$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9843
Area served
Murray Hill
Nearby airports
LGA-LaGuardia Airport JFK
Area description
Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Jacob Javits Center, Penn Station, Macy's, Shopping and dining

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 237
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LOST
Gibraltar
Dec 13, 2012

girls getaway

great location - away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway although very near entertainment area and walking distance to upper, lower, east and west Manhattan; rooms are clean and beds very comfy, however not much room to manoeuvre and not much hanging space. Rooms could do with more lighting! otherwise a super hotel; this is the 2nd time I've stayed at The Roger;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big City Girl Lindy
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Girls weekend in the Big Apple

The Roger was a nice, quiet retreat in Murray Hill. The hotel is within walking distance of many neighborhoods, shopping, broadway and restaurants. As an ex-New Yorker I appreciate the gentrification of the area, as well as the updates to the facility itself. The Lobby is hip, the room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The only negative is that the bathroom was tiny....modern, clean, but barely big enough for one person to stand in. The staff was very helpful but was understaffed when we were checking out on Sunday morning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again if the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Moran Library...a few blocks away from the hotel. An insider's initmate museum.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arkansas
Mar 25, 2011

Great Hotel, great price

Awesome and extremely nice and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and other shopping just a few short blocks away

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arkansas
Mar 25, 2011

Great Hotel, great price

Awesome and extremely nice and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and other shopping just a few short blocks away

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mzlibrary
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2010

Best Customer Service in New York

My second stay at the Hotel Roger Williams and I wasn't disappointed. Eclectic, fresh, clean, bright and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mzlibrary
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2010

Best Customer Service in New York

My second stay at the Hotel Roger Williams and I wasn't disappointed. Eclectic, fresh, clean, bright and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Sep 16, 2010

Great Staff - Hotel is like a dorm room

Like I sad Staff was great everyone was kind, helpful, friendly; and if I was still 18 this type of hotel room would be fine but for the $$$ the dorm room feel, small rooms, gross carpet, gross block-color quilt room decor, and tiny min-bar was not for us! However I will say the staff kept these rooms very clean, the area was nice & near by! YOU CAN GET ANYTHING DELIVERED IN NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Sep 16, 2010

Great Staff - Hotel is like a dorm room

Like I sad Staff was great everyone was kind, helpful, friendly; and if I was still 18 this type of hotel room would be fine but for the $$$ the dorm room feel, small rooms, gross carpet, gross block-color quilt room decor, and tiny min-bar was not for us! However I will say the staff kept these rooms very clean, the area was nice & near by! YOU CAN GET ANYTHING DELIVERED IN NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm a Wanderer
San Juan, PR
Apr 9, 2010

Great Location at an Affordable Price

I travel for a vacation from the Caribbean and found a goog hotel, with modern bright decoration, right near everything and at an affordable price. I was walking distance from Penn Station from where I moved to Queens, Shouth Port,Ground Zero, Central Park and even to the airport via Jamaica Station and the LIRR train. When back, I was able to rest well because the hotel is quiet.The room was clean and the employees were friendly. I would surely stay again tbere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Intrepid Ship.I was able to step into a Concord airplane that is in exhibition there. A dream come true.They have a lot of planes in exhibition and also a submarine. Nice experience for the children.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm a Wanderer
San Juan, PR
Apr 9, 2010

Great Location at an Affordable Price

I travel for a vacation from the Caribbean and found a goog hotel, with modern bright decoration, right near everything and at an affordable price. I was walking distance from Penn Station from where I moved to Queens, Shouth Port,Ground Zero, Central Park and even to the airport via Jamaica Station and the LIRR train. When back, I was able to rest well because the hotel is quiet.The room was clean and the employees were friendly. I would surely stay again tbere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Intrepid Ship.I was able to step into a Concord airplane that is in exhibition there. A dream come true.They have a lot of planes in exhibition and also a submarine. Nice experience for the children.

Back to menu Return to top