$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
View map of 131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jul 27, 2009

Perfect Service and Location

I live in the city, my friend's plane got delayed for a couple of days, so we decided to grab a deluxe double-bed room for the night. The staff and look of Roger Williams is really fantastic. You rarely meet that friendly of people in NY. They really go out of their way to accommodate you. The rooms were clean, quiet, and the beds were comfy. The room is also a really good size for NY. A lot of people don't understand that you won't get giant rooms in Manhattan. The only caveat was the extremely small bathroom, which is common, but still off putting. The location: I could see the Empire State Building up close from the window. The hotel is a five minute walk from Empire State, 10 min from Macy's and Madison Square Garden, and probably 20 minutes from Time Square. Maybe a bit more, It really is not that hard to navigate around the city. Most of the local attractions are on 34 Street, 42nd and Broadway. We also walked to Central Park, which is approximately 2 miles from the hotel at 59th street. The hotel is located on 31st and Madison. Great central location. There is a 6 train located at both 33rd and 28th Street. Penn Station is not that far from there either. We did not try any of the food at the hotel, but there are a lot of eateries around the area. Mostly those make your own salad bars, some fancy restaurants and regular stops. Shopping is around the corner as well. It was well worth the $200 spent for the night. They also hold your luggage for as long as you need it without charge. I think that is most everything. If the bathroom was bigger, it would have gotten 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up a couple of blocks to 34 Street then take a left, everything you need will come up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Jul 24, 2009

Nice Room, Responsive Staff

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The desk staff changed our reservation to a slightly more expensive option for the same price. If you decide to self-park your car, travel one block north to 32nd street, take a right. Cross Park Avenue and the parking garage is the first on the right. I got poor directions and wound up coming back and using the valet parking service. Considering the $20 discount I got on the room upgrade, it only cost me an extra $8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat elsewhere. The food here is ridiculously overpriced. I am referring to the breakfast buffet: $17.85/person plus 15% gratuity added on PLUS a "service charge" PLUS tax = 2 peaople, $44

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 24, 2009

Fun

Hotel was very clean and had a fun environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mapie
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 21, 2009

Great for a Weekend Getaway

Doorman [...] was very helpful and polite. Rooms were small but spotless and exquisitely decorated. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cobyrock
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 18, 2009

Upscale

My husband has leukemia receiving treatments at Memorial Sloan Kettering and we changed our usual hotel plans hoping for something special. We booked a Superior Room with a King Bed but was talked into accepting a Classic room with 2 beds. The toilet backed up in Room 1511. Nightmare. We had to use the Lobby restroom temporarily. The bath towels are rough, not fluffy. Overall, I feel that the hotel places too much emphasis on appearance rather than functioning well. When we checked out, I reported the toilet overflow, and the desk clerk did not seem concerned. Bell staff and Doorman staff are excellent. Thank you. Candace

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, new york
Jul 14, 2009

very nice and friendly staff

The staff was super friendly and the location was very convenient. The pool was clean. Rooms were spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
akamay
Business
St. Petersburg, FLORIDA
Jul 13, 2009

Fantastic weekend!

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very warm and friendly. We had a wonderful stay in the hotel. Very clean and fresh. It has been recently renovated. What you will enjoy the most is the staff. They are so very professional and help you with directions around the area. We had a great visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent restaurant and deli selection just across the street in any direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annville PA
Jul 10, 2009

perfect location

Friendly staff. Handy location in central New York. Close to Penn Station. Sad to see that every "amenity" in the room had a price tag attached.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes and come hungry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Great Question!
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 8, 2009

Charming little find

Convenient location, comfortable beds, very friendly staff. A bit small but overall nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, bars, restaurants, and all different neighborhoods are all just a short walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jul 6, 2009

Great hotel but ...

Great hotel but house keeping started knocking on doors at 8:30am on Saturday morning and 9:30am Sunday morning. You could hear them go from room to room, so it didnt really help that I put my sign on the door asking them to come back later. Staff is great though and the hotel was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top