$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

The Roger Smith

3 stars
501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
57 reviews
Lovely boutique style hotel

The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff attentive and friendly. Although I am a West... See full review

  • Skidmore parent
  • Jun 30, 2014
good choice

Nice location, efficient staff. Nice room, spacious for NYC, though it was hard to find electrical... See full review

  • weekend in NY
  • Jul 28, 2014
Quaint New England boutique off Park Avenue in midtown Manhattan

New England-style coziness has a home in the city at The Roger Smith. Guest rooms and suites offer a breath of fresh air with creamy-colored palettes, a soft atmosphere and homey touches such as a collection of books for bedside reading. Thought-provoking artwork and potted plants create easy comfort throughout the hotel. Yet the boutique Roger Smith is in the heart of Manhattan, only a block from Park Avenue and within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway shows and Central Park. 

Highlights

  • Seasonal rooftop bar with a stellar city view
  • Home-style New England comfort in the city with light and fresh guest rooms and suites
  • Walk to the most famous Manhattan sights, including Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center, from the convenient location

Location

Located only a block from tony Park Avenue in midtown east Manhattan, The Roger Smith is more than convenient. Walk to Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park and Rockefeller Center, all nearby. A subway station is several blocks north.

Rooms

Feel at home in the 130 lovely guest rooms and suites at Roger Smith, with a fresh, light and airy atmosphere and a touch of elegant New-England-farmhouse charm. Enjoy a collection of books in every room, plus free Wi-Fi access, free local calls, a cable TV, a mini refrigerator, a coffee-maker, an iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. Junior, one-bedroom and deluxe (with two bedrooms) suites add plenty of extra space -- including a living room, a dining room table and a full kitchenette in the bedroom suites.

Features

The Roger Smith features Lily's Bar and Restaurant, serving breakfast, brunch (weekends), lunch and dinner and known for its fresh American cuisine and seasonal daily specials. Henry's Rooftop Bar (open seasonally) turns evening into an affair to remember, with Manhattan skyscraper views. 

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Penn Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.1 mi/17.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17 mi/28.5 km)

Attractions

  • Rockefeller Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Empire State Building (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3 km)

Business

  • Free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Five event-space venues, including Lily's Restaurant, the Starlight Loft and the 16th floor penthouse suite (fees apply)

Hotel Map

40.7548 -73.9736
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy 17.9 Miles ETA: 45 min , Newark 17.4 miles ETA: 45 min , and La Guardia 8.7 miles
Area description
Centrally located in East Midtown Manhattan, on 47th Street and Lexington Avenue, the Roger Smith Hotel is conveniently located in short walking distance of the following landmarks and attractions: Chrysler Building, Grand Central Terminal, MOMA (Museum of Modern Art), Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the United Nations Building East just to name a few.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger Smith also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Roger Smith Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms features with 2 double beds or 1 king bed with the following amenities: Complimentary wireless Internet Access, Telephones with private voicemail, (free local/800 calls!!), Coffee maker, Mini-refrigerator, Iron/ironing board, Kitcheonettes with Mini-bar (suites only), Book collections, TV/VCR, Full cable access, and Hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.5 mi
  • University Club: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.6 mi

Dining

Lily's: The Art of Food:
Floor-to-ceiling murals, sculpted bronze statues, and glass etchings are just a few of the bold and imaginative examples of decorative art to flourish in Lily’s, providing the perfect stage for the gourmet talents of Food and Beverage Director Ulrika Bengtsson and Chef de Cuisine Daniel Mowles. Lily’s features live entertainment and a menu of contemporary American cuisine making this a colorful, casual spot for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asip
Business
Stanford,CA
Oct 2, 2011

pretty good

the hotel situated in a good place and is convenient to the major place in New york. The service is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chompc
Business
Valley Stream, NY, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Value

The hotel is nicely located in midtown with shops and store within a few blocks of the hotel. Service is. OK. The hotel building however is old but clean. Room still has the old TV which is OK but the chairs were dirty with stains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Phil
Business
Chicago
Aug 14, 2011

Great proximity to St'Patrick's Cathedral & Waldorf Astoria

Hotel Roger Smith has a gentility reminiscent of the first half of the last century . Refined , elegant, simple & close to locations we needed to be near , i.e. St Patrick's Cathedral & Waldorf Astoria. First stay in Manhattan Hotel in 48 yrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigstimpycat
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Jun 23, 2011

Couldn't have been better! Stay here!

