$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 132
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LOST
Business
Gibraltar
Dec 13, 2012

girls getaway

great location - away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway although very near entertainment area and walking distance to upper, lower, east and west Manhattan; rooms are clean and beds very comfy, however not much room to manoeuvre and not much hanging space. Rooms could do with more lighting! otherwise a super hotel; this is the 2nd time I've stayed at The Roger;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big City Girl Lindy
Business
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Girls weekend in the Big Apple

The Roger was a nice, quiet retreat in Murray Hill. The hotel is within walking distance of many neighborhoods, shopping, broadway and restaurants. As an ex-New Yorker I appreciate the gentrification of the area, as well as the updates to the facility itself. The Lobby is hip, the room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The only negative is that the bathroom was tiny....modern, clean, but barely big enough for one person to stand in. The staff was very helpful but was understaffed when we were checking out on Sunday morning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again if the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Moran Library...a few blocks away from the hotel. An insider's initmate museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 25, 2011

Great Hotel, great price

Awesome and extremely nice and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and other shopping just a few short blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mzlibrary
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2010

Best Customer Service in New York

My second stay at the Hotel Roger Williams and I wasn't disappointed. Eclectic, fresh, clean, bright and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 16, 2010

Great Staff - Hotel is like a dorm room

Like I sad Staff was great everyone was kind, helpful, friendly; and if I was still 18 this type of hotel room would be fine but for the $$$ the dorm room feel, small rooms, gross carpet, gross block-color quilt room decor, and tiny min-bar was not for us! However I will say the staff kept these rooms very clean, the area was nice & near by! YOU CAN GET ANYTHING DELIVERED IN NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm a Wanderer
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 9, 2010

Great Location at an Affordable Price

I travel for a vacation from the Caribbean and found a goog hotel, with modern bright decoration, right near everything and at an affordable price. I was walking distance from Penn Station from where I moved to Queens, Shouth Port,Ground Zero, Central Park and even to the airport via Jamaica Station and the LIRR train. When back, I was able to rest well because the hotel is quiet.The room was clean and the employees were friendly. I would surely stay again tbere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Intrepid Ship.I was able to step into a Concord airplane that is in exhibition there. A dream come true.They have a lot of planes in exhibition and also a submarine. Nice experience for the children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
allentown, pa
Mar 21, 2010

nice place

Everhthing was great except that we could not regualate the room temperature and it was too hot. My fault that I didn't complain about it during our 3 day stay, as the staff was courteous and most likely would have taken care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ExoticBelle
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 21, 2009

Modern, Classy, and Friendly

I decided to splurge on a hotel since I was in town for a friend's birthday. I was very impressed by the level of service and friendliness of the staff. I liked how the rooms were decorated, and I felt comfortable and at home there. The food and drinks in the lounge were very good. The location is pretty good as well - it's just a couple of blocks away from the subway. I will definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jul 27, 2009

Perfect Service and Location

I live in the city, my friend's plane got delayed for a couple of days, so we decided to grab a deluxe double-bed room for the night. The staff and look of Roger Williams is really fantastic. You rarely meet that friendly of people in NY. They really go out of their way to accommodate you. The rooms were clean, quiet, and the beds were comfy. The room is also a really good size for NY. A lot of people don't understand that you won't get giant rooms in Manhattan. The only caveat was the extremely small bathroom, which is common, but still off putting. The location: I could see the Empire State Building up close from the window. The hotel is a five minute walk from Empire State, 10 min from Macy's and Madison Square Garden, and probably 20 minutes from Time Square. Maybe a bit more, It really is not that hard to navigate around the city. Most of the local attractions are on 34 Street, 42nd and Broadway. We also walked to Central Park, which is approximately 2 miles from the hotel at 59th street. The hotel is located on 31st and Madison. Great central location. There is a 6 train located at both 33rd and 28th Street. Penn Station is not that far from there either. We did not try any of the food at the hotel, but there are a lot of eateries around the area. Mostly those make your own salad bars, some fancy restaurants and regular stops. Shopping is around the corner as well. It was well worth the $200 spent for the night. They also hold your luggage for as long as you need it without charge. I think that is most everything. If the bathroom was bigger, it would have gotten 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up a couple of blocks to 34 Street then take a left, everything you need will come up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Great Question!
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 8, 2009

Charming little find

Convenient location, comfortable beds, very friendly staff. A bit small but overall nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, bars, restaurants, and all different neighborhoods are all just a short walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top