$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Roger Smith

3 stars
View map of 501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
62 reviews
Amazing Trip

Great hotel, perfect location and friendly staff. Will stay again. See full review

  • Tiff N
  • Mar 4, 2015
Great value and even better location

This hotel great value to stay in midtown. I have no complaints about this place. See full review

  • dairyis
  • Jan 19, 2015
Quaint New England boutique off Park Avenue in midtown Manhattan

New England-style coziness has a home in the city at The Roger Smith. Guest rooms and suites offer a breath of fresh air with creamy-colored palettes, a soft atmosphere and homey touches such as a collection of books for bedside reading. Thought-provoking artwork and potted plants create easy comfort throughout the hotel. Yet the boutique Roger Smith is in the heart of Manhattan, only a block from Park Avenue and within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway shows and Central Park. 

Highlights

  • Seasonal rooftop bar with a stellar city view
  • Home-style New England comfort in the city with light and fresh guest rooms and suites
  • Walk to the most famous Manhattan sights, including Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, from the convenient location

Location

Located only a block from tony Park Avenue in midtown east Manhattan, The Roger Smith is more than convenient. Walk to Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park and Rockefeller Center, all nearby. A subway station is several blocks north.

Rooms

Feel at home in the 130 lovely guest rooms and suites at Roger Smith, with a fresh, light and airy atmosphere and a touch of elegant New-England-farmhouse charm. Enjoy a collection of books in every room, plus free Wi-Fi access, free local calls, a cable TV, a mini refrigerator, a coffee-maker, an iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. Junior, one-bedroom and deluxe (with two bedrooms) suites add plenty of extra space -- including a living room, a dining room table and a full kitchenette in the bedroom suites.

Features

The Roger Smith features Lily's Bar and Restaurant, serving breakfast, brunch (weekends), lunch and dinner and known for its fresh American cuisine and seasonal daily specials. Henry's Rooftop Bar (open seasonally) turns evening into an affair to remember, with Manhattan skyscraper views. 

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/28.5 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3 km)

Business

  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Five event-space venues, including Lily's Restaurant, the Starlight Loft and the 16th floor penthouse suite (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger Smith also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Roger Smith Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms features with 2 double beds or 1 king bed with the following amenities: Complimentary wireless Internet Access, Telephones with private voicemail, (free local/800 calls!!), Coffee maker, Mini-refrigerator, Iron/ironing board, Kitcheonettes with Mini-bar (suites only), Book collections, TV/VCR, Full cable access, and Hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi

Dining

Lily's: The Art of Food:
Floor-to-ceiling murals, sculpted bronze statues, and glass etchings are just a few of the bold and imaginative examples of decorative art to flourish in Lily’s, providing the perfect stage for the gourmet talents of Food and Beverage Director Ulrika Bengtsson and Chef de Cuisine Daniel Mowles. Lily’s features live entertainment and a menu of contemporary American cuisine making this a colorful, casual spot for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 62
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elizabeth's Gigi
Business
North Carolina
Nov 10, 2014

Great Girls weekend in NYC!

We loved The Roger Smith Hotel. It was a great location for shopping, theater, restaurants and subway access. The hotel staff was very hospitable and responsive to any need or question. We thought the room was large, by NYC standards, and comfortable with club chairs and a love seat. We will definitely stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
armo1
Business
PA
Jul 21, 2014

family get away visiting son

Family of four visiting son/brother on his summer internship. Hotel Jr. Suite was a cute, homey room with a queen bed and queen size pull out coach. Felt like we were vacationing at grandmas. Great location, accommodating staff, quiet, yummy yogurt and granola in the morning. Easy access unloading and hotel staff valeted car at a nearby garage at $40.00/night. Only complaint was the mattress was a bit lumpy and property felt a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skidmore parent
Business
West Hartford, CT
Jun 30, 2014

Lovely boutique style hotel

The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff attentive and friendly. Although I am a West Side type, the location was very convenient, the vibe cozy and relaxed. High ceilings made the inevitably small room feel spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCTravellerFromBoston
Business
Boston, Ma
Jun 30, 2014

Excellent Location and Big rooms

Excellent location and comfortable big rooms.The suite was as big as a 1BR apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunnies are great pets
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Graduation for our daughter

We were impressed with the room, very large for New York!! Loved the roof top bar. Staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stoneyend77
Business
West Hartford, CT
Apr 20, 2013

A hidden gem!

I spent the longest time searching for an affordable hotel in Manhattan for my family's visit. After weeks of looking, I found the Roger Smith. When we arrived at the hotel, the very friendly staff member offered us a free upgrade to a king suite! We couldn't believe our luck, but I also thought it would be a poor excuse for a king suite. Boy, was I wrong. We had a beautiful hotel room with full size living room and kitchenette. The hotel also offered a free small breakfast of granola, yogurt and apples. The only thing missing from the hotel was a restaurant, which wasn't a big deal for us. The location is conveniently right off the Lexington Avenue entrance of Grand Central Station. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Henb
Business
Baltimore
Dec 3, 2012

Old school, great location

Very nice older property, clean, smallish rooms but nice layout. Shower temps a bit quirky. Perfect for rock center and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler and explorer
Business
North Carolina
Oct 2, 2012

Trip for job interview

The room was lovely and the bed comfortable. We had difficulty with internet access, but on the whole, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some nice dining places nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Average Student
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 4, 2012

Good location, bad amenities

We booked a room that included two double beds, but ended up receiving a king bed. While they called it an upgrade, a king bed certainly doesn't fit 3 people as well as two separate beds. Only upon request did we receive a complimentary roll-out bed, which was uncomfortable and flimsy. The great thing about Roger Smith is its location, however. We were able to walk quickly around Midtown to Rockefeller Center and Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Srinivas
Business
King of Prussia, PA
Aug 6, 2012

Roger Smith is awesome!!

Lady at the front desk is awesome - she helped my family with a great upgrade and she is wonderful to understand my situation. Its great location and worth the price. Me and my parents had a fantastic experience! Thank you roger smith and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top