$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

The Roger Smith

3 stars
501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
Lovely boutique style hotel

The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff attentive and friendly. Although I am a West... See full review

  • Skidmore parent
  • Jun 30, 2014
Great Girls weekend in NYC!

We loved The Roger Smith Hotel. It was a great location for shopping, theater, restaurants and... See full review

  • Elizabeth's Gigi
  • Nov 10, 2014
Quaint New England boutique off Park Avenue in midtown Manhattan

New England-style coziness has a home in the city at The Roger Smith. Guest rooms and suites offer a breath of fresh air with creamy-colored palettes, a soft atmosphere and homey touches such as a collection of books for bedside reading. Thought-provoking artwork and potted plants create easy comfort throughout the hotel. Yet the boutique Roger Smith is in the heart of Manhattan, only a block from Park Avenue and within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway shows and Central Park. 

Highlights

  • Seasonal rooftop bar with a stellar city view
  • Home-style New England comfort in the city with light and fresh guest rooms and suites
  • Walk to the most famous Manhattan sights, including Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, from the convenient location

Location

Located only a block from tony Park Avenue in midtown east Manhattan, The Roger Smith is more than convenient. Walk to Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park and Rockefeller Center, all nearby. A subway station is several blocks north.

Rooms

Feel at home in the 130 lovely guest rooms and suites at Roger Smith, with a fresh, light and airy atmosphere and a touch of elegant New-England-farmhouse charm. Enjoy a collection of books in every room, plus free Wi-Fi access, free local calls, a cable TV, a mini refrigerator, a coffee-maker, an iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. Junior, one-bedroom and deluxe (with two bedrooms) suites add plenty of extra space -- including a living room, a dining room table and a full kitchenette in the bedroom suites.

Features

The Roger Smith features Lily's Bar and Restaurant, serving breakfast, brunch (weekends), lunch and dinner and known for its fresh American cuisine and seasonal daily specials. Henry's Rooftop Bar (open seasonally) turns evening into an affair to remember, with Manhattan skyscraper views. 

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/28.5 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3 km)

Business

  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Five event-space venues, including Lily's Restaurant, the Starlight Loft and the 16th floor penthouse suite (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger Smith also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Roger Smith Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms features with 2 double beds or 1 king bed with the following amenities: Complimentary wireless Internet Access, Telephones with private voicemail, (free local/800 calls!!), Coffee maker, Mini-refrigerator, Iron/ironing board, Kitcheonettes with Mini-bar (suites only), Book collections, TV/VCR, Full cable access, and Hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi

Dining

Lily's: The Art of Food:
Floor-to-ceiling murals, sculpted bronze statues, and glass etchings are just a few of the bold and imaginative examples of decorative art to flourish in Lily’s, providing the perfect stage for the gourmet talents of Food and Beverage Director Ulrika Bengtsson and Chef de Cuisine Daniel Mowles. Lily’s features live entertainment and a menu of contemporary American cuisine making this a colorful, casual spot for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekend in NY
Business
PA
Jul 28, 2014

good choice

Nice location, efficient staff. Nice room, spacious for NYC, though it was hard to find electrical outlets. Rooftop bar is pleasant for a drink & conversation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central Market - nice variety of food & other stuff, easy walk from the Roger Smith.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yogurt Lover
Business
Trenton, NJ
Sep 30, 2013

Free yogurt! Awesome

Spacious room. Great location. Free yogurt and granola, need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
diveski
Business
syracuse
Jun 25, 2013

visiting NYC

ok, clean, friendly, great location, nice roof top bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee super hubby
Business
Northern VA
Oct 30, 2012

nice place, not nice a/c

nice hotel, clean room, interesting shower, great location, nice staff. the problem was the ac that did not work and the room was hot. the street was too noisy to open the window. the staff tried. but ... (no noise problem with the window close) i would still stay there again. and they closed lexington on saturday morning for a huge flea market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you can not get a taxi to take you uptown, don't tell them, just get in the cab, once you are in the cab, they have to take you. and leave early if a hurricane is coming.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Indy VT
Business
Charlotte, VT, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Rough around the edges

The room is no frills but we we OK with that with a "more affordable" rate. Free WIFI was a nice perk. However, the room temp couldn't be easily moderated and we were very uncomfortably hot during the night Also, the mattress wasn't up to conventional/high-end standards. We didn't eat at the hotel so we can't comment on that aspect, but to cap off a less than stellar stay the front desk never answered the phone on 3 separate occasions: once to get our car from valet parking, once to inquire about an extended checkout (no was the answer), and to report there was no hot water (problem was at the street, to be repaired by Con Ed). In summary, I'm going to Marriott next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best breakfast option is Madison Restaurant on 53rd and 1st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Phil
Business
Chicago
Aug 14, 2011

Great proximity to St'Patrick's Cathedral & Waldorf Astoria

Hotel Roger Smith has a gentility reminiscent of the first half of the last century . Refined , elegant, simple & close to locations we needed to be near , i.e. St Patrick's Cathedral & Waldorf Astoria. First stay in Manhattan Hotel in 48 yrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BK Man
Business
NY,NY
Feb 21, 2011

Score should've been a 5 star

The hotel itself was great. I spent it with my special someone. The reason why I'm giving it a 3 star is because of the check out. I booked the reservations about 2 months in advance. I called twice to confirm the the reservations and to conform that I was all paid for. At the check in, I had no problems. The lady told me I'm all paid for and they just needed my card for insurance purposes which is normal. The problem comes at the check out, they come telling me that my card was declined. So now I'm waiting to see if these charges on my bank account will go away or I will have to make a few calls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The price for a hotel in Manhattan is usually close to $200 a night. The price for The Roger Smith was $135.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bookem
Business
Long Island, NY
Dec 6, 2010

A Pleasant Surprise

We go to NYC occasionally for 'getaway' overnight visits. The usual hotels we frequent had raised their rates obscenely, presumably for the holiday season (most were doubled, supply and demand I guess)so rather than cancel our plans altogether we took a chance on this hotel. The reviews on [...] seemed very positive. We don't look for luxury when we hit NYC, just clean, comfortable and pleasant. We hit a home run with this place. The staff could not have been any nicer. It was country hospitality in NYC, pretty rare. Small lobby, artwork everywhere, small elevator, free local and 800 calls, quaint little bar and restaurant in the hotel, decent size room (for NYC) and the small fridge in the room was most welcome. The room was clean, the bed and bedding extremely comfortable. Great value for the price. This will now be the hotel we use on a regular basis for our getaways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey, PA
Jan 17, 2010

Great value for a classic NYC hotel

This was a mini-vacation and the midtown location made it easy to see the sites. Staff was especially helpful and friendly. Room had a homey feel, including a credenza with books to read! I liked that the tv was situated so you could watch from a chair as well as the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
utica,ny
Dec 21, 2009

do not hesitate

nice hotel, great location and price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top