$365 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

5 stars
Two West Street, Two West Street, New York, NY 10004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
The perfect stay

Everything was perfect! Top notch service and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. We had a... See full review

  • Kendy Kane Designer
  • Jul 1, 2014
Exceptional Service

Beautiful room, great views and perfect service. Doesn't get any better. See full review

  • All over the place 14
  • Feb 1, 2014
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, is the only luxury waterfront hotel in Manhattan. The 39-story, 298-room art-deco inspired hotel overlooks the New York Harbor, Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. Inside the hotel, a flawless standard of personal service reigns with bath butlers and valets, concierge service, 24-hour room service and spa treatments. Guests venturing from the snug haven of their room can enjoy a breathtaking sunset or step outside for a stroll along the scenic esplandade of Battery Park. The Ritz-Carlton is located just minutes from the trendy SoHo and TriBeCa neighborhoods known for their great shopping, restaurants and museums.

Hotel Map

40.705 -74.0173
Area served
Financial Center
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 12.80, MI, SW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 14.40, MI, W;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Skyscraper Museum: 0 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.1 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.1 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.1 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.2 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.2 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.2 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.2 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.2 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.1 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.1 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.1 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.2 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.2 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.2 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.2 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.2 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Duane Park: 0.4 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.4 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.5 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.5 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.5 mi
  • Downtown Manhattan Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Financial District: 0.5 mi
  • Century 21: 0.5 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.6 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.6 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.7 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.7 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.7 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pace University: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Pier 17 Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.8 mi

Dining

2 West
Modern American bistro featuring expertly and simply prepared dishes

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 68
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicagoer
chicago, IL
May 14, 2012

Battery park is convenient to all subway lines.

The hotel is a business class type of place without an interesting lounge/lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

statue of liberty and ellis island dock are across the street

Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, England
May 12, 2011

Amazing room with a view!

The hotel was beautiful and we were given an amazing room with views of the Statue of Liberty (hotel even provided a telescope!). The room was spacious and well appointed, staff were friendly and location was great for sightseeing in downtown Manhattan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to tour boats

Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xraysrc
Sinking Spring, PA
Mar 7, 2011

Ritz Carlton service all the way!

The staff at this facility is superb. They were always there to help and management was perfect. I've stayed at the Ritz Carlton properties in Phila., Foggy Bottom D.C., and South Beach Miami. The product in Battery Park is typical for Ritz service and niceties. My only issue is the room size could be larger, not a fault with the staff, but rather the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to either slug it out in cabs or take the subway. Battery Park is wonderful if you'd like to get some sleep while you're in NY, but it's about a 20 min $20 cab ride to midtown.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Zurich, Switzerland
Jan 4, 2010

Not perfect, but very, very good

I went to the Ritz-Carlton BP for one week at Christmas with my two boys, aged 14 and 18. Ironically, on our flight from Zurich, I watched an in-flight movie about the life of Cesar Ritz,the Swiss man who founded the Ritz hotel. It got me really excited - it was ALL about luxury, service and pampering the customer! The real thing wasn't quite that... Our room was great - large, clean, spacious bathroom. On the first morning, a complimentary newspaper was hanging on the door, but never again after that, although we were there a week. I mentioned it twice at the front desk, and they were unable to get it right again, although they did hand me a paper from the staff room. Turn down service had not been done by 9:30pm on our second night, so I called the front desk. They informed me it is done at 10:30pm. The next night housekeeping came by at 6:30pm to do the turn down. I had ordered packages to be sent to the hotel. Luckily the concierge mentioned that he had seen packages for me in the back, or I would not know they had been delivered. Once they did call the room to say there was a package. Our toilet backed up one morning, and threatened to overflow. A plumber was there within 10 minutes and fixed it immediately. Some of the staff are really exceptional, and some of them limp along. I missed the feeling of being pampered - that extra star in a 5-star. I delivered a kilo of Swiss chocolates to the front desk on Christmas Eve as a gift, but never heard a thank you from any of the staff afterward. I wasn't expecting them to fall all over me, but acknowledgment would have been nice. Two of the staff who were particularly helpful were Jay at the concierge desk and Lee at the front desk. The bellhops were also very helpful. The view is fabulous, and the location is really quiet. The park across the street is lovely, and public transport is within a 5-10 minute walk. We loved the location. I was disappointed to discover that their bar on the 14th floor, which all the reviews rave about, is closed. We had a lovely Xmas day brunch in the restaurant, although again, the service was erratic. We couldn't get a reservation without the help of the concierge, but when we arrived almost 45 minutes early, they were able to seat us immediately, and I saw numerous empty tables throughout our meal - strange. All in all, it lacks the hushed elegance and subtle service of a true 5-star, but it's a very nice hotel and I would return if I got a inexpensive deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Dec 29, 2009

Ritz - Battery Park - Pay for water view

Ritz level of service and quality but was over-priced as most Ritz's are. Harbor view rooms had a very nice view - City view rooms couldn't see the "city" but just 2 buildings next door. Pay for the upgrade of the view. Club level was nice with a great breakfast and dinner hors-d'oeuvres were fabulous. Never could try the lunch snacks since it was never convenient to come back to the hotel for that. 3 block walk to nearest subways was a bit rough in the cold and snow. Convenient to Statue of Liberty water taxi and staten island ferry. Very close to wall street area. 30-45 minute trip 1 way to theater district or central park. But was VERY quiet in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian place next door - Inatteso - not on the web pages - great pizza at a family friendly price - try the one with arugala and prosciutto - it was amazing.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Dec 12, 2009

problems with prepaid bill

tried to charge for room even though it was prepaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris & Daughters
Youngstown ohio
Nov 30, 2009

perfect customer service

customer service was unbeatable. clean, large room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wahon
Dover NH
Nov 3, 2009

Marathon Fun

..Ran NYC Marathon. Nice to walk to the Staten Island Ferry (5 minute walk) ..Need a coffee machine in the room for early morning coffee. Also a microwave. ..Great view from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for runners - you can run for 5 miles along the river with great views and parks

Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin, Texas
Sep 22, 2009

Superb accomodations

The Hotel staff was excellent and the concierge Carlos Leon went above and beyond to make our stay,travel and sightseeing above what we expected. In all of our travels we have never experienced service of this level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reading, PA
Sep 14, 2009

Awesome views, telescope in room

Impeccable service and attention to detail, after I checked in and told, Andrew, the receptionist that we were there to celebrate my daughter's 15th birthday, a great birthday surprise was sent to our room for her! The entire staff was exceptionally helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great new Italian restaurant right next door, a helpful recommendation from the bellman, Acthor.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search