$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
View map of 131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lopez
Business
PHILADELPHIA
Jan 6, 2015

Excellent overnight stay

My wife and I decided to celebrate her 30th birthday in NYC so I wanted to stay at a nice place that was close to everything. I am very happy we choose The Roger. We only stayed one night, but for the price ($170), it was a great deal. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and the room decor was simple and relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful. They provided us with an extra hour to check out, good directions to a local pharmacy and train station, and waved down a cab for us quickly when we were in a rush to make our dinner reservations. The hotel is a quick cab ride away to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and areas like Chelsea or East Village. The only negative thing I can remember, was the room needing more light when trying to get dressed after the sun went down. I will definitely stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summerofjamie
Business
Santa Clarita
May 24, 2014

Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch. The room is great also the food is exceptional in the restaurant. Highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little coffee shop 3 doors down.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLeigh
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 27, 2013

A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern, which the hotel promptly addressed: we had reserved a deluxe king room; when we checked in, we were given a very small room with a double bed that filled most of the room. We returned to the check-in desk and explained the problem, and were given a new room. This room, with a king bed, was delightful--spacious, comfortable, and very clean and attractive. The bath has very nice toiletries and was also very clean. The hotel lobby is quite stylish and attractive. We loved the location--less than two blocks to a subway stop for the 6 line. We felt safe I. The neighborhood at night and had some good meals nearby. We will look forward to going again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghenrow
Business
Philly
Feb 18, 2013

Roger Hotel

The Staff at the Hotel are professional but warm and very helpful. The facilities are very good and the individual rooms are nicely appointed and bathrooms and rooms are spotless. The only problem we had was that the room was very warm (77F) and we were unable to get the thermostat to adjust the temperature. The hotel breakfast buffet was lovely and the staff was very attentive. Would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaraunt names: Artisanal (french) at 2 Park Ave (32nd street) Ny, Ny --wonderful cheese cave --great food, fondue, and cheese and wine. Also can purchase cheese from their selections for carry out.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LOST
Business
Gibraltar
Dec 13, 2012

girls getaway

great location - away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway although very near entertainment area and walking distance to upper, lower, east and west Manhattan; rooms are clean and beds very comfy, however not much room to manoeuvre and not much hanging space. Rooms could do with more lighting! otherwise a super hotel; this is the 2nd time I've stayed at The Roger;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big City Girl Lindy
Business
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Girls weekend in the Big Apple

The Roger was a nice, quiet retreat in Murray Hill. The hotel is within walking distance of many neighborhoods, shopping, broadway and restaurants. As an ex-New Yorker I appreciate the gentrification of the area, as well as the updates to the facility itself. The Lobby is hip, the room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The only negative is that the bathroom was tiny....modern, clean, but barely big enough for one person to stand in. The staff was very helpful but was understaffed when we were checking out on Sunday morning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again if the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Moran Library...a few blocks away from the hotel. An insider's initmate museum.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diveski
Business
syracuse
Aug 15, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

Great staff, nice room with a very comfortable bed. Always have enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleepy Canadian
Business
Montreal
Jul 30, 2012

Classy little hotel

Very comfortable and stylish 15 floor building. our room had a little terrace and a nice view of the empire state building. For the price we paid, I never had anything else than a window on a brick wall! On the down side, the doors seem very slim; we could hear conversations from the room across the hall. On the plus side, the staff was great. When the kids (read hipsters) across the hall got too loud, we only had to make a quick call to the desk and it was over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You're at the right place for korean, but if you crave anything else, go eat in chelsea! 10-20 minute walk, much better food for a fraction of the price.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRob1
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2012

Weekend Night in NYC

Great staff, great ambiance. Rooms have been recently renovated and are a definite upgrade. At this point, the Roger is a bit of a secret Gem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy loves NYC
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Jul 1, 2012

Would return

Liked everything about the hotel. The only thing that could have been improved was that the room, upon entering, smelled a little musty, probably from the AC and high humidity. Barely noticed after in the room for a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved a short walk to Eataly! 5th and Broadway across from Madison Park.

Back to menu Return to top