$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9843
Area served
Murray Hill
Nearby airports
LGA-LaGuardia Airport JFK
Area description
Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Jacob Javits Center, Penn Station, Macy's, Shopping and dining

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 139
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLeigh
Raleigh, NC
Sep 27, 2013

A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern, which the hotel promptly addressed: we had reserved a deluxe king room; when we checked in, we were given a very small room with a double bed that filled most of the room. We returned to the check-in desk and explained the problem, and were given a new room. This room, with a king bed, was delightful--spacious, comfortable, and very clean and attractive. The bath has very nice toiletries and was also very clean. The hotel lobby is quite stylish and attractive. We loved the location--less than two blocks to a subway stop for the 6 line. We felt safe I. The neighborhood at night and had some good meals nearby. We will look forward to going again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diveski
syracuse
Aug 15, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

Great staff, nice room with a very comfortable bed. Always have enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleepy Canadian
Montreal
Jul 30, 2012

Classy little hotel

Very comfortable and stylish 15 floor building. our room had a little terrace and a nice view of the empire state building. For the price we paid, I never had anything else than a window on a brick wall! On the down side, the doors seem very slim; we could hear conversations from the room across the hall. On the plus side, the staff was great. When the kids (read hipsters) across the hall got too loud, we only had to make a quick call to the desk and it was over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You're at the right place for korean, but if you crave anything else, go eat in chelsea! 10-20 minute walk, much better food for a fraction of the price.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen s
Florida, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great value

Location is great. Staff is very nice. It was very nice to walk to restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like such i , all you can eat for only 30 dollars.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terryl
Fairfax Station, VA 22039, USA
Jan 16, 2012

What's Not to Like

Stayed two nights at the hotel along with my son and his wife. Wonderful location in mid town, simple and lovely decoration, good-sized rooms, helpful and responsive staff, great breakfast buffet--what is not to like? I can only think of one thing: the location of the toilet paper is such that it gets wet from running water in the sink. Except for that, there is nothing not to like. I will be back next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At 165 East 33rd Street, a short walk from the hotel, is a wonderful French restaurant, Le Parisien. It is open for lunch and dinner. Escargots, creme brulle, sole and steak frites are among the best I ever had. Best of all, the prices are reasonable. Reservations are a must because the restaurant is small and popular with the locals.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BugFromRoger
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Will never EVER stay here again!!!!

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Roger Williams overnight on 10/8/11 through 10/9/11. We left our home in a NYC suburb and drove into Manhattan. We went immediately to the Hotel Roger Williams where we stored our luggage in their luggage storage area since our room wasn’t ready. A few hours later we were given a room and stayed overnight at the Hotel Roger Williams. The next morning we immediately got back into our car and drove home. Two days later, my husband discovered a bed bug crawling on the comforter on our bed. We contacted the Hotel Roger Williams immediately and informed them that we had found a bed bug. The next day we contacted several extermination companies; sent them a picture of the bug and received a visual confirmation that it was, in fact, a bed bug. On Thursday, 10/13/11, we had a canine inspection of our home and the dog found evidence of bed bugs ONLY in the luggage that we had taken to the Hotel Roger Williams with us. We immediately had to get rid of the luggage and any items that were laying close to the luggage. We have now spent close to $800 in inspections and are still not certain if we will have to treat our entire house which will cost anywhere from $900 to $2500, at a minimum; not to mention the lost value of the items that we had to throw out. I will never EVER stay at this hotel again!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Empty Nester's
St. Paul, MN
May 5, 2011

Great Experience

The Hotel Roger Williams was a perfect fit for our 3 day visit to NYC. It was easy to find, located close to subways and within walking distance to many sights that we wanted to explore. Check in was flawless, and the room, although small, was tastefully decorated with a "New York" vibe. The bathroom was quite small, but certainly adequate. We spent our 3 days exploring Ground Zero, walking across the Brooklyn Bridge, eating in Chinatown and taking in 2 Broadway shows and a taping for Late Night with David Letterman. In all, a wondeful trip made even better by having an ultra-comfy bed to come back to each night at the Hotel Roger Wiliams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the self guided audio tour of Ground Zero, complete with personal commentary by survivors. Very moving and a great way to see/hear about what's going on there.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los angeles
Mar 14, 2011

Cozy, great location

-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami FL
Mar 12, 2011

Really better than expected. We'd return

Accompanied my husband for business. We bought a package with flights. This was much better than expected. We requested an upgrade for the room and were given a king. Only complaints - heat was too much so we had to open windows in March in NYC and the bathroom is teeeny tiny. Great location. Pleasant staff. Bright rooms and overall comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMLM
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2011

weekend getaway

good location 2 blocks for the empire state building. A good botique hotel for walking to all the top attractions. Small rooms & bathrooms but it is NYC afterall.. Front desk staff not very knowledge about local routes or transportation.. but a little web surfing and you can figure out what you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search