$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9843
Area served
Murray Hill
Nearby airports
LGA-LaGuardia Airport JFK
Area description
Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Jacob Javits Center, Penn Station, Macy's, Shopping and dining

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger Williams Rocks!
Long Beach, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Fabulous establishment

I have stayed in some moderately luxury hotels and expected this hotel to have the same standards. (courteous staff, clean hotel, good location, etc.) I also wanted to stay in a hotel that was bright, comfortable and warm. This hotel had all of that. We flew into NY early on a redeye from LAX and took the trains into the city and walked to the hotel. Took a little over an a hour but it was pretty simple. Luckily there was a room available for us to check into at 11am! (reg. check in is 3pm or so) However, the room we got had a window that was covered up because it had a view of a brick wall of the building next door. I called right away, and asked if there was anything else. The front desk was SUPER polite and ready to help us out. She said "we know exactly what you are looking for, but hold on for a few minutes because we are having them clean it up right now". So we waited in the original room until the front desk called us back after 5min and said that our room was ready and someone was going to be delivering the keys the the room we were in. I was hoping this would happen but many hotels would have had us come all the way back down to retrieve the keys! Needless to say, our new room had a great window that viewed the streets below and was roomier. Their weekend breakfast was a pretty good deal too($18/pp but buy one get one half off - buffet) and YUMMY considering how much you would have been spending if you went anywhere else in NY. Nice spread. Subway is only 2 streets away and very accessible. Hotel was really close to Empire State Building and downtown but I'd say it was in a quieter part of town so you could get a good nights rest. Unlike areas near Time Square from all the people, cars, and lights. Hotel Roger Williams is a fabulous establishment! They were just out of the yummy robes that I wanted to purchase. ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's helpful to talk to anyone at the hotel about your plans for the day because they can give you helpful hints on where to start first, how to get there and what else to hit up on the way. All the staff members were there to help you have a great time in NYC.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2009

A Great Hotel in NY

This ws my second stay at Hotel Roger Williams. I had a lovely room with a comfy king size bed. Although the bathroom was on the small side it was fine for one person. The best things about this hotel are the wonderful location and the attentive staff. I'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger Williams Rocks!
Long Beach, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Fabulous establishment

I have stayed in some moderately luxury hotels and expected this hotel to have the same standards. (courteous staff, clean hotel, good location, etc.) I also wanted to stay in a hotel that was bright, comfortable and warm. This hotel had all of that. We flew into NY early on a redeye from LAX and took the trains into the city and walked to the hotel. Took a little over an a hour but it was pretty simple. Luckily there was a room available for us to check into at 11am! (reg. check in is 3pm or so) However, the room we got had a window that was covered up because it had a view of a brick wall of the building next door. I called right away, and asked if there was anything else. The front desk was SUPER polite and ready to help us out. She said "we know exactly what you are looking for, but hold on for a few minutes because we are having them clean it up right now". So we waited in the original room until the front desk called us back after 5min and said that our room was ready and someone was going to be delivering the keys the the room we were in. I was hoping this would happen but many hotels would have had us come all the way back down to retrieve the keys! Needless to say, our new room had a great window that viewed the streets below and was roomier. Their weekend breakfast was a pretty good deal too($18/pp but buy one get one half off - buffet) and YUMMY considering how much you would have been spending if you went anywhere else in NY. Nice spread. Subway is only 2 streets away and very accessible. Hotel was really close to Empire State Building and downtown but I'd say it was in a quieter part of town so you could get a good nights rest. Unlike areas near Time Square from all the people, cars, and lights. Hotel Roger Williams is a fabulous establishment! They were just out of the yummy robes that I wanted to purchase. ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's helpful to talk to anyone at the hotel about your plans for the day because they can give you helpful hints on where to start first, how to get there and what else to hit up on the way. All the staff members were there to help you have a great time in NYC.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2009

A Great Hotel in NY

This ws my second stay at Hotel Roger Williams. I had a lovely room with a comfy king size bed. Although the bathroom was on the small side it was fine for one person. The best things about this hotel are the wonderful location and the attentive staff. I'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas James
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 28, 2009

Best location- close to everything

Great Mid-Town location with a very friendly attentive staff, made for a trouble free trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to some very good Park Ave restaurants.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas James
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 28, 2009

Best location- close to everything

Great Mid-Town location with a very friendly attentive staff, made for a trouble free trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to some very good Park Ave restaurants.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super grandmom
Atlantic City, NJ
Jul 27, 2009

First class service, enjoyed our stay

The location was excellent and we enjoyed our stay - very nice hotel. The buffet breakfast was very good, the room service was a little over price, so be careful and rethink the room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jul 27, 2009

Perfect Service and Location

I live in the city, my friend's plane got delayed for a couple of days, so we decided to grab a deluxe double-bed room for the night. The staff and look of Roger Williams is really fantastic. You rarely meet that friendly of people in NY. They really go out of their way to accommodate you. The rooms were clean, quiet, and the beds were comfy. The room is also a really good size for NY. A lot of people don't understand that you won't get giant rooms in Manhattan. The only caveat was the extremely small bathroom, which is common, but still off putting. The location: I could see the Empire State Building up close from the window. The hotel is a five minute walk from Empire State, 10 min from Macy's and Madison Square Garden, and probably 20 minutes from Time Square. Maybe a bit more, It really is not that hard to navigate around the city. Most of the local attractions are on 34 Street, 42nd and Broadway. We also walked to Central Park, which is approximately 2 miles from the hotel at 59th street. The hotel is located on 31st and Madison. Great central location. There is a 6 train located at both 33rd and 28th Street. Penn Station is not that far from there either. We did not try any of the food at the hotel, but there are a lot of eateries around the area. Mostly those make your own salad bars, some fancy restaurants and regular stops. Shopping is around the corner as well. It was well worth the $200 spent for the night. They also hold your luggage for as long as you need it without charge. I think that is most everything. If the bathroom was bigger, it would have gotten 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up a couple of blocks to 34 Street then take a left, everything you need will come up.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jul 27, 2009

Perfect Service and Location

I live in the city, my friend's plane got delayed for a couple of days, so we decided to grab a deluxe double-bed room for the night. The staff and look of Roger Williams is really fantastic. You rarely meet that friendly of people in NY. They really go out of their way to accommodate you. The rooms were clean, quiet, and the beds were comfy. The room is also a really good size for NY. A lot of people don't understand that you won't get giant rooms in Manhattan. The only caveat was the extremely small bathroom, which is common, but still off putting. The location: I could see the Empire State Building up close from the window. The hotel is a five minute walk from Empire State, 10 min from Macy's and Madison Square Garden, and probably 20 minutes from Time Square. Maybe a bit more, It really is not that hard to navigate around the city. Most of the local attractions are on 34 Street, 42nd and Broadway. We also walked to Central Park, which is approximately 2 miles from the hotel at 59th street. The hotel is located on 31st and Madison. Great central location. There is a 6 train located at both 33rd and 28th Street. Penn Station is not that far from there either. We did not try any of the food at the hotel, but there are a lot of eateries around the area. Mostly those make your own salad bars, some fancy restaurants and regular stops. Shopping is around the corner as well. It was well worth the $200 spent for the night. They also hold your luggage for as long as you need it without charge. I think that is most everything. If the bathroom was bigger, it would have gotten 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up a couple of blocks to 34 Street then take a left, everything you need will come up.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super grandmom
Atlantic City, NJ
Jul 27, 2009

First class service, enjoyed our stay

The location was excellent and we enjoyed our stay - very nice hotel. The buffet breakfast was very good, the room service was a little over price, so be careful and rethink the room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building

Back to menu Return to top