$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key Biscayne, FL
Apr 20, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

The service was excellent, very well kept, clean, great sound proofing, helpful staff makes you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 19, 2010

It was OK

Even before I got to the hotel I had to talk to management 4 times. It was a horrible start to a "vacation."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J, Happy single traveler
Business
Sewell, NJ
Apr 19, 2010

Comfortable, attractive w/great staff

I was in town for one night and wanted something clean and safe. I found the hotel to be if not luxurious, definitely first rate for clean, comfortable, safe, and nicely decorated. It was a totally pleasant experience. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I loved the location. Murray Hill is a very upbeat yet quiet neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is a Starbucks right around the corner on Park Ave So. It is an easy cab ride from Penn Station where I came in and out by train. There are small pleasant restaurants around the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shaker Hts Ohio
Apr 19, 2010

great Hotel. great service. the best

My 18 year old son and I went to NY to visit Columbia University in order for him to pick a college. The staff at the hotel was the best I've ever experienced. The restaurants around the hotel were wonderful and the staff made recommendations and reservations. I loved the colors also. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a wonderful value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hillstone restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Apr 16, 2010

Perfect!!!

Front Desk staff was very accomodating and helpful. Im in the industry and its sometimes hard to have a great staff that are all more than welcome to help with any requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All of 34th Street is great for shopping on any budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Apr 13, 2010

Review of hotel stay

Did not like the hidden costs. Bathroom supplies, way to expensive,bowl of candy & treats start $5.00 and up. Room VERY small. Mirror in bathroom covered facets. Staff very nice staff, did not clean floors daily, did remake the beds. I would consider staying there again, only asking for a bigger room, which you got breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, ME
Apr 12, 2010

Roger WIlliams--great stay

First trip to NYC in 25 years and we had a great stay at The Roger Williams. 31st and Madison close enough to walk almost everywhere we wanted, some great restaurants in the area ESB just two blocks away. The staff was great, we were never introduced to the doorman but he knew our name from the first time we left the building :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved Ayza just about 2 blocks up 31st. It's a wine and chocolate bar and make incredible chocolate martinis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm a Wanderer
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 9, 2010

Great Location at an Affordable Price

I travel for a vacation from the Caribbean and found a goog hotel, with modern bright decoration, right near everything and at an affordable price. I was walking distance from Penn Station from where I moved to Queens, Shouth Port,Ground Zero, Central Park and even to the airport via Jamaica Station and the LIRR train. When back, I was able to rest well because the hotel is quiet.The room was clean and the employees were friendly. I would surely stay again tbere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Intrepid Ship.I was able to step into a Concord airplane that is in exhibition there. A dream come true.They have a lot of planes in exhibition and also a submarine. Nice experience for the children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 4, 2010

Good place to stay

The hotel has a modernist European feel to it. It's in a good location which is NOT midtown as i don't like staying with millions of other people. The bed is very comfortable and I spent a few bucks more for a corner room. However, next time I will ask for a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Deaux Amis on 51st and 1st ave is a very nice bistro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
allentown, pa
Mar 21, 2010

nice place

Everhthing was great except that we could not regualate the room temperature and it was too hot. My fault that I didn't complain about it during our 3 day stay, as the staff was courteous and most likely would have taken care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top