$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Roger Smith

3 stars
View map of 501 Lexington Ave., New York, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Roger Smith

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpaceCadet Starfire
Business
Greensboro, NC
Oct 17, 2012

The Roger Smith was a pleasant surprise.

We were delighted with our stay at The Roger Smith with a few exceptions. The rooftop bar was closed for some reason, as was the bar next to the lobby, and the elevators were too small to accommodate a wheelchair. Fortunately my friend was able to stand for the ride up to our floor, but it could have been very awkward to have to use the service elevator or something all the time. Otherwise, the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was heavenly, and the bathroom was like out of a movie set. Quaint is a word that comes to mind here. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a deli across the street and under the Manhattan Athletic Club that has a wide variety of food for reasonable prices. Their Rasberry Chocolate coffe is to die for.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler and explorer
Business
North Carolina
Oct 2, 2012

Trip for job interview

The room was lovely and the bed comfortable. We had difficulty with internet access, but on the whole, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some nice dining places nearby.

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Newyorker
Business
Illinois
Sep 24, 2012

One free day

It is a nice stay. Great location, convenient for everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC10014
Business
New York, NY
Sep 11, 2012

Good choice in midtown east!

Nice staff and a lots of nice features in terms of furniture in the rooms. Two comfortable high backed armchairs..a good large desk...plenty of drawer space for clothes in the large bureau. Nice lighting. Comfortable bed with good linens and pillow. Not "hip"...it is confortable hotel that calls back to another time even while it has it's modern rooftop bar and also adjoining bar/bistro on the street. Not expensive at all compared to the choices right up lexington. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Average Student
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 4, 2012

Good location, bad amenities

We booked a room that included two double beds, but ended up receiving a king bed. While they called it an upgrade, a king bed certainly doesn't fit 3 people as well as two separate beds. Only upon request did we receive a complimentary roll-out bed, which was uncomfortable and flimsy. The great thing about Roger Smith is its location, however. We were able to walk quickly around Midtown to Rockefeller Center and Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KL law student
Business
Connecticut
Jul 2, 2012

Walking distance from Grand Central

I booked a room with two full beds and at first they put us in a room with only one bed so when we went back down to the lobby to remedy the situation, one of the employees started to give us attitude and was making it seem like we were just going to have to "deal with it." Then the other man, I think he was the manager, took care of the situation. Very nice man, he upgraded us to a jr. suite for no extra charge!! The only other thing worth noting is that the room was on the warm side. It did have air conditioning, but I was really hot and didn't sleep that well. It also was in the 90s outside so that might have something to do with it. Overall good stay, only a few blocks from grand central station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuneBugg02
Business
Chantilly, VA
Jun 25, 2012

Great hotel

Great location - we were able to walk to most attractions. My daughter and I were traveling together, and this hotel offers a room with 2 double beds, which was perfect for us. The only negative, is that the a/c did not cool the room as much as I like, but it was certainly tolerable, and overall, well worth the price. The room was very clean and comfortable - toiletries and hair dryer provided. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NanDot
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Location, cleanliness, price!

Rented 2 rooms at an amazing price in February! Wish I could get the same again, as the rooms and location were very nice, and breakfast downstairs was great. Walked everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TTFrog
Business
China
Mar 18, 2012

Amazing Location

Walking distance to Tima Square, 5th Ave, Madison Ave, Grand Central Terminal... Everywhere!!! The location is so amazing! And they still keep the nice affordable room rates! All the big hotel groups have their branch there. So glad that I found this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Actually Dining, Shopping, Night Life... Everything is close to this place!

Review of The Roger Smith

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sporty girl
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Good Stay

Went for a quick last minute end of year trip to NYC and found the Roger Smith! We loved the location as we could walk to American Girl Store, Rockefeller Center, St. Patricks Cathedral, Times Square and ice skating at Bryant Park! There was nothing overly special about the room but nothing wrong either. Everything was clean and neat and the price was right. We didn't stay in the room very long and but it served our purposes perfectly at the right price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top