$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elisabeth29
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 18, 2010

Clean, modern & a great bargain in NYC!

I was there just for 1 night visiting friends. Great location, big room (by NYC standards), not too noisy, very modern. Great value and perfect for a night out in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scribe and Shrink
Business
Marion, VA
Mar 16, 2010

Very nice place, all the way 'round

We went to NYC for a long weekend and wanted a nice hotel in a good, central location so that we could walk to many desirable places (Times Square, the Guggenheim, restaurants--mind you, we're accustomed to walking long distances). The Roger fit the bill perfectly! The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was great--good food, nice variety, great coffee. Our room with 2 doubles suited us just fine. Bathroom is indeed small, but who cares? We weren't having a convention in there. In between visits to museums, musicals, shops, and restaurants, we found our room at the Roger very restful--so much so that we dined in the room one of the nights we were there. Would I would stay at the Roger again? You bet--in a New York minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to TKTS discount ticket booth in Times Square to get cheaper tickets to plays and musicals. Is definitely worth the wait in line!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fingerlakes New York
Mar 15, 2010

Outstanding, clean and pleasant

the hotel was clean, staff were outstanding. I did not use fitness room but it looked nice. Room and bed were perfect. I got a queen room and maybe was lucky, corner room with great view of NYC. Convenient location. Right by the subway, walk to penn station. Two laptops in lobby to help you with reservations however, both were being used by two people for a long, long time so I did give up on this but if available it would have been convenient. I would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kiya
Business
montclair, nj
Feb 22, 2010

love it

my experience was great...staff were attentive and extremely nice, I def. enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jan 24, 2010

Friendly , Cozy Spot

Very friendly staff in a great location. Rooms are small but comprable size to NYC hotels we're stayed at. Clean, well kept and a fun place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first time overnight in NYC
Business
MD
Jan 18, 2010

Will return to this hotel

More than expected : friendly,hospitable , comfortable, helpful to a visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Weekend
Business
New Jersey
Jan 11, 2010

Great Service!

We came in for a weekend in the city. Service was great! The room was also very clean and very quiet. Loved the bar before we headed out for the night. Only complaint is the size of the room, but it's pretty standard for NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Diappointed
Business
Setauket, NY
Dec 19, 2009

Heat- Unbearable!

Would'nt have been terrible if we could have lowered the heat. Our first impression from the street was that it was a beautiful hotel. It was decorated with christmas lights and looked very elegant. The lobby was very nice as well. Our room was small and the bathroom reminded us of an airplane bathroom. It was very small. As I said before it would'nt have been terrible if we could only lower the heat. My husband and I were there to celebrate his 50th birthday. When we returned from dinner we knew we could'nt spend the night in such a warm room. I called the desk and the clerk said he would move us to a different room. We moved to a floor below but the room there seemed quite warm as well. I assumed it would get a little cooler. We even put on the a/c but we could never get the room cooler than 78 degrees. We could'nt sleep all night. When I complained to the manager at the front desk in the morning she said she couldnt give us any credit because we prepaid [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Night New Yorker
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 30, 2009

Great price/service and Room

We are from Philly and we wanted to spend a weekend in NYC. We know the city and didn't feel like imposing on friends for a place to stay. It was super romantic and the room was spacious. We didn't want to leave the bed it was so comfy. There were a few things worth noting about the hotel but the highlight was the rooms for sure. I would say where it lacks is the lounge area isn't uber swanky and you feel as though its a public traffic area when you are looking for a more quiet place you can hang out in. The good news is if you are looking to do that you can just go to another hotel to feel swanky, like the Royalton and buy a drink there. I would recommend this hotel for couples, singles, travellers, business people, and maybe families, depending on if you can get a larger room for more people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't know the city very well this location is very walkable to East Village as well as the main city attractions. There are great restaurants down in the village that are more affordable. A great place we went was Veselka for some Ukrainian perogies and some delicious treats. We walked almost the entire time because the distances are not bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Nov 9, 2009

good location price resonable

I felt a little closed in there was on veiw, only a brick wall. although the window was covered with a japanese style screen and lit from behind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top