$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
View map of 131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kiya
Business
montclair, nj
Feb 22, 2010

love it

my experience was great...staff were attentive and extremely nice, I def. enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kiya
Business
montclair, nj
Feb 22, 2010

love it

my experience was great...staff were attentive and extremely nice, I def. enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jan 24, 2010

Friendly , Cozy Spot

Very friendly staff in a great location. Rooms are small but comprable size to NYC hotels we're stayed at. Clean, well kept and a fun place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first time overnight in NYC
Business
MD
Jan 18, 2010

Will return to this hotel

More than expected : friendly,hospitable , comfortable, helpful to a visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Weekend
Business
New Jersey
Jan 11, 2010

Great Service!

We came in for a weekend in the city. Service was great! The room was also very clean and very quiet. Loved the bar before we headed out for the night. Only complaint is the size of the room, but it's pretty standard for NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diappointed
Business
Setauket, NY
Dec 19, 2009

Heat- Unbearable!

Would'nt have been terrible if we could have lowered the heat. Our first impression from the street was that it was a beautiful hotel. It was decorated with christmas lights and looked very elegant. The lobby was very nice as well. Our room was small and the bathroom reminded us of an airplane bathroom. It was very small. As I said before it would'nt have been terrible if we could only lower the heat. My husband and I were there to celebrate his 50th birthday. When we returned from dinner we knew we could'nt spend the night in such a warm room. I called the desk and the clerk said he would move us to a different room. We moved to a floor below but the room there seemed quite warm as well. I assumed it would get a little cooler. We even put on the a/c but we could never get the room cooler than 78 degrees. We could'nt sleep all night. When I complained to the manager at the front desk in the morning she said she couldnt give us any credit because we prepaid [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great restaurants in the area.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Night New Yorker
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 30, 2009

Great price/service and Room

We are from Philly and we wanted to spend a weekend in NYC. We know the city and didn't feel like imposing on friends for a place to stay. It was super romantic and the room was spacious. We didn't want to leave the bed it was so comfy. There were a few things worth noting about the hotel but the highlight was the rooms for sure. I would say where it lacks is the lounge area isn't uber swanky and you feel as though its a public traffic area when you are looking for a more quiet place you can hang out in. The good news is if you are looking to do that you can just go to another hotel to feel swanky, like the Royalton and buy a drink there. I would recommend this hotel for couples, singles, travellers, business people, and maybe families, depending on if you can get a larger room for more people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't know the city very well this location is very walkable to East Village as well as the main city attractions. There are great restaurants down in the village that are more affordable. A great place we went was Veselka for some Ukrainian perogies and some delicious treats. We walked almost the entire time because the distances are not bad.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Nov 9, 2009

good location price resonable

I felt a little closed in there was on veiw, only a brick wall. although the window was covered with a japanese style screen and lit from behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sf,ca
Nov 1, 2009

Solid value

most excellent, worked well with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great Korean restaurants and spas

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocky Mount, NC
Oct 28, 2009

Nice Digs

Great location and friendly, helpful staff! Subway was close by as well as shopping and restaurants. The only negative: Could not get a queen bed in room with two beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top