$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Roger Smith

3 stars
View map of 501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue Cris
Family
St Louis, MO, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Loved the Roger Smith

The rooms were charming, old-fashioned (in a good way) and comfortable, with everything you expect. Plants and books were a nice touch, as was the doily under glass on the dresser. Best of all, each employee I encountered was thoughtful, intelligent, smiling and helpful. Kind, even. Much, much more interesting than a chain hotel. There's also a very good cheap pizza place right across the street, and a drugstore next door. Handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place across the street is cheap and fantastic, with nice employees. Also has breakfast food. In-house restaurant overpriced.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrmri
Business
Florida
Dec 15, 2011

Quick Trip

Location was fine, close to work site. Good choice of restaurants in the area.. Needs a comfortable armchair in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks just steps away from Hotel.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Indy VT
Couples
Charlotte, VT, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Rough around the edges

The room is no frills but we we OK with that with a "more affordable" rate. Free WIFI was a nice perk. However, the room temp couldn't be easily moderated and we were very uncomfortably hot during the night Also, the mattress wasn't up to conventional/high-end standards. We didn't eat at the hotel so we can't comment on that aspect, but to cap off a less than stellar stay the front desk never answered the phone on 3 separate occasions: once to get our car from valet parking, once to inquire about an extended checkout (no was the answer), and to report there was no hot water (problem was at the street, to be repaired by Con Ed). In summary, I'm going to Marriott next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best breakfast option is Madison Restaurant on 53rd and 1st.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lroys
Friends
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Centrally located classic hotel

Great location that was close to subway, times square and a lot of the tourist sights. Parking was around the corner as was some great places for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff was very helpful with great recommendations . A few Mac computers in the lobby were great for looking and researching last minute adventures...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asip
Business
Stanford,CA
Oct 2, 2011

pretty good

the hotel situated in a good place and is convenient to the major place in New york. The service is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chompc
Friends
Valley Stream, NY, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Value

The hotel is nicely located in midtown with shops and store within a few blocks of the hotel. Service is. OK. The hotel building however is old but clean. Room still has the old TV which is OK but the chairs were dirty with stains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Phil
Couples
Chicago
Aug 14, 2011

Great proximity to St'Patrick's Cathedral & Waldorf Astoria

Hotel Roger Smith has a gentility reminiscent of the first half of the last century . Refined , elegant, simple & close to locations we needed to be near , i.e. St Patrick's Cathedral & Waldorf Astoria. First stay in Manhattan Hotel in 48 yrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigstimpycat
Family
Cape Cod, MA
Jun 23, 2011

Couldn't have been better! Stay here!

Listen to me - this place is a joy! Our room & bathroom were EXTREMELY clean, the bed was very comfortable, the decor was charming, the staff was so helpful, the price was a STEAL & there was even free HBO - what's not to love? I couldn't have been more pleased - this is officially my regular NYC hotel from now on. Believe me when I tell you the Roger Smith is a treasure - the price is a real bargain for being so wonderful AND so near to Grand Central. Rooms might be a bit small for some but it was fine for my sister & I. I guarantee you will not be sorry if you stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a fun, affordable, delicious & different Italian dining experience, go down to Eataly (200th Fifth Avenue). It's a big Italian market with several Italian restaurants inside! You'll have a great time. And rejoice rejoice - Magnolia Bakery now has a kiosk in Grand Central Station! Love them yummy yummy cupcakes!!

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg, VA
Jun 2, 2011

An old favoritr

They have remodeled many of the rooms and the place looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CG Lacrosse Mom
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 28, 2011

Roger Smith Rocks!

The employees in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Awesome location, centrally located in midtown and a few blocks from Grand Central Station for jumping on the subway. Room was beautiful! We will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top