Listen to me - this place is a joy! Our room & bathroom were EXTREMELY clean, the bed was very comfortable, the decor was charming, the staff was so helpful, the price was a STEAL & there was even free HBO - what's not to love? I couldn't have been more pleased - this is officially my regular NYC hotel from now on. Believe me when I tell you the Roger Smith is a treasure - the price is a real bargain for being so wonderful AND so near to Grand Central. Rooms might be a bit small for some but it was fine for my sister & I. I guarantee you will not be sorry if you stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

For a fun, affordable, delicious & different Italian dining experience, go down to Eataly (200th Fifth Avenue). It's a big Italian market with several Italian restaurants inside! You'll have a great time. And rejoice rejoice - Magnolia Bakery now has a kiosk in Grand Central Station! Love them yummy yummy cupcakes!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg, VA
Jun 2, 2011

An old favoritr

They have remodeled many of the rooms and the place looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CG Lacrosse Mom
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 28, 2011

Roger Smith Rocks!

The employees in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Awesome location, centrally located in midtown and a few blocks from Grand Central Station for jumping on the subway. Room was beautiful! We will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BK Man
Business
NY,NY
Feb 21, 2011

Score should've been a 5 star

The hotel itself was great. I spent it with my special someone. The reason why I'm giving it a 3 star is because of the check out. I booked the reservations about 2 months in advance. I called twice to confirm the the reservations and to conform that I was all paid for. At the check in, I had no problems. The lady told me I'm all paid for and they just needed my card for insurance purposes which is normal. The problem comes at the check out, they come telling me that my card was declined. So now I'm waiting to see if these charges on my bank account will go away or I will have to make a few calls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The price for a hotel in Manhattan is usually close to $200 a night. The price for The Roger Smith was $135.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flooberg
Business
Metro Detroit, MI
Jan 10, 2011

Exellent place

Me and a friend stayed here over new years eve. The hotel was great, kinda old school yet very artistic. They had interesting paintings everywhere. I loved the character of the old building. The rooms were a solid price and very big by standards compared dollar per sq. foot. Location of the hotel is excellent too, only a few blocks away from Grand Central Station, and plenty of bars and restaurants very close by (including the one in the lobby). If you're a partier there is a liquor store across the street ( those are't too common in manhattan).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the subway, take it down to Bleeker street to the Village. Super fun parties and bars down there. Saw some awesome comedians at some clubs and heard some sweet bands at the bars. Drinks/Food/Entertainment is 50% cheaper and more plentiful there than in Manhattan. It's a kind of long walk south down to the 23-30th street area, but its not that bad. Best way like I said above is Subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bookem
Business
Long Island, NY
Dec 6, 2010

A Pleasant Surprise

We go to NYC occasionally for 'getaway' overnight visits. The usual hotels we frequent had raised their rates obscenely, presumably for the holiday season (most were doubled, supply and demand I guess)so rather than cancel our plans altogether we took a chance on this hotel. The reviews on [...] seemed very positive. We don't look for luxury when we hit NYC, just clean, comfortable and pleasant. We hit a home run with this place. The staff could not have been any nicer. It was country hospitality in NYC, pretty rare. Small lobby, artwork everywhere, small elevator, free local and 800 calls, quaint little bar and restaurant in the hotel, decent size room (for NYC) and the small fridge in the room was most welcome. The room was clean, the bed and bedding extremely comfortable. Great value for the price. This will now be the hotel we use on a regular basis for our getaways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
self
Business
NYC
Apr 28, 2010

Roger Smith

great art

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top