$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

The Roger Smith

3 stars
501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
Lovely boutique style hotel

The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff attentive and friendly. Although I am a West... See full review

  • Skidmore parent
  • Jun 30, 2014
Great Girls weekend in NYC!

We loved The Roger Smith Hotel. It was a great location for shopping, theater, restaurants and... See full review

  • Elizabeth's Gigi
  • Nov 10, 2014
Quaint New England boutique off Park Avenue in midtown Manhattan

New England-style coziness has a home in the city at The Roger Smith. Guest rooms and suites offer a breath of fresh air with creamy-colored palettes, a soft atmosphere and homey touches such as a collection of books for bedside reading. Thought-provoking artwork and potted plants create easy comfort throughout the hotel. Yet the boutique Roger Smith is in the heart of Manhattan, only a block from Park Avenue and within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway shows and Central Park. 

Highlights

  • Seasonal rooftop bar with a stellar city view
  • Home-style New England comfort in the city with light and fresh guest rooms and suites
  • Walk to the most famous Manhattan sights, including Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, from the convenient location

Location

Located only a block from tony Park Avenue in midtown east Manhattan, The Roger Smith is more than convenient. Walk to Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park and Rockefeller Center, all nearby. A subway station is several blocks north.

Rooms

Feel at home in the 130 lovely guest rooms and suites at Roger Smith, with a fresh, light and airy atmosphere and a touch of elegant New-England-farmhouse charm. Enjoy a collection of books in every room, plus free Wi-Fi access, free local calls, a cable TV, a mini refrigerator, a coffee-maker, an iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. Junior, one-bedroom and deluxe (with two bedrooms) suites add plenty of extra space -- including a living room, a dining room table and a full kitchenette in the bedroom suites.

Features

The Roger Smith features Lily's Bar and Restaurant, serving breakfast, brunch (weekends), lunch and dinner and known for its fresh American cuisine and seasonal daily specials. Henry's Rooftop Bar (open seasonally) turns evening into an affair to remember, with Manhattan skyscraper views. 

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/28.5 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3 km)

Business

  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Five event-space venues, including Lily's Restaurant, the Starlight Loft and the 16th floor penthouse suite (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger Smith also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Roger Smith Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms features with 2 double beds or 1 king bed with the following amenities: Complimentary wireless Internet Access, Telephones with private voicemail, (free local/800 calls!!), Coffee maker, Mini-refrigerator, Iron/ironing board, Kitcheonettes with Mini-bar (suites only), Book collections, TV/VCR, Full cable access, and Hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi

Dining

Lily's: The Art of Food:
Floor-to-ceiling murals, sculpted bronze statues, and glass etchings are just a few of the bold and imaginative examples of decorative art to flourish in Lily’s, providing the perfect stage for the gourmet talents of Food and Beverage Director Ulrika Bengtsson and Chef de Cuisine Daniel Mowles. Lily’s features live entertainment and a menu of contemporary American cuisine making this a colorful, casual spot for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TTFrog
Business
China
Mar 18, 2012

Amazing Location

Walking distance to Tima Square, 5th Ave, Madison Ave, Grand Central Terminal... Everywhere!!! The location is so amazing! And they still keep the nice affordable room rates! All the big hotel groups have their branch there. So glad that I found this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Actually Dining, Shopping, Night Life... Everything is close to this place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NanDot
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Location, cleanliness, price!

Rented 2 rooms at an amazing price in February! Wish I could get the same again, as the rooms and location were very nice, and breakfast downstairs was great. Walked everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Srinivas
Business
King of Prussia, PA
Aug 6, 2012

Roger Smith is awesome!!

Lady at the front desk is awesome - she helped my family with a great upgrade and she is wonderful to understand my situation. Its great location and worth the price. Me and my parents had a fantastic experience! Thank you roger smith and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stoneyend77
Business
West Hartford, CT
Apr 20, 2013

A hidden gem!

I spent the longest time searching for an affordable hotel in Manhattan for my family's visit. After weeks of looking, I found the Roger Smith. When we arrived at the hotel, the very friendly staff member offered us a free upgrade to a king suite! We couldn't believe our luck, but I also thought it would be a poor excuse for a king suite. Boy, was I wrong. We had a beautiful hotel room with full size living room and kitchenette. The hotel also offered a free small breakfast of granola, yogurt and apples. The only thing missing from the hotel was a restaurant, which wasn't a big deal for us. The location is conveniently right off the Lexington Avenue entrance of Grand Central Station. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Windsor, Conn.
Nov 23, 2009

Excellent hotel!

The Roger Smith is a charmer -- graceful bronze sculpture outside the door and other bronzes sprinkled throughout the downstairs area, a staff that doesn't ignore you when you approach the front desk (the manager even stepped in to check us in, as the other staffer was on the phone), excellent location, spotless -- just wonderful overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
denika
Business
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Mar 23, 2009

Geat Value, Geat Hotel

This hotel was perfect for my style of travelling. We were in the hotel for about 20% of the trip. If you are the kind of traveller who spends most of their time in the hotel, this is probably not the hotel for you as it does not have an abundance of things to do at the hotel itself. I loved the boutique quality of the hotel, the resturant is great for grabbing a bite on your way out (however there is a bunch of places to eat just about anywhere you go in Manhattan including a great and cheap place right beside the hotel), and the staff are great. The hotel was undergoing some reno but that did not cause any noise or stress. At night there was a little noise but nothing that wasn't to be expected, as you are in a city. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean but slightly small and the washroom was a good size. A great trip, a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2009

Great location and great experience

Staff was very friendly, the rooms were charming (the bed was great - very comfortable) and you can't beat the location in midtown. Numerous dining options nearby. Only drawback is that they do not have a business center (they do have a computer in the lobby at the front desk that you can use).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CG Lacrosse Mom
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 28, 2011

Roger Smith Rocks!

The employees in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Awesome location, centrally located in midtown and a few blocks from Grand Central Station for jumping on the subway. Room was beautiful! We will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigstimpycat
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Jun 23, 2011

Couldn't have been better! Stay here!

Listen to me - this place is a joy! Our room & bathroom were EXTREMELY clean, the bed was very comfortable, the decor was charming, the staff was so helpful, the price was a STEAL & there was even free HBO - what's not to love? I couldn't have been more pleased - this is officially my regular NYC hotel from now on. Believe me when I tell you the Roger Smith is a treasure - the price is a real bargain for being so wonderful AND so near to Grand Central. Rooms might be a bit small for some but it was fine for my sister & I. I guarantee you will not be sorry if you stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a fun, affordable, delicious & different Italian dining experience, go down to Eataly (200th Fifth Avenue). It's a big Italian market with several Italian restaurants inside! You'll have a great time. And rejoice rejoice - Magnolia Bakery now has a kiosk in Grand Central Station! Love them yummy yummy cupcakes!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 8, 2008

Great Place

Very pleased with the Roger Smith. The room was a good size, the staff friendly,the art work charming and everything was clean. The Roger Smith will be my go to hotel in midtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top