$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
View map of 131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
133 reviews
Great Hotel

Loved it. Great location!! Good size room!!! One of the better hotels in Manhattan!! See full review

  • let em travel
  • Jun 30, 2015
Peaceful Retreat in the Heart of the City

As a frequent guest at this boutique hotel I am never disappointed. Staff take initiative to extend... See full review

  • marnie m.
  • May 14, 2015

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

General
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Location
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Dining
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Property features

Contemporary boutique hotel in Midtown with unique breakfast

Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Nearby attractions
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
danel
Business
USA
Aug 12, 2007

Great Staff

We found the staff to be very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed are stay and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 25, 2011

Great Hotel, great price

Awesome and extremely nice and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and other shopping just a few short blocks away

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 29, 2007

Definitely Nice

The Roger Williams is an exceptional hotel for those with less than extravagant budgets. The hotel and its staff are what you'd expect from a three star hotel- maybe even better. The doorman remembered my name and my guest's name, and was very helpful and proactive. The location is not amazing but it's not off the beaten trail either. ( Empire State Building is a few blocks away.) Overall a really good experience. I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks from the subway. ( And in NYC, that's all you need.) Murray Hill and all that great Indian cuisine are close by.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hill
Aug 10, 2008

Guest Friendly Hotel

The Roger Williams is a modern and well decorated hotel. We were treated very well. The staff went out of their way to help with directions, reservations, etc.The location was near the theatres and popular restaurants. I would have liked a coffee machine and an ice bucket in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warren NJ
Jun 9, 2009

GREAT, CLEAN, JUST PERFECT

Hotel Staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from the 14th floor. Ate at A Voce on 26th street. The entire trip was just perfect!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A Voce

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

My review of Hotel Roger Williams

Our was clean, which is the most important thing, but a few bulbs were out and the nightstand thelephone wasn't working. Our window opened to a concrete wall. Our room was also small, but it served it's purpose. The main lobby and 12th Floor lobby had a contemporary, exquisite feel. The staff were young, professional and very helpful. The breakfast they market is expensive--and they are serious about serving times. We showed up at 10:45 and had to scramble to get our approx $20/person brunch before the staff removed everything. We liked the location, so all in all we will probably stay again. It was clean and conveinient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Wonderful oasis in the city

We stayed at Roger the last two days of a long trip, and it was just the oasis we needed. The hotel is decorated well, the rooms are the best use of space I've experienced in New York City. Love the location at 31st and Madison, and the staff is incredibly courteous and caring. The small dining room/cocktail lounge is relaxing and serves excellent food. This will be a repeat hotel for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy subway access a couple of blocks away.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lopez_215
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 4, 2009

Weekend in NYC

My experience was great. Hotel staff accomidated me everyway possible. Upgraded room with no problem. Gave me directions to anywhere I wanted to go. Always making sure everything was going well with my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2007

Great escape

Wonderful property in the middle of NY chaos. The staff was helpful in reviewing the surrounding area...giving us a variety of options and sites to visit. The room was somewhat smaller than we expected but the decor, was outstanding! Very chic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Time Square is a short cab or 10 block walk...what a great location.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

Great central location; friendly staff.

Convenient Manhattan location at Madison Ave. and 31st Street. Upscale service with a very friendly staff, housekeepers, front desk, doorman-everyone was nice. The decor and furnishings were hip. The workout room had two flat screen tvs with remote controls on the treadmill, eliptical machine, etc. There was a pitcher of ice water with lemon, and fresh towels in the workout room. We did not take advantage of the cafe/bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Empire State Building is a few blocks away. The subway is a short walk to either the 28th or 33rd Street stations.

Back to menu Return to top