/clean/no amenaties

all about the location. it was perfect for our purposes. it was clean. it was not ready at the designated 3 pm check in. when i asked the doorman directions to burberry, he suggested i look on the internet. no phone books available. no guest services. also no help calling a cab to get to LGA upon checkout. it was not mentioned the window offered not a street view but directly into other guest rooms. the breakfast/brunch service was cancelled due to a private party. it worked fine for our one night stay. would not recommend it for the price. w

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jason in savannah
Business
savannah ga
Nov 14, 2011

GA couple in NYC

rooms small. bathroom wall definitly not sound proof. very modern decor. GREAT LOCATION!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

don't burn legs out walking 1st part of trip. u end up taking taxis everywhere once you wear out. pick up taxis on the one-ways headed the way you want to go and not just before heavy traffic areas.

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristal
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Oct 14, 2011

3 perfect days in NY

I love this hotel basically because its in the heart of Manhattan, NY. Its near most of the places that I wanted to go to. It was also not hard to commute because the subway is just a block away. The employees in the hotel were also helpful especially since it was our first time touring NY. The room where we stayed in was also a good size. I also liked that our room has a contemporary design. It didnt feel like an old hotel. I also love the cappucino room. :) The only thing I didnt like is that the restroom doesnt have an exhaust fan. My family and I will definitely go back to this hotel whenever we need to go to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shoreham hotel is just near my favorite deli (Carnegie). I think its just 2 blocks away. Its also near a famous chocolate store. :) Its also near the shopping area, central park, rockefeller and times square. Its also near Broadway were we watched Wicked.

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilar
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

A Nice Convenient Location For A Hotel

This hotel was amazing. I enjoyed my stay even if it was only for two nights over the Columbus Day weekend. As soon as you walk in, you can get a vibe that the hotel is somewhat hip and chique as it is meant to attract a younger crowd. The lobby is inviting and the front desk staff were very helpful. It was nice to have a warm welcome to New York after not sleeping the night before (Last Minute Packer!!!). Every visit to New York has been wonderful and this hotel didn't disappoint me for my 10th visit (in my lifetime) to the Big Apple. I traveled with my nineteen year old son and we got an early morning flight and he suggested we take the subway to the hotel ($14.50 for 2 people instead of a $45 cab fare). In case you're wondering, the Shoreham is within walking distance of a train stop (5th Ave and 53rd Street) and also 57th street F train. After about an hours ride on the E train we made it to the hotel in what was a 5 minute walk. We were traveling light so it wasn't difficult for us to take the train and then walk. Unfortunately, we were too early to check in to our room because it had not been cleaned yet. They, however, offered to hold our bags for us if we wanted to do some exploring. Luckily we got to Manhattan around 10am so all of the stores around the area were open for business (Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Prada, Henri Bendel, etc etc) so we visited all the nice places. The only complaint I really had was the view from our window. Our room (610) faced in towards the the alley and the space between the other buildings on the block, so there was nothing interesting to see. The room we had was a bit on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and the the bathroom was spacious. The room was quiet at night so you could sleep comfortably. We don't order room service, so I can't tell you about that but the bellman was quick in bringing up our bags. We did love the location of this hotel because my son and I love Bergdorf and Goodman for all the brands they carry. Also, there are pharmacies close by (Duane Reade) along with a few good restaurants (Rue 57 was excellent!) and then of course all of the shops. If you don't want to spend money on morning coffee or that latte from starbucks, there is an espresso machine near the elevators. I also recommend the restaurant Pizzeria Napoletana Pizzarte 55th street its literally a minute or so away from the hotel (on the same block) heading towards 6th avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you don't feel like forking over money for a morning cup of coffee, the Shoreham has an advanced coffee machine upon exiting the elevators. Its in a small room before reaching the hotel restaurant and the lobby. The machine will make espressos, cappuccinos, lattes, hot milk for hot chocolate, hot water, and has several decaf options.

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 11, 2011

Massaging Chair=AWESOME

Good location. Many things within walking distance or subway stop is VERY close, yet street noise was not bad at all. It never woke us up at night & I am a very light sleeper. Best part of the room was the massaging leather recliner. Our backs hurt after the first few days of doing all of our tourist activities & it was VERY nice to be able to come back, sit down, relax & get a massage. Also, free cappuccino, hot chocolate, latte machine in the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Female Flying O
Business
Powder Springs, Ga
May 1, 2011

Ladies Only, no husbands allowed!!

The day before we were scheduled to arrive in NY, I discovered in my email confirmation that our room "type" had been changed by the online ravel company and not the Hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel, the staff were very freindly and sympathetic to our concerns over the mix up. We received our one room, one bed and checked in. The room was very nice and very clean, The restroom was very clean as well. The hotel staff put us on a list so when a double bed room became available, they could move us. This happened (2) nights into our stay and we loved this room as well. We didin't ask for much from the hitel staff but when we did, they were very accomadating and very pleasant. We did a lot of sight seeing, shopping, took in a Broadway and tried to ride all forms of transportation. Once again, we cannot wait until we take our next trip to New York and stay at the Shoreham Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

To utilize your visit the bestgyou can, figure out where you're going and what you plan to see and do while there. Then get you a map of the area, schedule your trips and map out your location so you don't have to spend time doing this. his.

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madrid, Spain
Apr 25, 2011

Really well located

I went on vacation to New York and gets accommodated in this hotel. It's very modern and very well located. However, the bedrooms are quite normal, not very big or luxurious. On the other hand, I should say that the staff is not very friendly and not helpful at all since I asked them to phone my shuttle and I had to do it myself with the cost of the phone call included in my bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central park

Review of The Shoreham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean B
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 25, 2011

Satisfying Experience

The price was good, the location was convenient, and the room was clean. It was small - acceptable to a solo business traveler, and the shower pan instead of bath tub made the bathroom seem bigger. The decor was reasonable and the room had all the required furniture to get a bit of work done. Free wireless access was a nice bonus (speed checked at around 8 Mb down/5 Mb up with low latency - plenty good enough for work stuff). Overall, I would recommend this hotel to another traveler staying a few days during the week for business - I did not spend any time in the hotel bar nor did I try the food so no comments on those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top