$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
139 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9843
Area served
Murray Hill
Nearby airports
LGA-LaGuardia Airport JFK
Area description
Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Jacob Javits Center, Penn Station, Macy's, Shopping and dining

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy loves NYC
Jenkintown, PA
Jul 1, 2012

Would return

Liked everything about the hotel. The only thing that could have been improved was that the room, upon entering, smelled a little musty, probably from the AC and high humidity. Barely noticed after in the room for a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved a short walk to Eataly! 5th and Broadway across from Madison Park.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Other One
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Overpriced, undersized, previous monastic use; and it still feels that way.

This is the worst property that we have ever stayed in in NYC. In fact, it is the worst property we have ever stayed in anywhere on the planet; and we have traveled extensively for more than fifty years. No one should be exposed to bed bugs, filth, cockroaches, and such rude and incompetent staff..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen s
Florida, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great value

Location is great. Staff is very nice. It was very nice to walk to restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like such i , all you can eat for only 30 dollars.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terryl
Fairfax Station, VA 22039, USA
Jan 16, 2012

What's Not to Like

Stayed two nights at the hotel along with my son and his wife. Wonderful location in mid town, simple and lovely decoration, good-sized rooms, helpful and responsive staff, great breakfast buffet--what is not to like? I can only think of one thing: the location of the toilet paper is such that it gets wet from running water in the sink. Except for that, there is nothing not to like. I will be back next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At 165 East 33rd Street, a short walk from the hotel, is a wonderful French restaurant, Le Parisien. It is open for lunch and dinner. Escargots, creme brulle, sole and steak frites are among the best I ever had. Best of all, the prices are reasonable. Reservations are a must because the restaurant is small and popular with the locals.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alayne
Business
Altoona, PA
Dec 28, 2011

Heat

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the heat more than adaquate, rooms were lean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BugFromRoger
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Will never EVER stay here again!!!!

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Roger Williams overnight on 10/8/11 through 10/9/11. We left our home in a NYC suburb and drove into Manhattan. We went immediately to the Hotel Roger Williams where we stored our luggage in their luggage storage area since our room wasn’t ready. A few hours later we were given a room and stayed overnight at the Hotel Roger Williams. The next morning we immediately got back into our car and drove home. Two days later, my husband discovered a bed bug crawling on the comforter on our bed. We contacted the Hotel Roger Williams immediately and informed them that we had found a bed bug. The next day we contacted several extermination companies; sent them a picture of the bug and received a visual confirmation that it was, in fact, a bed bug. On Thursday, 10/13/11, we had a canine inspection of our home and the dog found evidence of bed bugs ONLY in the luggage that we had taken to the Hotel Roger Williams with us. We immediately had to get rid of the luggage and any items that were laying close to the luggage. We have now spent close to $800 in inspections and are still not certain if we will have to treat our entire house which will cost anywhere from $900 to $2500, at a minimum; not to mention the lost value of the items that we had to throw out. I will never EVER stay at this hotel again!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayday
Business
washington dc
Sep 26, 2011

Great niche hotel

The Roger as it is referred to is a delightful, comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The beds are very comfortable, and the location is excellent. One downside was I could talking from the next door room. In would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Indigo restaurant on 50th between 1st and 2nd avenues--great Indian food and a very reasonable price.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 24, 2011

Simply the best!!!

The staff at Roger Williams is PHENOMENAL!!! Very friendly, professional and there is a smile on everyon's face. Outstanding!!! The rooms are sbsolutely beautiful and the entire place is clean. The only thing that I didn't like was there was no microwave or refrigerator in the rooms, but that is nothing major. I love this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to all of the shopping was very short and pleasant.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicsgo, IL
May 31, 2011

Great location for sightseeing!

The Hotel staff were awesome! We were treated as very special guests. We ate our breakfast in the dining room and also used room service. The food was very good and the portions were generous. Whether I had a question on where to find a good restaurant or how to get to the subway the staff were always helpful. Our trip was virtually carefree knowing we were very well taken care of at The Hotel Roger Williams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A Broadway show is a Must! We saw Billy Elliott and could not have made a better choice of shows.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberta
Not Provided
May 19, 2011

The staff was outsanding, meeting

The staff was outsanding, meeting our needs all the time. The manager went above and beyond to make our family reunion the perfect event. I strongly recomend it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search