$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
136 reviews
holiday stay

It's becoming one of my favorite hotels in NYC. Nice location to Fifth ave and Ktown. The staffs... See full review

  • Fiona B
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great Hotel

My wife and I stayed here for one evening. We were supposed to attend a party that was cancelled so... See full review

  • J Stile
  • Jan 9, 2015
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiona B
Business
temple city
Jan 22, 2015

holiday stay

It's becoming one of my favorite hotels in NYC. Nice location to Fifth ave and Ktown. The staffs and service are great. Nice room too. The only problem is that you can hear people's talk from the next room. But overall, really nice hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Stile
Business
Kissimmee
Jan 9, 2015

Great Hotel

My wife and I stayed here for one evening. We were supposed to attend a party that was cancelled so we spent the night out on the town. The rooms were small but high end and cozy. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dos Caminos is a great Mexican restaurant 5 blocks south of the hotel on Park Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosio E.
Business
Ossining
Jan 7, 2015

Great deal!

Great place, good location, and the service was top notch. The corner room was roomy, but my boys had a double room which was smaller but had a larger bathroom, but both rooms were very comfortable with great views of Madison Ave. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Their valet parking is $50 dollars a day, but self parking was $30 dollars and it was only a short walk away, this is an amazing deal for the location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lopez
Business
PHILADELPHIA
Jan 6, 2015

Excellent overnight stay

My wife and I decided to celebrate her 30th birthday in NYC so I wanted to stay at a nice place that was close to everything. I am very happy we choose The Roger. We only stayed one night, but for the price ($170), it was a great deal. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and the room decor was simple and relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful. They provided us with an extra hour to check out, good directions to a local pharmacy and train station, and waved down a cab for us quickly when we were in a rush to make our dinner reservations. The hotel is a quick cab ride away to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and areas like Chelsea or East Village. The only negative thing I can remember, was the room needing more light when trying to get dressed after the sun went down. I will definitely stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summerofjamie
Business
Santa Clarita
May 24, 2014

Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch. The room is great also the food is exceptional in the restaurant. Highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little coffee shop 3 doors down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLeigh
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 27, 2013

A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern, which the hotel promptly addressed: we had reserved a deluxe king room; when we checked in, we were given a very small room with a double bed that filled most of the room. We returned to the check-in desk and explained the problem, and were given a new room. This room, with a king bed, was delightful--spacious, comfortable, and very clean and attractive. The bath has very nice toiletries and was also very clean. The hotel lobby is quite stylish and attractive. We loved the location--less than two blocks to a subway stop for the 6 line. We felt safe I. The neighborhood at night and had some good meals nearby. We will look forward to going again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghenrow
Business
Philly
Feb 18, 2013

Roger Hotel

The Staff at the Hotel are professional but warm and very helpful. The facilities are very good and the individual rooms are nicely appointed and bathrooms and rooms are spotless. The only problem we had was that the room was very warm (77F) and we were unable to get the thermostat to adjust the temperature. The hotel breakfast buffet was lovely and the staff was very attentive. Would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaraunt names: Artisanal (french) at 2 Park Ave (32nd street) Ny, Ny --wonderful cheese cave --great food, fondue, and cheese and wine. Also can purchase cheese from their selections for carry out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LOST
Business
Gibraltar
Dec 13, 2012

girls getaway

great location - away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway although very near entertainment area and walking distance to upper, lower, east and west Manhattan; rooms are clean and beds very comfy, however not much room to manoeuvre and not much hanging space. Rooms could do with more lighting! otherwise a super hotel; this is the 2nd time I've stayed at The Roger;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rana
Business
Mexico City
Nov 20, 2012

Great hotel

You get what you pay. Nice clean hotel friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The2ofUs
Business
Cambridge, MA
Sep 25, 2012

Comfortable European Style Hotel

My husband and I had the best night's sleep in months. The bed was comfy, the room clean, the amenities adequate. The room was small, but very quiet. We looked out onto an air shaft, something I don't mind because one can leave the shades open while dressing and at night it was very dark-- excellent for sleeping late! The staff was friendly, and with the exception of getting stuck in the elevator for about 10 minutes, everything was fine. We did not try the restaurant, but ate at an excellent restaurant (The Silk Road) about 10 minutes away and had a glass of wine at the Italian restaurant across the street. The hotel is close enough to mid-town, theaters, Central Park, and Times Square if you like to walk. It's also close to the subway; we ex-New Yorkers travel everywhere on foot or by subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Silk Road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top