$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9843
Area served
Murray Hill
Nearby airports
LGA-LaGuardia Airport JFK
Area description
Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Jacob Javits Center, Penn Station, Macy's, Shopping and dining

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 22, 2007

great place to stay when visiting NYC

The Hotel Roger Williams exceeded my expectations. For a fun getaway weekend, you really can't beat it. A+ for location, quality, value and staff. A darling boutique-like hotel that we will definitely stay at again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the subway station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Junelle
Business
Fresno, CA
May 5, 2009

Wonderful

We enjoyed the Hotel as much as the sights! Very clean and comfortable, thanks to the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda and Christy love Roger!
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2011

5 stars and friendly!

My daughter and I arrived Friday night, and were instantly charmed by the doorman, the reception desk staff, and the gorgeous room! Wow, what a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
danel
Business
USA
Aug 12, 2007

Great Staff

We found the staff to be very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed are stay and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 25, 2011

Great Hotel, great price

Awesome and extremely nice and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and other shopping just a few short blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 29, 2007

Definitely Nice

The Roger Williams is an exceptional hotel for those with less than extravagant budgets. The hotel and its staff are what you'd expect from a three star hotel- maybe even better. The doorman remembered my name and my guest's name, and was very helpful and proactive. The location is not amazing but it's not off the beaten trail either. ( Empire State Building is a few blocks away.) Overall a really good experience. I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks from the subway. ( And in NYC, that's all you need.) Murray Hill and all that great Indian cuisine are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hill
Aug 10, 2008

Guest Friendly Hotel

The Roger Williams is a modern and well decorated hotel. We were treated very well. The staff went out of their way to help with directions, reservations, etc.The location was near the theatres and popular restaurants. I would have liked a coffee machine and an ice bucket in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warren NJ
Jun 9, 2009

GREAT, CLEAN, JUST PERFECT

Hotel Staff very friendly and helpful. Great view from the 14th floor. Ate at A Voce on 26th street. The entire trip was just perfect!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A Voce

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

My review of Hotel Roger Williams

Our was clean, which is the most important thing, but a few bulbs were out and the nightstand thelephone wasn't working. Our window opened to a concrete wall. Our room was also small, but it served it's purpose. The main lobby and 12th Floor lobby had a contemporary, exquisite feel. The staff were young, professional and very helpful. The breakfast they market is expensive--and they are serious about serving times. We showed up at 10:45 and had to scramble to get our approx $20/person brunch before the staff removed everything. We liked the location, so all in all we will probably stay again. It was clean and conveinient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Wonderful oasis in the city

We stayed at Roger the last two days of a long trip, and it was just the oasis we needed. The hotel is decorated well, the rooms are the best use of space I've experienced in New York City. Love the location at 31st and Madison, and the staff is incredibly courteous and caring. The small dining room/cocktail lounge is relaxing and serves excellent food. This will be a repeat hotel for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy subway access a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top