$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
136 reviews
holiday stay

It's becoming one of my favorite hotels in NYC. Nice location to Fifth ave and Ktown. The staffs... See full review

  • Fiona B
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great Hotel

My wife and I stayed here for one evening. We were supposed to attend a party that was cancelled so... See full review

  • J Stile
  • Jan 9, 2015
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayday
Business
washington dc
Sep 26, 2011

Great niche hotel

The Roger as it is referred to is a delightful, comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The beds are very comfortable, and the location is excellent. One downside was I could talking from the next door room. In would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Indigo restaurant on 50th between 1st and 2nd avenues--great Indian food and a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 24, 2011

Simply the best!!!

The staff at Roger Williams is PHENOMENAL!!! Very friendly, professional and there is a smile on everyon's face. Outstanding!!! The rooms are sbsolutely beautiful and the entire place is clean. The only thing that I didn't like was there was no microwave or refrigerator in the rooms, but that is nothing major. I love this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to all of the shopping was very short and pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicsgo, IL
May 31, 2011

Great location for sightseeing!

The Hotel staff were awesome! We were treated as very special guests. We ate our breakfast in the dining room and also used room service. The food was very good and the portions were generous. Whether I had a question on where to find a good restaurant or how to get to the subway the staff were always helpful. Our trip was virtually carefree knowing we were very well taken care of at The Hotel Roger Williams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A Broadway show is a Must! We saw Billy Elliott and could not have made a better choice of shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Empty Nester's
Business
St. Paul, MN
May 5, 2011

Great Experience

The Hotel Roger Williams was a perfect fit for our 3 day visit to NYC. It was easy to find, located close to subways and within walking distance to many sights that we wanted to explore. Check in was flawless, and the room, although small, was tastefully decorated with a "New York" vibe. The bathroom was quite small, but certainly adequate. We spent our 3 days exploring Ground Zero, walking across the Brooklyn Bridge, eating in Chinatown and taking in 2 Broadway shows and a taping for Late Night with David Letterman. In all, a wondeful trip made even better by having an ultra-comfy bed to come back to each night at the Hotel Roger Wiliams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the self guided audio tour of Ground Zero, complete with personal commentary by survivors. Very moving and a great way to see/hear about what's going on there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda and Christy love Roger!
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2011

5 stars and friendly!

My daughter and I arrived Friday night, and were instantly charmed by the doorman, the reception desk staff, and the gorgeous room! Wow, what a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 25, 2011

Great Hotel, great price

Awesome and extremely nice and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and other shopping just a few short blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los angeles
Mar 14, 2011

Cozy, great location

-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami FL
Mar 12, 2011

Really better than expected. We'd return

Accompanied my husband for business. We bought a package with flights. This was much better than expected. We requested an upgrade for the room and were given a king. Only complaints - heat was too much so we had to open windows in March in NYC and the bathroom is teeeny tiny. Great location. Pleasant staff. Bright rooms and overall comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Mar 6, 2011

A small gem

I was in town 2 days for business meetings around the Flatiron bldg area. The hotel is within walking distance to both Madison Square and Herald Square area. Many options for a quick bite as well as fine dining. The fact that it's on lower Madison Ave, traffic is never all that congested which makes getting around really easy. Rooms are clean and modern. Wish there's a real table that I can place and work my computer. Bathroom is small but sufficient. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Korea town - 2 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMLM
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2011

weekend getaway

good location 2 blocks for the empire state building. A good botique hotel for walking to all the top attractions. Small rooms & bathrooms but it is NYC afterall.. Front desk staff not very knowledge about local routes or transportation.. but a little web surfing and you can figure out what you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top